We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Boris Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boris Palace
Ranked #33 of 47 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Gracious welcome, good restaurant, ok breakfast, spacious suite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel offers well maintained web site, where you may check and book exactly the unit at your preferences, as each one is unique in style. The location is in the ancient town of Plovdiv offering a range of museums, handicraft shops, charming coffees and restaurants, also a couple of minutes away from the city main shopping street and a few night clubs. So far the hotel is a small boutique one, the staff knows the guests by name without being too familiar in behavior, you may arrange the exact time for chambermaid service and the breakfast. I took a room on a higher floor and enjoyed the nice view, but very comfortable rooms, without daylight, are available at a very reasonable price at lowest floors. All areas of the hotel are marked with art works and although being small separately, they are very well maintained and decorated. You really feel the place as detail orientated and with passionate approach to what they do. I do recommend it!

Room Tip: Check each room type in the hotel web site before choosing; Higher floor for better view and direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vindzhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Don't worry about the grandiose name - it's just Bulgarian marketing!! What matters is that this is a lovely place to stay, with caring friendly service, and perfectly located for a visit to the old part of Plovdiv. The website is helpful, showing all the rooms so that you can choose what suits you best. By western standards the prices are very reasonable. Unless you are very unfortunate, or unusually fussy you will be very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the website to find a room you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were surprised to find Boris Palace immidiately when we entered Plovdiv. Boris, the owner of the hotel, Cristina and the rest stuff helped us with our luggage and parked our car in their private parking. Our room was in the first floor, it was nice, clean, spacious and cosy. Every night we were asked the time we would like to have our breakfast the next morning. Our breakfast was always served in the table making us feeling unique as we didn't have to take a plate and wonder around the restaurant to choose from a classic buffet. It included everything a person would like to eat, sweet or salty. We also had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was great. The stuff was smiley and friendly, Boris was gentle and helpful, the location of the hotel couldn't be better and I guess I'll never forget our pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We were amazed by the hospitality, service, and the rooms in the middle of the old town of charming Plovdiv.

Room Tip: When booking be aware that the cheapest rooms are without windows, just artificial light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Me and my fiancee and also a friendly couple spent 4 days at this place(in no way palace).
When we first arrived, after an hour while we were searching to find the hotel,the first impression was quite good as we liked the sophisticated style of the hotel and the nice decoration.
The problems started the second day when we wanted to fire the fireplace and the owner told us that was not working for two months and when i told him that in the price and the agreement was the use of a fireplace he told me that only two rooms had fireplaces and these weren't functional.Hopefully i have printed the agreement and with the help of the reception girl(the blackcolour-hair one,the blondie was the owner's daughter-tha apple below the apple tree will fall-greek saying)we translated to him the contract from booking.com.After 45 minutes of disagreements he finally acepted that i was right(the client is always wrong we all know this) but no reason for breaking the agreement.
Meanwhile my friendly couple was sleeping at vip 202(room) and at 0500 am while theυ were sleeping their bed collapsed (you know like jenga-thats normal too) and not only the owner did'n apologise to them but he blamed them for jumping up and down at 0500 am (like all normal people at this time),what an irony....We had again tension but because we didn't want to blow up our holidays we decided to relax..
But the party continued...After this he blamed us that we were cleaning our shoes with the towels(one towel had a black sign) and we tried to explain him that the shower had a curtain and below the curtain waters were coming out so we put a towel below the curtain to stop the waters coming out he told us we should be more careful(i thought he would make us wash them).
Our friends room heater at heir bathroom was all time leaking and no reason to fix it,our heater in bathroom wasn't working(hopefully because we should pick waters all the time like our frinds at the next to us room-we were at vip 201).
To conclude(i have more to write but i don't want to bore you more) my friend will upload the photo of the collapsed bed,my worst experience in hotel from all the hotels(even without stars) i have visited so far and the worst altitude to tourists who want to have a good time at your country.I forgot to mention the parking under construction back at the hotel...
The worst for us is that we searched a lot to find a place and we emphasized to critics from other who have stayed there before us.I can't think how so many good critics for this place came out????
I am really sorry because i have taken my friends first time to Bulgaria at a no-worthing place.Next time i will be more careful..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leftos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We (hubby and me) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November(i.e. few days back). The hotel is on old city of Plodiv which is just walking distance from the high street..Location is very good as it is in a beautiful setting where there is just old Plovdiv and History.Taxis called through the hotel are not pricier than if you find them yourself..we called taxis twice, both the time it was not expensive and we had to wait just for about 3 minutes.(radio taxis are inexpensive in Plovdiv anyway).

We had booked a suite there and as my hubby had asked the hotel manager to decorate the room with flowers as a surprise for me, it was a very nice arrangement (with two nice bouquets) (will add pics.). Bathroom is with shower cabin not a bath but quite good.

The hotel is very clean, is not very big so has a cosy feel. There was lift just outside our room.The lift is for different levels as Hotel, Restaurant,Reception etc...Restaurant is also very clean.Breakfast was not a variety,just normal everyday food with juice. NOT a buffet, but was arranged on personal tables which was nice. We had dinner one night out the three nights that we stayed there for. Dinner was very nice and tasted fresh. Wine and dessert were good too.

NEGATIVE: There was one toilet roll in the bathroom although house-keeping was regular but only one toilet roll was left in the toilet at a time for some reason:/...just a little awkward..

I had sprained my ankle and would have preferred to have dinner inside the room but this couldnot be made possible....although dinner downstairs was enjoyable too and the lift being just outside the room was convenient because it opens right at the restaurant with very little walking involved but it was the first day of a badly sprained ankle...

OVERALL: A nice cosy and comfortable place and I would love to return to it in summer as then we can enjoy eating outside at the restaurant they have on terrace overlooking a big part of the city..


THINGS WE DID: Went to watch IMMORTALS movie in 3D at the CinemaCity, ate at Pizza Castelo (not just for Pizzas)- this one is near Arena (bar and restaurant) at high street., had cocktails as always at Arena (go upstairs in winter and outside in Summer)-they have amazing ice-cream cake.

Hope this is not going to be information overload:D)..

Room Tip: We saw the pictures and prices from the hotel's own site that has virtual tour too. We chose Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_KAUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorisPalace, Manager at Hotel Boris Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

It`s a pleasure for us to hear that our guests felt well staying in our hotel. Thank you for the complete review. We will make everything possible to make your next stay even better! Best regards from Plovdiv!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Evmolpia
Hotel Evmolpia
#1 of 36 in Plovdiv
75 reviews
0 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#17 of 50 in Plovdiv
13 reviews
0 mi away
Hikers Hostel
Hikers Hostel
#6 of 50 in Plovdiv
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Plovdiv
Hostel Old Plovdiv
#1 of 50 in Plovdiv
386 reviews
3 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#3 of 36 in Plovdiv
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guest Rooms Plovdiv
Guest Rooms Plovdiv
#19 of 50 in Plovdiv
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boris Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boris Palace

Address: Suborna str 49, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range: $59 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boris Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boris Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing