We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savory Salads”

Dayana Restaurant 1
Ranked #45 of 225 Restaurants in Plovdiv
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Savory Salads”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Bulgaria will school even the most traveled diner in the art and variety of "salads." They come in an array of offerings, with or without meat, few, if any without dairy. The yogurt here is every bit as good as that amazing treasure you'll find in Greece, and I daresay that the feta (what they call white cheese) is even better. The traditional "Bulgarian Salad" is very like a traditional Greek Xoriatiki salata (country style salad), but here they generally top it with grated (kaseri?) "yellow cheese and bits of smoked meat. In any case, Dayana offers the best of these amazing salads, and some lovely meat dishes as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    67
    42
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Plovdiv”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After trying several of the "top" restaurants in Plovdiv as advised by trip advisor and been disappointed by the quality of food and value for money, we eventually found a decent authentic traditional Bulgarian restaurant on our last night out.

Food is great with a huge variety to choose from the menu, the staff were helpful and diligent.

The restaurant itself seemed quaint and genuine it it's rustic decore and style. The severs even wore traditional Bulgarian dress, but don't be put off it's not a tourist trap.

The customers when we visited where all Bulgarians so we felt like we were in the right place.

Inexpensive and they even except Euros for those like us that just happen to have run out of Bulgarian Lira.

Well worth eating there, we will only eat out there on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxxfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good traditional bulgarian meals”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant has an incredible choice of meat and barbecue meals. The prices are on a good level. Interestingly, the meals are served without side dish.
Antipasti are found in the category "salads".
Sit outside in the garden on the traditional furniture,if the weather is good enough.
The staffwears traditional costumes and is very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not nice”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were recommended this as a place to eat. We were very disappointed, lot's of cats that pestered us throughout our meal, and the food was just not nice. We had the traditional salad to start and it was flavourless compared to others we have had. We then had a kebab and it tasted sour and so we never ate it .
The waiter serving us never gave us our change once we had paid. We normally leave a tip, but we thought the service was poor as was the food. So we waited for our change, and we waited for a long time and it became clear that the waiter was not going to give us our change. We eventually asked one of the waitresses if we could get our change, she was very abrupt, and tried to pretend that she did not know what we were saying. Eventually the waiter came and gave us our change. But nothing about our visit was pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchiescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Large restaurant with an extensive menu which offers a wide range of typical Bulgarian dishes. Service is relatively good, food is ok but nothing special. Not worth going out of the way to visit though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayana Restaurant 1 also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Dayana Restaurant 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing