We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trimontium - Excellent Location, Average Rooms and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Austin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Trimontium - Excellent Location, Average Rooms and Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Earlier in August my family and I stayed for one night in the Trimontium in Plovdiv. Why this hotel? Because of its location plus it was one of the better rated hotels with larger rooms in Plovdiv. We looked at plenty others and finally ended up booking here. The positives:
1) Large room -- although outdated and with TINY shower
2) Prime location - near the pedestrian street of downtown Plovdiv
3) Free parking right in front of the hotel

The not so positive:
1) Outdated rooms
2) The TV did not work or it was a mystery to turn on
3) Breakfast was pretty average -- banitsa (pastry) was good but the rest was less than so-so

All in all it is OK for a place to stay but do not expect luxury

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickInChina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    127
    103
    33
    23
See reviews for
44
83
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex Boy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well located older-style hotel. Rooms large and airy , clean and tidy but just a little bit tired. Good standard and its location makes up for the tiredness. Hint - take a washbasin plug with you as there are non fitted.
Would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter than those facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucieBEssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an older grand looking hotel. It has a great location, right by a large square and pedestrian streets leading into the town centre. However, it lacks polish. The rooms are very simple, however the beds were firm but comfortable. To save money the dim the lights in the halls, sometimes making it hard to inset the key in your door.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YL-vanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This large, four-square hotel is very convenient;y located in the centre of Plovdiv and dominates the broad central square (opposite the Post Office for post card senders!). It's well appointed but a little jaded and in need of smartening up to justify its position. A minor difficulty (with a shower head attachment that refused to stay put and sprayed water about with abandon) was quickly and efficiently sorted out by a call to Reception. A more serious annoyance was with the plastic door keys which were sadly unpredictable. This necessitated trips back to Reception for new keys and in all we had four during our two night stay! Otherwise the room was adequately furnished, comfortable and the free wi-fi worked. Breakfasts were good on both days. However, here I must mention that two of our group found a cockroach in their bed and were immediately moved to another room. I wonder if this indicates lax cleaning standards? But on balance, and speaking as we found, the Trimontium provided a good service (with obviously room for improvement).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

After looking at current reviews, we were very pleasantly surprised at our lovely accommodation, a huge room with beautifully furnished bathroom (jet shower plus jacuzzi tub with hand-held shower), no hint of mold as stated in others' reviews, and a great buffet breakfast. Okay, I avoided the 'juice,' but found bowls of fresh fruits (nectarines, peaches, watermelon, honeydew and pineapple) and other choices.
It's possible that they've renovated only some rooms. We asked for a 'Junior Suite,' which turned out to be a room on the corner, windows on two sides, and just lovely. I am writing this from my bed in the Princess, so obviously there's internet, and the air conditioner, while audible(but no way loud!), does put out coolish air. I'm not expecting a Hilton or Kempinski here, but we are very comfortable and find it a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite! Inquire about modern bathrooms! If you're going to open windows, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Plovdiv has a dearth of good hotels as we found out while travelling through Bulgaria. Having spent a few nights at Bansko where we had a very pleasant experience at the Kempenski Hotel, we went on to Plovdiv, the second largest city in the country after Sofia.

We stayed the first night at a hotel rated No 1 in the Tripadvisor’s list of hotels (Hotel Hebros in the old city and that was the worst ever hotel experience for us and we kicked ourselves for just going by Tripadvisor ranking and not reading Tripadvisor’s Terrible review category of guest comments for making a balanced assessment). Wanting to change our hotel, we went to Trimontium Princess ( No 5 on Tripadviser list) while we were in the vicinity of Central Square having our lunch. Went to the reception and asked to be shown the rooms and then booked for the next 2 days in this hotel at the quoted rates and , being new in Plovidiv and not conversant with Bulgarian, requested the hotel staff to book a taxi for us to be driven from Hebros to Princess the next day , to which they agreed. Next day: we called Trimontium Princess to ask if they had booked our taxi and were told that they had requested Hebros Hotel to book for us. Went to Trimontium Princess to check in and were told rate was nearly 1.5 times of what we were quoted the previous day. As we were now with our luggage in the hotel, we pleaded with them of the booking we had made the previous day and the taxi arrangements and all. “ But that was yesterday’s rate and we are sorry we missed telling you the rate is different today” I then checked on my smart phone the hotel web quoted rates and found that hotel’s special rates were still the same till end July and it was all there on the hotel’s own website. Called the duty manager and she first blamed a new recruit who had “misquoted the rates”. Seeing this, I asked that she write her name so I could advise other travellers of this dishonesty in quoting rates, and also showed her the hotel’s website which still had the same rates. She then backed down and finally agreed to honor the rates.

Hotel is about 2 ½ star, with just ok rooms and ok breakfast, free wifi and best of all, it is next to Plovdiv’s Central Square which is the hub of all activity, food and entertainment in Plovdiv. Hence we did thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we are in Plovdiv again we will not mind staying here again for its location and hoping it will be a better managed hotel and with improvements to its old and aged rooms, furniture and fittings.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Krisflyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düdingen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Big building, giving you the feeling of the good old days (or at least trying to..) However, this place is coming to age, with limited cleanliness and old installations (bathroom). The breakfast buffet is far away from a 4-star standard (synthetic orange juice, very limited selections with eg only one fruit.. ). But good location, withing walking distance from pedestrian zone and historic part of the city.
We did not try the pool - which appears to be very nice indeed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FritzD_dingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plovdiv hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
2.9 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Plovdiv
Grand Hotel Plovdiv
#8 of 34 in Plovdiv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium

Property: Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Address: Kapitan Raycho Str. 2, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Trimontium Princess Hotel)
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing