We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the19th century”
Review of Hostel Old Plovdiv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Old Plovdiv
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandroupoli, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back to the19th century”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location (right in the Old town) and because it was different from the other hotels by its exclusive old style design, where you can feel like you are in the 19th century. But everything was much more interesting and perfect than we could expect.
The owner and the stuff of the hotel were very friendly and helpfull. Special thanks to the owner of the hotel Hristo, who invited us to celebrate the New Year Eve with him and his friends and we spent a greate time with fireworks, champagne, bulgarian dishes, songs, Santa and presents.
We highly recommend this hotel for its service, location and very resonable price and would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to feel the spirit of the past accompanied with a perfect nowadays service choose any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex-Lusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lusine & Alex,

you are one lovely couple and it was pleasure for me to meet you as my guests!
Waiting to see you soon- in Bulgaria or in Greece!
Thank you for the great review!
Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    23
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
74
111
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The room is particularly larger with a mix of modern and traditional design, we don't normally take pictures of the hotel room we stay at but this one. Bathroom is ultra clean and frequently maintained. Staffs are very warm and Hristo arranged us to see a dentist one hour after our request when my partner needed it urgently. I left the mobile in the room after we checked out, Hristo himself brought the mobile phone to the bus station. So we are very happy with everything about ths place.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different color scheme and to me they are all pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Grace,
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
You are a lovely couple and it was pleasure for me to have you as our guests !
I hope your trip to Istanbul was nice and safe.
You are always welcome back here !

Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Super kind staff, hot water comes out well, Good breakfast, Clean room, Nice interior design...
I love Old Plovdiv hostel. Someday if I can come Plovdiv again, I'll stay in here without hesitation!

oh, I should write more than two hundred characters.... Hmm... what else.... and people who stayed in here were all very kind. I love'em. and It is also very good place to stay with family, I think.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucidKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mr.Kim,

Many thanks for the good words about my hostel !
I really appreciate the highest possible rating you gave us!
You are always welcome back here!


Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

"Old Plovdiv" is a beautiful place, old architecture and furniture, wood and stone, apart from the fact that you share toilet and bathroom, it is a luxury. the staff is extremely friendly, really exceptional, the rooms are huge but warm and really clean, they think about details like a bunch of lavender on your pillow, cocoa drink for the kids and i'm sure very soon you'll have to book well in advance to get a bed there. even a hostel it is much better value than most hotels in Bulgaria. My son(8) who likes only modern expensive hotels had to admit that this was very good accommodation and he liked it.
Irina Karakehayova

Room Tip: I do not know, our room was excellent but I haven't been in the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Irina,

Your family is really wonderful, it was honor for us to have you as our guests!
For me and my wife it is a real pleasure to see,
that our guests are appreciating our efforts to offer a quality service and hospitality.
Thank you for the great review.
Waiting to see you back here soon :)

Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Arrived to a welcome sign with my name on it! Fantastic touch and lightened up my day after a long journey! Todo & Nikoli were fantastic staff! Always helpful warm and kind! Right in the heart of the old town & only a few minutes walk from the centre I would stay there again & again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Anna,
I wish all our guest will be like you !
Thank you for the great review and for giving us maximum rating!
Waiting to see you back soon

Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amazingly beautiful old renovated house in the very historical Center of Plovdiv !
The owner, Hristo, and its staff are very welcoming. They would make everything possible to ensure that you spend a great time.
We would love to come back one day... as for us it was the best place we found during our cycle trip from Paris to Istanbul !

Many thanks for your kindness, and congratulations for the great work you did in renovating this house.

Val and Corentin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Valerie-Anne & Corentin ,

you are amazing couple, I really find you as the most adventurous people I ever met !
Reading such wonderful words for our Guest House
really makes my heart feel with pride ! Thank you very much !
Waiting to see you again in Plovdiv-with or without bicycle:)

Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This is exactly where I'll stay again when I return to Plovdiv, Bulgaria! Despite the fact that I'm not especially fond nor accustomed to sharing a bath, everything else about this hotel / hostel was exceptional. This is Old Plovdiv at its finest. The home has recently been renovated with spotless white tiled bathrooms that nicely juxtapose with the dark old creaky wooden floors of the halls and rooms. The highlights of our stay though were the full on kind gestures of the owners and their staff. They genuinely could not have done any more to make us feel more welcomed, as if we were old friends staying at their home. They've raised the all time bar of hospitality to new heights. One young woman at the front desk even took a taxi to buy our bus tickets for us! If you're going to Old Plovdiv do yourself a big favor and stay here. I'm home now, but I wish I could give these nice people a big hug!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farandfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear James,
Dear Heather,
Dear Henry,

Thank , thank you, thank you for your kind words for Guest House "Old Plovdiv"!
To have such high rating from you makes me really proud.
You are always welcome back here!

Best regards
Hristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.0 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
193 reviews
3.0 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel
#6 of 34 in Plovdiv
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dafi Hotel
Dafi Hotel
#11 of 34 in Plovdiv
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Plovdiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Plovdiv

Property: Hostel Old Plovdiv
Address: Chetvarti Yanuari Str 3, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Old Plovdiv 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is proud to announce, that we were appointed as one of the Lonely Planet's 'Top 10 best value stays for 2014' Hostel in name only-more like a boutique hotel at a hostel rate ! FREE Parking,FREE ultra speed WI-FI,FREE Breakfast! The only hostel in town with garden and terrace! 24-Hour reception, 24-hour hot water, no curfew, no lockout, free linen, free towels, free breakfast, free WiFi, free lockers, free luggage storage. Lounge room and dining room, Reception Bar, Washing and ironing facilities, free parking.In the heart of historic old town district, just 4 minutes away from the city's main pedestrian street, Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is a real architectural marvel.We offer all you can desire: superb location, 24 hour reception service, flawless security, hygiene to the highest standards and the friendliest staff possible. Located in totally renovated 144- year old Renaissance house, national monument of culture, Hostel "Old Plovdiv" will offer you experience of a lifetime! Our features include free individual lockers and locks, free towels, linen and duvets, , free breakfast; free Wi-Fi, free CD/DVD-burning facilities and free satellite TV and films. We offer book exchange, free maps and free luggage storage.Build in 1868, the house, where Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is located, belonged to one of the richest local tobacco merchants. The wooden columns of the house are made of Lebanese cedre and you will also see marble from Greece and granite from Ottoman Turkey. The 130-year old wooden floors and the 4 metres high ceilings and big windows will take you back in time of the Bulgarian Renaissance. Furnished with authentic antique beds and wardrobes, purchased from local antique shops and renovated by professional restorers in the local Renaissance style, our 8 spacious and cosy rooms will seduce you with luxury at affordable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Old Plovdiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing