We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”

St. Tryphon Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.71*
and up
Private Kotor Old Town Walking Tour
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Historical Walking Tour from the Port of Kotor
More Info
$23.71*
and up
Old Town of Kotor Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 98 things to do in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed the peace and quiet and seeing the interesting artefacts at St Tryphon. You can go upstairs for more exhibits and look down at the square below.

Not too expensive and worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    183
    81
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a well preserved cathedral”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

For sure this is one of the most preserved (also went through several restorations during the centuries) catholic churches in Montenegro. It was damaged several times by the earthquakes but however it still has the roman style. Located in the middle of the Old Town turns this cathedral in number one spot in Kotor. Also the museum is very interesting. St. Tryphon grave is in the base floor also.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another gem to see”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently have come back from a holiday to Dubrovnik Croatia, whilst there we hired a car for about £160 sterling pounds for the week, we went outcom several day trips and Kotor, Montenegro was one of them its just over an hour's drive from Dubrovnik. (dont forget your passport to pass over the border if your doing the same as us).

As you come down the lanes in Kotor the views are just breathtaking and photos do not do it justic, the mountains and the lake / sea (dont forget your camera).
Theres a lot of passenger chips that come into port here.

The old town has lots of interesting buildings / architecture, walking down the old streets and then you come across St Tryphon Catherdral, compared to the other buildings it stands out with its grandeur look.

Kotor itself in general is worth going to, if you were making a special journey to only see the Catherdral then id say your not missing much and why not spend a few more hours here have a walk around the shops take in the beauty of the views and buildings, stop and have bite to eat there's plenty of restaurants at reasonable prices (lunch and 2 beers for 2 we got for less than 20 euros and thats with a tip also).

Theres also a castle on the mountains you can walk up to ( have to be fit to get up there). Due to time we arrived we didnt do this as not enough hours left in day, (think you wud need full day here if going to visit castle thats taking in consideration walk up and down mountain and potter round castle and then explore Kotor, if we are back in this sort of area we would return and spend full day here so could visit castle as pose to just an afternoon like we did this time.

Helpful?
1 Thank ZippySar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Level 6 Contributor
887 reviews
580 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Kotor - St Tryphon Cathedral - Great church in the centre of the old town.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Old Town of Kotor is extremely condensed and high on density so to come across this wonderful church in the centre on the square was really impressive. The two towers rising high above everything around it acting as a great historical focal point. I briefly looked through the doors but did not enter and instead admired the structure from outside. The square outside was filled with visitors and all around there were cafes and restaurants where you can site and have a bite and watch the other visitors go about their business. A really delightful square with the church standing proud. I believe the church dates back to the third century and that St Tryphon was a martyr for Kotor. If you are in the old town then you will undoubtedly at one point end up at the square and will be able to view this building to see how wonderful it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Along with the gorgeous Church itself, the ticket allows you to visit the exhibition dedicated to the Treasury, lots of nice religious artifacts on display. Conveniently situated on a marketplace bordered by cafés and restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cimmerianbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Tryphon Cathedral also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to St. Tryphon Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing