We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family run hotel in Plovdiv”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alfrangite

Hotel Alfrangite
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alfrangite
Ranked #13 of 41 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good family run hotel in Plovdiv”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel whilst in Bulgaria. Its run by a family and there is a definite family feel to the place, with friendly service and nothing being too much trouble. Perfectly located for the old town, situated on a quiet cobbled back street and in my case, excellent views across Plovdiv from the balcony in my room. My room, in common with the inside of the hotel, was more functional than anything else, but the beds were comfy and shower was good. And being situated in a beautiful old town, this is hardly a concern. The breakfast was fine, with a good selection of foods and friendly service from the owners. For its position and service, this is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and well-located for checking out Plovdiv's old town. The included breakfast was great and offered different items each day we were there. We also enjoyed the garden terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a chance to be into this hotel for a single night with my fiancee and our baby and we've been impressed from the garden into this small family run hotel into this quite place at Old city of Plovdiv. I can say that the biggest bonus of this hotel is the underground garage. If you don't know Plovdiv is better to use GPS system to find the hotel by the car, but later ... access to the main walking city street is just 10min away.
Room was nice and cozy - somehow old traditional style. But unfortunately we choose the room which is looking back and there no have enough natural light inside.
Breakfast was not enormous, but was ... - so delicious and taste brought us close to home and "the past years" if I can say like this!Just exact products with the real home taste ...
About the garden - so beautiful and a lot of flowers everywhere ....
Very friendly and helpful personal.

Room Tip: Choose room with view to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely family run hotel, rooms perhaps a little tired but it is Bulgaria after all. Excellent breakfast. First morning we moved our cutlery etc to the outside terrace, next morning it was laid up ready for us. Hotel right in the centre of the old town on cobbled streets. Free safe garage parking . Restaurant, also owned by family, next door. Overall an excellent hotel, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffronDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

we arrived 4am from Istanbul with an overnite bus. We jumped in a cab and arrived at Alafrangite Hotel in Old Plovdiv. The owner, opened the door and gave us the room 6hs before the usuall check in hour. This kind of things you will not find it in a big hotel. The room was quite big, clean and cozy. Breakfast was really good. Location is perfect, one step far from old plovdiv.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobodeviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was at South eastern Europe youth network General Assembly in Plovdiv and this hotel was chosen for the GA. Old couple and their daughter are the staff and the hotel management, and they are very responsible towards their guests. They were on our disposal at all times (literally) and relating (again literally) anything. This is by far one of the most pleasant hotel staff team i have ever been confronted with.
Food is great (in restaurant next to the hotel), also vegetarian (but not vegan) and again, they are really making an effort to make the atmosphere.
Prices are pretty low, even for Bulgaria and the location is simply fantastic! After the first shock of trying to find the hotel, you realize that old city of Plovdiv is really beautiful and that you are at the center of the setting, with the embassies and consulates.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more comfortable, but they do not have the balcony. Chose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heruvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Alafrangite is located up a cobbled street at the perimeter of Old Town, next to a good restaurant of the same name. Run by a very pleasant couple, the wife has surrounded the various levels with a beautiful container garden. Room was spare but quite comfortable; nice bath with products ( no hair dryer ). Very quiet; the only noise I heard were church bells in the morning, a very pleasant wake up call! Most rooms have a small balcony, where you can overlook the garden and nearby roof line. A short walk up the street brings you into Old Town and Plovdiv's famous merchant houses, open for tours. One of the best breakfasts on my two week tour of Bulgaria/Romania - homemade sausage, tomatoes/ cucumbers, olives, excellent cheese,fresh fruit, eggs, sweetbread and other breads, and superb coffee ( black as night, strong as sin, just the way I like it) -amazing meal, considering I was the only guest at the time! 4star rating is due to the series of entry stairs and lack of elevator. It was fine for me, but perhaps not a good hotel choice for handicapped persons. Lovely accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zoyenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.1 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#10 of 34 in Plovdiv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Ville
Hotel Belle Ville
#15 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfrangite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfrangite

Property: Hotel Alfrangite
Address: Kiril Nektariev str. 13 | Old Town, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alfrangite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing