We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Plovdiv”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Renaissance Square
Ranked #1 of 44 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved Plovdiv”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We should have stayed longer at the Hotel Renaissance in Plovdiv. It's in a charming area of town close to the old city and the pedestrian mall downtown. Our room was lovely and comfortable, the meals were tasty, and the owner was incredibly personable, helpful in every way, and seems to relish his hands-on role in his hotel. Plovdiv is a rewarding city and we could have set up shop here indefinitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Hotel Renaissance. We walked there from Yug Bus Station (around 20 minutes) and when we arrived we were met by the owner, Dimitar, who throughout our whole stay proved to be extremely helpful and kind. Although we already had made a reservation for a room in particular, he showed us the other room he had free so we could choose which one we preferred. He also gave us all kind of information about the city and he was always there trying to help us in everything we might need. The room we chose was clean and beautifully furnished. The bathroom had shower doors (Bulgarian-style WC usually have an open shower). The breakfast was delicious and different everyday, but as we mentioned that we preferred salty breakfasts rather than sweet ones, they prepared a different breakfast for us the day we were supposed to have a sweet breakfast. And the day we were leaving, as we were going to leave before breakfast time, they prepared some sandwiches for us. Laundry service was also on the house. The man at the reception at night didn't speak any English, but he was so nice that it was easy to understand each other even though we didn't speak any Bulgarian.
The restaurant in the hotel was also very good (10% discount for those staying in the hotel) and the waitresses spoke good English. We had dinner there the three nights we stayed in Plovdiv and we didn't regret it at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is spic and span, and located up from the street on a hill with an outdoor market nearby. It is a terrific location -- near the pedestrian mall, and the Old City of Plovdiv. Our host could not have been more sincere, well-meaning, or welcoming. He helped us get around the city, offered maps and suggestions for sightseeing, and found us a really nice taxi driver to take us back to Sofia. The outdoor restaurant right next door is charming, as are the waitresses (fantastic traditional Bulgarian cake!!!). I loved that there was always someone at the hotel checking in with us as we left and returned. I love supporting a hotel that is a family's livelihood -- you can tell how much it means to them to do a great job. Hotel Renaissance is a wonderful blend of local flavor with just the right amount of amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillyphilly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

And the restaurant food is excellent - a dinner menu with many local Bulvarian choices and individually prepared breakfast plates. We agree with the positive comments below. The owner even helped us find our way around Plovdiv and had good advice on traveling by taxi.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for the second time. A warm welcom by the owner, made us feel good. We had a room wich was very beautifull, and big like a ballroom.
In the evening we had our diner in their restaurant, a good taste of the Bulgarian cuisine and of course good rakia.
This is the best location to explore old town Plovdiv!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelzvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked this hotel based on prior reviews on TripAdvisor and were absolutely delighted with the hotel and owner (Dimitar) in every respect. And, after we booked, we learned that friends of ours had stayed here the prior year and we didn't even know it. They too had a wonderful experience. The hotel is immaculate and beautifully designed, decorated and maintained. Great location at the foot of the old town and private parking is available in front of the hotel should you have a car. The owner is fluent in English. He and the other members of the staff go out of their way to help guests with whatever they need. In fact, when he learned that my daughter was allergic to gluten, he prepared a special breakfast just for her. This is THE place to stay in Plovdiv!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Staying at the Renaissance in Plovdiv was almost like staying with family -- but better. The rooms were wonderful, the restaurant made amazing food, but most importantly was the warm welcome I received from the owner, his family and all the staff. If you're traveling to Plovdiv, this is the perfect place to stay. Out of the center of town with its hustle and bustle but only a short walk from everything you want to see and do in Plovdiv.

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying on the 2nd floor with a great view into the restaurant garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.3 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#2 of 34 in Plovdiv
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#10 of 34 in Plovdiv
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#9 of 34 in Plovdiv
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel
#7 of 34 in Plovdiv
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 34 in Plovdiv
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Renaissance Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Renaissance Square

Property: At Renaissance Square
Address: 1,Vazrajdane sq., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At Renaissance Square 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your At Renaissance Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing