We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask a taxi in there !!”
Review of Expo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Expo Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Plovdiv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed one night in there, the room was a very small, and the air conditioner did not supply cool air properly though it was very hot night. There are no partition between a shower and toilet, so when you take a shower, the whole bathroom will be completely wet. I asked a taxi to the airport in the reception, then they arranged the car which seemed like a their own car. When I arrived the airport, and met people who stayed very near Expo hotel. They said they came here by normal taxi, its costs them only one third price which I paid to the hotel, then I understand I was ripped off !! I was so disappointed and it was first time for me to be ripped off in the reception of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranberry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed one night at the Expo in June 2011.

It's a good standard hotel for the price. Our room was spacious, with a large window overlooking the boulevard. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The location in so-so. It's easy to find by car, but if you're visiting as a tourist, it's a 10-15 min walk to the centre of town, most of the restaurants, etc.

Breakfast was frankly poor - orange juice was cheap (powdered?) and selection wasn't great - no pastries, and congealed warm food. Also, it's served in the windowless basement, which isn't great.

That said, the hotel's really good value, and it'd be easy (and cheap) enough to pick up something esle in town if you were bothered.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

we stayed at this hotel at may 2011. walking distance to the old city.
the hotel is newly renovated and the room was clean and spacious. there are two kind of rooms: those who faced to the main road (busy road) and those who faced to the rear.
the staff was kind and helpful. English is well spoken.
Breakfast was adequate.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent a couple of nights here and found it an agreeable experience. Clean, modern, everything you would expect from a decent Western chain hotel basically with excellent and enthusiastic reception staff who were always ready to help.
Couple of complaints, the hotel is situated on a busy main road so front facing rooms can be noisy. Breakfast was pretty poor too, we went down late one morning and there was literally nothing left. We had to ask if some stuff like milk for coffee could be supplied but overall don't let this discourage you from staying in this good value place.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcm_uk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Rooms are extremly clean, with very big window. Design is interesting. Location is good (easy access from A1). Near hotel you will find some nice bars and restaurants. Breakfest is good. Perfect location to spend few days in Plovdiv or just for a breake travelling in Bulgaria. I recommend it strongly!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Pros:
The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance of the Old Town and nightlife. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with simple, pleasant decor. The beds were terrifically comfortable! Best sleep I've had in a while. Helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi. Reasonably priced.
Cons:
Our "double" room meant two twin beds, but they could be pushed together. There are no bathtubs or shower stalls in any of the rooms...not even shower curtains, so the whole bathroom gets wet when you bathe. The walls were so thin that we could easily hear the neighbors talking, coughing, etc. And we had two maintenance issues in two nights.
Overall:
If you're an experienced traveler and only looking for a place to crash for a few nights, this is a great place for it. Once I got over the shock of the shower arrangement :) I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank jewell220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The hotel is located on one of the main streets in Plovdiv, very close to the city center. It is a small hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were clean and quiet - noise proof windows. They also had nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayoVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Evmolpia
Hotel Evmolpia
#1 of 36 in Plovdiv
74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 36 in Plovdiv
168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#2 of 36 in Plovdiv
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dafi Hotel
Dafi Hotel
#10 of 36 in Plovdiv
95 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#5 of 36 in Plovdiv
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#8 of 36 in Plovdiv
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel

Address: Ruski Blvd. 38, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Expo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Expo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing