We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostar is an Amazing Experience”
Review of Hotel Ero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ero
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Ero in Mostar for a single night as part of a Rick Steves tour. I have mixed feelings about the hotel. It is a remnant of "modern" Yugoslavia, definitely in need of renovation. That said, it is historic. Hotel Ero, painted yellow so it would not be a target, was used by the international press to cover the devastating civil war of the early 1990s. Our room looked out on a cross-topped hilltop above the city that was used to shell the city. It seemed as if I could not take my eyes off of it on the morning we left.

The lobby area is smoke-filled at all times. Tobacco is a big part of Bosnian life, sadly. The breakfast was somewhat substandard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed one night in September in this hotel. Our room on the fifth floor was not big but clean and comfortable enough with a small but newly renovated bathroom. Both WiFi and AC functioned well; in case of AC it was very important as the day was hot. The hotel is located within walking distance (20 minutes) from the old town and Stari Most.
Breakfast, WiFi, parking and all taxes are included in the price. However, for a hotel of this price (87Euro) we were disappointed by breakfast. Only Nescafé was served (later we noticed that one could probably buy ‘real coffee’ at a bar), there was no toaster so you have to ask for toasts and the choice of food was not great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolanta_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not the happiest experience I have ever had staying at this hotel. Was greeted by polite and cheerful hotel reception staff. After that it all went down hill. As a motorcyclist, I enquired about secure parking. Not a problem an underground car park was available. Took my gear off my bike to transfer to room. Returned to collect the rest and my camera had been stolen. left a bitter taste for me. On top of that could not sleep for traffic noise outside at night. Rooms had tobacco odour which was unpleasant. Still a beautiful city but will look elsewhere the next time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank alistair f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our first room had a defective bed. Our second room had inoperative air conditioning. The third room they gave us was OK. Each time we complained, they did not take our word for it, but had to verify the problem themselves. The clerk tried to convince us that the aircon was not defective in the second room, but she could not get it to blow out cold air. Not impressed with this hotel... kind of third worldish vibe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansJuergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Old style hotel, old style keys, old style reception. Going to this hotel is like a jump in the past ! It is rather clean but don't look too much in the corner.
Also, breakfast is limited and smoking is allowed evrywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dams73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hotel Ero in Mostar is at the moment "the best" business hotel in Mostar. After being renovated over 10 years ago, nothing has changed. I spend three days at Ero last week. It was freezing cold. Apparently the heating was on, but it was far from being warm and pleasant. They still have old fashioned keys, and if you end up sharing a room, you must make sure to come back at the decent time while your roommate is still awake or risk sleeping at the reception. Food has been traditionally decent at Ero and that has not changed.
Its location is great, it is centrally located and within walking distance from all important sites in Mostar.
The garage seems to be smaller than it should, so I ended up looking for parking around the hotel.
I hope that Ero will be improved since it definitely has potential.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LejlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Superficially, this is a business class hotel towards the middle of Mostar. Maybe a ten minute stroll to the old town. The common areas are tasteful and reception staff most pleasant and helpful. For a non-smoker - be prepared for a major assault on your nose. Grrr. Rooms are nice, apart from the smoke odor, and have a small balcony. A decent breakfast with good eggs is provided. Coffee, reconstituted from powder, is your caffeine offering.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mostar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mepas
Hotel Mepas
#2 of 15 in Mostar
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mostar
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#5 of 15 in Mostar
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden Villa
Eden Villa
#1 of 15 in Mostar
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Student Hotel Mostar
Student Hotel Mostar
#12 of 15 in Mostar
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pansion Most
Pansion Most
#11 of 15 in Mostar
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ero

Address: Dr. Ante Starcevica, Mostar 88000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ero 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ero Hotel Mostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing