We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely shaded garden”

Restaurant Rahat Tepe
Ranked #15 of 223 Restaurants in Plovdiv
Price range: $11 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely shaded garden”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Better suited for drinks unless they get more chefs! The food - when it finally arrived was fine although one piece of chicken on the skewer was raw so we decided to leave it! Soft drinks reasonably priced. The waiter was excellent and worked really hard although as we had to wait for over an hour for our meal to be served (then it arrived in stages of 20 minutes and my husband's meal ended up cold by the time my eventually arrived!) we simply could not tip him. Sadly we left the restaurant a little glum and decided we would not be returning! Shame really!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahattepe, Owner at Restaurant Rahat Tepe, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. Next time we will try to provide better service.(Rahat tepe staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gebze, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“More of a beer garden.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place is located almost at the very top of Nebet Tepe, site of several old citadels, which is one of Plovdiv's major historical attractions. After we hiked to the top of the hill and its ruins, the Rahat Tepe Bar, or Restaurant, depending on which source one refers to, is exactly what the doctor ordered. I don't even know if there is any indoor seating because we never got as far as the restaurant, if there is one; we just plopped into the chairs around one of the many tables to cool off in the shade, and a nice woman came and offered us menus. The tables and chairs are arranged on nice natural stone flooring under a grove of shade trees, which put us in mind of German and American beer gardens. Beer, soft drinks and wine were available and very, very reasonable - about two Bulgarian Lev for a bottled pint of good Bulgarian beer - as well as very large and tasty snacks. We had the fried potatoes and the chicken legs, which turned out to be the best breaded (not battered) fried chicken any of us had had maybe ever. Perhaps it was the appetite we had worked up, but all five of us wished later we had made a meal there instead of at the restaurant we ended up at. It was one of those perfect times with friends - the weather, the trees, the near-by ruins, the tasty and cold beverages, and the terrific chicken. If any of us were ever again within 100 miles of Plovdiv, we would return just to revisit this bar, or restaurant, or beer garden. Whatever it is, it is worth a long, relaxing visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahattepe, Owner at Restaurant Rahat Tepe, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Rahat tepe. (Rahat tepe staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, excellent food, a bit slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

For a hot August day, a very pleasant shaded spot. The waitress was smiling and helpful despite the language barrier. The portions were literally huge and all the kinds of meat (veal,meatballs,sausages,chicken)tasty,juicy and tender. As for the value, the fact that eight food-loving people got bursting full with the equivalent of fifty Euros speaks for itself! The only thing necessary is a little patience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ngfour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahattepe, Owner at Restaurant Rahat Tepe, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Rahat tepe. (Rahat tepe staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor gathering place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Although not a big, fancy restaurant by any means, this is a very pleasant, open-air, relaxed space with fresh and delicious food. I was quite pleased with the grilled fish I ordered, perhaps not so pleased with the length of time it took to get to the table, and enjoyed the relaxed, family-and-friends atmosphere. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizziePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahattepe, Owner at Restaurant Rahat Tepe, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Rahat tepe. (Rahat tepe staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rahat Tepe also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Restaurant Rahat Tepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing