We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great location”
Review of Hotel Vardar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vardar
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a great location”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Vardar with 2 of our friends during our visiting to the Balkans to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary. And it was a nice change after staying in busy Dubrovnik. Great location right inside the walled city with free parking outside. So make sure you drop off your luggage first outside the main gate before you park the car. Wifi is spotty but it works great in the lobby and the restaurant. Excellent service. Decent breakfast buffet. But you can ask for omelet and they will make it for you. I highly recommend the cappuccino there. The management team was very helpful and nice. They made great recommendation for restaurants. Make sure you walk up to the fort early in the morning before the tourists get in. The harbor is very nice to visit too and it's right outside the gate (5 min walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: Don't get a room in front of the hotel. Get one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almuaddib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    64
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
103
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kotor is 70 km from Dubrovnik and the drive took about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Do not spend 25 Euro for rental car agency permission to drive from Croatia into Montenegro. Just make sure there is a green card with the rental car paperwork, which you will be requested to provide at the border.

Hotel Vardar is located in the walled city of Kotor. It is a beautiful 4 story building.

Pros:
Free wifi (comes in and out)
Free great breakfast buffet
Clean and luxurious
Free parking
10% discount to Galion Restaurant (#1 in Kotor on TripAdvisor)


Cons:
Street noise in the room from persons walking the adjacent street
Parking is outside the city walls and requires a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location overlooking a square in the old town. We couldn't stay the night (as we had to return to our cruise ship) but it all looked very nice inside. We sat outside and enjoyed good food and drink and friendly service. This is definitely somewhere to consider trying.......

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Vardar when we showed up late to Kotor and found our hotel had given our room away. We were placed at the Vardar, which was an excellent surprise. For the price of our cheaper, but still nice hotel, we got a nice upgrade. The Vardar experience was excellent. Our room was roomy and nicely air conditioned. It was fairly quiet, although until about midnight you could hear the sound from local bars/clubs. This is just part of Kotor, however. The city is small and the Vardar is right at the center. The bathroom was incredible. As we were placed here based on overflow, we were given a double room. So, we had to order a cot. The bed was large and very comfortable. The cot was surprisingly good. The breakfasts included a nice sweet/savory mix and included hot food if you wished. If you come down towards the end of breakfast time, however, you will not be asked to order a hot option. As another reviewer mentioned, there can be water problems in Kotor during peak season. One morning we had no water. We were able to use a hotel bathroom that worked on the ground floor. The staff were always helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gentlemanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Vardar for 3 nights in August. The receptionist was kind, showed us upstairs to our room and gave us information on the Galion restaurant (owned by Hotel Vardar--guests receive 10% off the check and we had two wonderful meals there). Our room was very nicely furnished, large with a king bed with luxurious linens. The bathroom was also beautiful--we just wish it had worked. There was "a problem with the water in old town" when we visited so we were lucky to have a dribble of water from our shower head. My husband actually had to fill a water bottle and hand it to me in the shower so I could rinse my hair when the dribble of water disappeared mid-shower. The hotel staff accomodated us well for the most part--they gave us the key of a room on the first floor that we could use to shower in. At one point, however, I went downstairs to ask for a glass of water since we'd been out in the sun all day and had no water in the sink or shower. I was told to buy a bottle of water from the machine. Eventually I got a glass of water from the bar but this was definitely the low point of our stay. Overall, the stay was lovely, the breakfast was varied and filling and we greatly enjoyed the hotel. We understand the water restraints in a city built so long ago in the height of tourist season, and for the most part they handled the water situation well at minimum inconvenience to us, but please offer a glass of water when asked! (My star rating is not taking into account the water problem since it seems to be an isolated issue and they handled it well for the most part).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here with my family. Large rooms that are gorgeous. Great location to see the old town. Restaurants right outside the door or within few minute walk. Easy to get to hotel for gate to old town. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
329 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Walk through the ancient gate into the old city of Kotor, turn slightly, and you will see the Hotel Vardar overlooking a main square of Kotor. We had been staying on a yacht and the noise from the disco was overwhelming until 1AM.
The next day we booked into the hotel Vardar. Our room was quiet and the bed was luxurious, with a beautiful shower.
The next morning we had a lovely inclusive breakfast. The room is quiet a good size with two chairs and a large wardrobe. Downstairs there is a lovely area to sit and read the paper with a drink or coffee. An ATM is close by and the Post office is next door. Plenty of shops nearby.
They also have a sauna, just the thing after a long hike up to St John's Fortress.

Room Tip: Friends stayed in another room and their room was also quiet, windows must be double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giffoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 100 in Kotor
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vardar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vardar

Property: Hotel Vardar
Address: Stari Grad 476, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vardar 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vardar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardar Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing