We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night”
Review of Hotel Ego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ego
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Plovdiv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayedn in the hotel one night on a busines trip. The staff is friendly, the rooms are great. Nicely furnished, i'd say even cozy. It is located in a sort of business center and themelevator is shared - not that it is a proboem. Brakfast is ok. Location of the hotel is also quite good, especially if you need easy access tonthe center.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights ago and couldn't be more pleased. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were gorgeous. The location is really good as well. I'm fact, there's a great restaurant across the street in a park so everything is nearby. I would highly recommend the Hotel Ego.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Travelnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A nice hotel located on what at first looks like a dodgy side-street, but in fact is a central location for access to the main pedestrian shopping mall of Plovdiv and the Old Town. Staff were very helpful though their English-language skills were in need of improvement. The room was clean and spacious though a bit dark due to the brown & orange decor.The breakfast was good but the breakfast room was small and narrow and a bit crowded.

The a/c could not be adjusted in the room. The hotel determined whether it was on heating or cooling. We wanted cooling, but the main system was set to heating so we had to open the windows, one of which did not have a fly screen. More hooks needed in the bathroom for clothes & wet towels. Overall, a good value hotel in Plovdiv.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in a 2-person suite. The staff was helpful, the room was good, air conditioned and quiet. The only problem was the breakfast service, which was very disorganized. There wasn't enough seating, and the one employee working the coffee, tea, and egg service was completely overwhelmed, and consistently forgot or confused requests. Guests felt rushed as they tried to vacate a table for the next guests to have their breakfasts.

Room Tip: A taxi from the North bus station to the hotel should cost only about 3 Lei. Our taxi driver stretc...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in May 2014. The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished. The staff is friendly and helpful. I only wish the breakfast buffet had more choices. While breakfast was included we didn't find anything decent in the hotel and hat to eat out each day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aida M, Director of Sales at Hotel Ego, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Artima, Thank you for taking the time to shareyour experience in our hotel EGO in Plovdiv. We are happy to have highly praised by its guests. We work every day to improve the diversity of our buffet breakfast. We provide and vegetables, milk, sausage, sirloin, eggs, bread and desserts. I believe that our guests will tell us what they expect to see at the breakfast table and we will gladly respond to their expectations.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest in Plovdiv, Bulgaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very happy with this hotel. Excellent location within easy walking distance of pedestrianised streets and Old Town, and I don't like walking far! Good restaurants also close by. Very good suite with a balcony. Very helpful staff. Some staff do not speak good english so be careful who you ask for help! Breakfast was good but the room is very small. That apart I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahC0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice situation just 5min from the amphitheatre. Rooms have a bit dim lighting that can strain your eyes but they are spacious and the old style window shutters are a nice touch. Staff is friendly. Parking can be better because its needed when the hotel is almost in the city center. Overall - not bad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
2.5 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#2 of 35 in Plovdiv
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel
#9 of 35 in Plovdiv
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 35 in Plovdiv
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dafi Hotel
Dafi Hotel
#10 of 35 in Plovdiv
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 35 in Plovdiv
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#6 of 35 in Plovdiv
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ego

Address: Eliezer Kaleff Str 2, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range: $50 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ego 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing