We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel... from Bulgary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plovdiv
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Plovdiv
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A spacious and luxuoury lobby. it is like a museum with pictures and sculptures. the quality of the food is good but too dietetic (dinner without meat only boiled vegetables). the breakfast is royal with good juices. the room spacious but with a desk ambiance. the beds must be replaced quickly. no french channel in the old television. it is not a great european hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vija K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Old soviet type rooms with 30 years old furniture in a 135 euros room! The beds and matresses propably never been replaced..
The bathroom stigs and the carpet has an awful smell and stains also. The only new thing about this hotel is the wifi.

never took the clothes out of the suitcase.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loukretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is an ideal place to stay when you are in Plovdiv. It is very close to the beautiful Old Town, the rooms are very large, clean and well-equipped. The staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is good. I think this hotel is the best choice for accomodation in Plovdiv!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for 10 nights and with it being my first time was pleasantly surprised. Friendly and helpfull staff and comfortable room even though the bathroom was a bit small for my 6ft2" frame and shower time was especially challanging but being an adventurer i took it in my stride. Nice views of the Maritza river and the old town. Breakfasts was good only thing that could be improved is to get some decent coffee to start the day with. I will definitely stay here again and can recommend it as i stayed there on 2 occasions in different rooms.

Room Tip: When booking a room on higher floors try and get closer to lifts for better Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JethroSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I was here for 4 nights. The room , the restaurant and, in general, the hotel was clean and nice. The food was good and the staff helpful. Plovdiv is a nice town, with a lot of trees, a roman theatre and a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanianBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you have a choice to see a really cute city do it without staying in this hotel. You enter a nice lobby just to go into a trap. Rooms are dusty, smelling of smoke, mold in 2 of the 4 rooms we have been in. Not 3 stars even in Bulgarian standard.
In addition we had stolen property from one of the rooms, when confronting the staff, we were introduced to the hotel manager who, like her hotel, was a member of Bulgaria in the 70's - no English, no hand-shake, no introduction, talking only through a translator and not willing to support - If you want a taste of old Soviet Bulgaria meet the staff of Novotel Plovdiv.
The hotel does NOT support families, not even one room (or connecting rooms) can accommodate 2 parents and 2 kids, NO SAFE. No whiled beds can be brought in. We chose it because of the swimming pool - it was closed for renovation in pick summer season.
We traveled all over Bulgaria (you can read other reviews from this trip), chose hotels via tripadvisor and recommendation - this was by far not a place to stay in. If you must stay in this hotel - take good care of your goods and avoid the manger. As long as she is still in control, the hotel will remain in Soviet Bulgaria of the 70's - and not the positive part of it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ek128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 36 in Plovdiv
172 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#12 of 36 in Plovdiv
396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#3 of 36 in Plovdiv
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park Hotel Plovdiv
Park Hotel Plovdiv
#18 of 36 in Plovdiv
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#4 of 36 in Plovdiv
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#5 of 36 in Plovdiv
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plovdiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plovdiv

Address: Zlatyu Boyadzhiev str. 2, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Novotel Plovdiv)
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plovdiv
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plovdiv 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Plovdiv is the hotel of choice for visitors to Plovdiv. Business travellers enjoy the convenience of WiFi internet and eight meeting rooms. We offer a choice of three restaurants, a cafe and two bars as well as onsite parking and a heated indoor swimming pool. Close to the Maritsa River and looking out towards the gorgeous Rhodope Mountains and the Old Town, this 4 star hotel is perfect for your next holiday discovering the fascinating history and culture of this remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Plovdiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Plovdiv Hotel Plovdiv
Plovdiv Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing