We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Djoana

Restaurant Djoana
Ranked #134 of 224 Restaurants in Plovdiv
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Greece
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“With friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been many times in this restaurant. With friends, with my husband, with my family, it's perfect for a dinner, celebration or just for a coffee. The atmosphere and the personel are nice, the food is good and the prices are normal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samseera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Traditional food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The restaurant is decorated in old Bulgarian style and the menu represents the same concept. Mainly meat and vegetables what they prepare and serve in a continuosly good quality.
The atmosphere is somewhat noisy and the tables are too close to each other so maybe it is not the best place for business meetings but certainly a good choice when spending an evening with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabor274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“'Meat' restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really good for meat lovers, nice restaurant locals love it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Same as Diana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This restaurant has the same owner, same cuisine and same menu as Diana (a.k.a. Dayana) restaurant - it has a good traditional Bulgarian cuisine, rich menu with lots of meat dishes and sometimes gets a little bit smokey and noisy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank BORIME4KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The staff aren't even smiling in the publicity photos.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

The restaurant was obviously popular, being packed late into the night. But it's not really clear why. The prices are OK, slightly towards the higher end for Bulgaria, but still cheap from an English perspective. But the food was pretty underwhelming.
We began with a Shopska salad - hard to mess up - and vine leaves. The vine leaves were poorly wrapped and disintegrated when you tried to eat them. Tasty enough. For mains, we had sauteed potatoes and a meat skewer. The potatoes were swimming in oil and arrived at least twenty minutes before the meat so we had to eat them. Whilst timings in Bulgarian restaurants are often a little haphazard, the wait for food here was exceptional and the timings pretty poor. We waited half an hour for our wine to appear, arriving at the same time as the potatoes. The meat came in large quantities but was pretty poor quality - gristly and fatty.
Service was peremptory and inefficient.
The back cover of the menu provided details of the restaurant / hire for special events and offered to "prepare food to substandard recipes", which we began to suspect was not a mistranslation.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Djoana also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Restaurant Djoana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing