We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a magical city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boris Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boris Palace
Ranked #31 of 40 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a magical city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel Boris in Plovdiv in September 2012 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very central, the rooms are very large, very clean and very well equipped. The hotel is obviously Boris' passion and it feels like a labour of love. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Only quibble - no need for the music so early in the morning! Boris helped to park our car also - very helpful with the narrow streets. I can really recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    4
    6
    19
See reviews for
11
36
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Set at the peak of Old Town, the Boris Palace is ideal for quiet tourist trip or overnight business. Was staying in town for work and, based on reviews from fellow travelers, the "Palace" was most ideal - quiet, small, and in an absolutely fantastic part of town. Boris is a warm, welcoming and very passionate hotelier - he and his small staff made the stay comfortable without being fussy (his English is excellent). Rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable (the bathrooms are small but wholly functional). The restaurant and patio faces west, overlooking the city, so enjoying a meal at sundown in the summer provided a fantastic and relaxing vista of Plovdiv. The food was well presented, delicious and included fresh fish and vegetables from the area. Wine list includes local offerings that reflects the entrepreneurial spirit that Boris brings to his hotel. If I ever return to Plovdiv, there is only one place I'll make hotel reservations.

Room Tip: Get rooms overlooking the city, based on the site of the hotel, you'll have a great view of Plov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in the Boris Palace Hotel in May, before the start of the tourist season and were lucky enough to enjoy one of the first nice and warm enough evenings to eat outside on the terrace. The receptionist was also the server and on top of that was also in charge of some of the cooking. She managed everything quite well and we felt treated better than in many other places we had been to the days before. We shared one or two good laughs and chatted for some time -- we were about the only people there due to the time of year.

The rooms are clean - taste is questionable in some of them but the quality of the furniture and also the bed (mattress) is fine. If they are free, definitely take the rooms upstairs. I would prefer the ones overlooking the old town. The rooms downstairs behind the restaurant I would not be able to sleep in because they do not have real windows and I would feel caged. But other than that it is a place that I would recommend.

It's central, it's in the old town and you will still find a place to park your vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SasWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Boris owns this boutique hotel and he runs it efficiently and smoothly. It is a new hotel built into the shell of one of the wonderful old buildings in this part of Plovdiv. The rooms are huge, and all are individually decorated, very well eqipped and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are small but well fitted. You can use a lift or the stairs.
There is a top level restaurant with a lovely balcony extension. This was ideal from breakfast inside and dinner out. The food was some of the best that my wife and I ate during our travels around Bulgaria. The breakfasts were extensive, though I would have like more local produce when it came to yoghurt, jams and honey and fresh fruit; there was an excellent range of cold meats, breads, etc. The outstanding dish on the dinner menu was the goose liver served on a bed of apple and drizzled with honey. There is an extensive wine list with one or two real stars.
The building work is not yet complete but Boris will be opening the 'Piano Bar' in the next few weeks and he hopes to have the swimming pool completed by Summer 2013.
Boris is a perfectionist and he cares about all the details, all hotels in Plovdiv are expensive but both the accommodation and the restaurant at Hotel Boris are worth every penny.

Room Tip: They can all be viewed on the Hotel website and each one is individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kardzhali, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were recommended to this lovely hotel in the centre of the old town and as 2 couples would highly recommend to others. The high standard of rooms and interior decoration were well worth the price and the air conditioning was a huge relief as it was a very hot and humid July. The hotel is a short walk from the old roman amphitheatre that is still used for regular performances and the streets are cobbled with beautiful traditional Bulgarian buildings. The old town is pedestrianised but cars are allowed through so if you are refused entry, simply call Boris the owner. He was an extremely friendly and genuine chap and the waitress is a real gem. She had taken on rearing a small bird that had fallen from it's nest and amazingly it perched on her shoulder while she went about her chores, a real Dr Doolittle!
Breakfast was continental with delicious pastries and generous servings. Lunch was also beautifully presented and very tasty too. The beds were very large and comfortable and the on-suite bathrooms had super power showers. Both rooms had a terrace and inside it was very quiet with the windows shut (the only disturbance came from people outside in the street). The hotel itself was very relaxed and peaceful and all 4 of us were very happy we had chosen to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minxy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The owner of this place is insane and violent with his clients! dont you even think about staying or dining at this establishment. We were visiting plovdiv with the kids and were looking for a place to stay the night. To check out the place we decided to have dinner first - and then gently ease into a good night's rest. However, we quickly realized that this might turn out to be not our idea of a night restfully spent.

As a start, we noticed that we were the only people in the place - which was already a bit puzzling, but decided to give it a try. After waiting for 1.5hrs to get our food we started to become a bit frazzled. Then, our real experience in the hotel and with the hotel's owner started. Out of the blue the owner rushed into the restaurant garden and turned off the little water fountain around which our kids were playing and started accusing us that they had broken something. We of course got up and looked indeed if this was the case - with the intention to cover any damage that might have been done. As we found out, and the owner agreed with us, indeed nothing was amiss or out of order and we went back to our seats.

But the story continued - as you can imagine by the 90th minute of waiting for our food, we made a remark that it was taking a bit too long - not realizing that the waitress was actually the owner's daughter! It did dawn on us that we had made a 'mistake' to complain about the service, only after the owner suggested that he was going to kick us out of his house, clearly annoyed that we were unhappy with his daughter's service!!! We were shocked - to top it off, the owner suggested that we were now intruding in his private home (!) and he was going to call the police. (To be fair, we actually also wanted to call the police as the owner was becoming almost physically violent, and frankly we became a little scared). In any case, we called for the check and decided to leave him in his privacy.
oh, and did i mention that this place is about 2x overpriced for what its worth? It's your call.

Room Tip: There is a construction going on on the side with the 'views' so be careful with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cali4niaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorisPalace, The daughter of the owner, waitress at Hotel Boris Palace, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for the comment Miss! Our guests have seen and will see if this is truth. Just want to notice that this woman wasn`t a guest of the hotel. Her family were very nice people, had came before and loved the hotel. Even after her rude words against us we send greetings to the other part of her family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plovdiv hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights and would highly recommend it.

We liked the reviews on TripAdvisor and a friend from Plovdiv also suggested it.

I booked the apartment on the third floor. It was charming and also had a balcony. There was plenty of room with a coule of comfy chairs, a fridge and plenty more.

The owner, Boris, was a good host and a laugh. His Daughter, Christine, was always he;pful and spoke good English.

We were the only people stayiing for most of the stay and the hotel was rather quite because of it. Sad really as I bet it would be buzzing.

Boris has amazing plans for the hotel and he showed us downstairs. There will be a Piano Bar with a glass table through which you can see the basement swimming pool. I would return just to see that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.4 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipster Guest Rooms
Hipster Guest Rooms
#5 of 40 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plovdiv Guest House
Plovdiv Guest House
#11 of 40 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest House Maison 21
Guest House Maison 21
#13 of 41 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Art Guest House
0.3 mi away
Home Hostel Plovdiv
Home Hostel Plovdiv
#10 of 41 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boris Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boris Palace

Property: Hotel Boris Palace
Address: Suborna str 49, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boris Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Boris Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing