We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel for business or pleasure”
Review of Famous House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Famous House
Ranked #31 of 45 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The "Famous House" in Plovidiv is rated as a three star hotel but it hits close to the four start mark. It offers all modern amenities in a stylish way and is situated at the edge of the old town, in convenient walking distance. Staff are friendly and there is free internet.

The downsides are:

- rooms are dark with sometimes inadequate lightning
- there is little choice for breakfast (but this is widespread in Bulgaria except for the costal regions)

I always stay in the Famous House since it does offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dspichtinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Famous House Hotel in Plovdiv is a modern building in a good location, but it misses the mark in a number of ways. The lighting in the room was all near floor level including bedside lamps that were below the already low bed, making reading in bed impossible. The shower had no curtain and the drain was on the opposite side of the bathroom so that the floor flooded when it was used. Room veltilation did not function, leaving the room stuffy unless the window near a major road was open. The breakfast was just adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jklSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I am a well seasoned business traveller and far prefer boutique hotels to the major chains. I am a frequent visitor to Bulgaria and have stayed at the Famous House on several occasions.

The Famous House meets all the tests for a good boutique hotel. It is an attractive building overlooking a park. It is within walking distance of the Old Town and the main shopping area. There are about 25 bedrooms all well-designed with plenty of space and good bathrooms. There bar and public areas are attractive. I rarely dine in a hotel restaurant (to prevent cabin-fever you have to get out in the evening) but the one evening I dined in the food was excellent. The room rates represent good value.

But there are low points to the Famous House. Breakfast is pretty awful. it seems a shame that in Bulgaria, a land that produces the most wonderful fruit, they cannot manage a more varied fruit bowl and decent orange juice at breakfast. The coffee served at breakfast is best avoided.

But my biggest gripe is the incessant blast of MTV (or its Bulgarian equivalent). The hotel's staff are polite, efficient and friendly. But nobody seems to be in charge. That is why, in every public area, the TV screens blast Maria Carey and an incessant stream of Euro-pop at the poor guest. In my experience this only happens in places where the staff are unsupervised - the choice of music is set to suit the staff rather than the guests.

The Famous House has got all the big things right. It would not take much to take it from "good" to "excellent".

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank MCA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Сергей Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mejor habitación será siempre en otro hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 01maruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No lo escojas nunca este hotel. En lugar de pensar en el cliente piensan en CONTRA DEL CLIENTE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel Plovdiv
Park Hotel Plovdiv
#16 of 36 in Plovdiv
66 reviews
2.6 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#2 of 36 in Plovdiv
219 reviews
1 mi away
Guest Rooms Plovdiv
Guest Rooms Plovdiv
#19 of 49 in Plovdiv
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#12 of 36 in Plovdiv
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#5 of 36 in Plovdiv
32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plaza Hotel Plovdiv
Plaza Hotel Plovdiv
#6 of 45 in Plovdiv
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Famous House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famous House

Address: 4, Betoven str., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range: $37 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Famous House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Famous House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing