We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Turkish House (Kajtaz)
from $53.31
More Info
from $63.06
More Info
from $53.31
More Info
from $91.72
More Info
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
120
113
46
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
113
46
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house turkish family interesting house worth a visit ottoman style house wealthy family turkish carpets small house interesting visit the river guided tour sitting room original furniture remove your shoes old style local history small fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 291 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019

The Turkish House is historic and old. It is a good look into the lifestyle of the time period. Nice place to visit if you are in town. Not really a destination attraction, however.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

My husband and I spent about 30 minutes at the Turkish House. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by a gentleman who is the grandchild of the last person who lived in this house. He gave us a tour of the ground floor, explaining several features of the house and the furniture, and then let us go upstairs and take a look at the other rooms by ourselves. This is a beautiful little gem, and I encourage everyone who goes to Mostar to see it. But PLEASE, respectful visitors only. There are no signs telling people not to touch things, but keep in mind this is a museum, so remember what your mother (hopefully) used to tell you when you were a kid, and "look with your eyes".

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

The Turkish House is a little off the beaten path, but gives a nice insight into how some people lived. The small courtyard is very pleasant and the rooms are charming.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MitziMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We went as part of a walking tour, and it was lovely. Our guide gave us some context for the layout of traditional Turkish houses, and this one in particular. We sat in the exquisite sitting room and she told us about coffee culture, traditional garb and even let my kids try on some clothes—including a Fez! We were there in the off season, at the end of the day, and had the place to ourselves, which made it all the better. Lovely and evocative, even my teen/tweens enjoyed.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tachnergrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Best way to visit is just to turn up at the gate. The owner almost apologetically asked for two euros each, then gave us an interesting history of the house and an explanation of its purpose and function before letting us wander around on our own. Okay, it's not the longest visit, but we enjoyed ourselves looking at how people lived hundreds of years ago. The place is well preserved.As I say, doing it on your own is the best way - on an organised tour with loads of people it might not work so well
And on leaving, go down the lane and have a little something fresh from the small bakery on the corner - the aroma should pull you in anyway!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews