We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Dayana Restaurant 1
Ranked #45 of 225 Restaurants in Plovdiv
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We actually ate here twice; and had different experiences. First visit, service was mostly friendly, which of course, made the dining experience more pleasant. Food was average; with our main dish of Lamb Shiskebab overdone and tough. Unlike another reviewer, we actually liked the fact they put running Receipts on the table after ordering each dish, so you could watch the accuracy of the prices. On or next visit, the place was a madhouse, with a big tour group filling the restaurant; and of course service suffered. Our server was obviously busy, but this didn't excuse her Rudeness. This time, we also did not receive running receipts, and of course had a bit of a problem when the final bill total came. All in all, ok but as others have said could be much better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    67
    42
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I think the best thing to do is a fall.and against.

FOR
1) Setting it is very nice.

AGAINST
1) Staff are rude not welcoming at all (you feel more welcome at McDonalds).
2) Food is average if that.
3) Like previous review flies everywhere.
4) Toilets are very dirty.
5) Surrounded by smoking tables.
6) Not good value for money. considering the number of other restaurants there are nearby.
7) Tomatoes didn't taste fresh.
8) The bill is put in front of you before you have received any food!

This restaurant could be something really special and it wouldn't take a massive amount of effort on the part of the owners. Until then will spend my money elsewhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funkeyjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Level Contributor
382 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Restaurant Diana (Dayana)”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent menu if you're after grilled meat, many choices for salads. Bulgarians eat here and prices are reasonable, no pretense, just good uncomplicated ordering and dining. This place is just 300 feet off Main Street, at the foot of rock Sahat Tepe, one of Plovdiv's seven hills. I highly recommend the shish kababs, kofte (kiufte) and all the salads. They accept credit cards and my wine drinking friends came away very happy about their wine selection. This is a no regrets meals kind of place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beetcanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was a real mistake is to visit it”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

- Very bad service;
- Food was awful;
- Flies were everywhere;
- When we got check there was an additional meal for 10 euros that wasn't ordered and just when I pointed it, waitress said that it is a mistake and we shouldn't count it, so obviously she tried to cheat us.

Not recommended. There are plenty of other good places to eat, so don't try this one as you may get very bad experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Good Bulgarian restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant has an extensive Bulgarian menu with reasonable prices. We had sarma, eggplant and some grilled kebabs -- all was delicious. Service was fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayana Restaurant 1 also viewed

Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
Plovdiv, Plovdiv Province
 

Been to Dayana Restaurant 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing