We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another church but always worth a visit”

St. Tryphon Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.85*
and up
Old Town of Kotor Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 97 things to do in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,294 reviews
615 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Another church but always worth a visit”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have seen so many churches in our extensive travels, but we never fail to find something fascinating in any one of them. St. Tryphon was a martyr from the 3rd century and is the focus of this cathedral. It is located in the old square and close to eateries and shops. Inside are many interesting paintings, relics, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    166
    76
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 737 helpful votes
“seen just outside”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have seen this church just from outside. It is a very nice church,quite old and in good conditions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RaduCostea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
205 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“church museum”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

2 euros to enter, it appears that this is no longer a functioning church. The outer wall informs us thst it was established in the year 906, but there is nothing left from that time. After a wander round the business part of the church we climbed the side stairs to the museum rooms, which contain various artifacts and priest's robes from yesteryear. This was a pleasant interruption to our waneerings through the maze of little streets in Kotor, and, when all is said and done, worth the small entrance fee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sarumanthewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't pay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't really comment on the interior of the cathedral as I didn't pay the €2 fee to enter. Like the previous reviewer this is the first time I've ever encountered a fee to visit a working church. I always leave a voluntary donation or pay to light a candle. I couldn't help but to contrast it to a visit earlier that day to the little St Nicholas orthodox church in Kotor where the priest not only welcomed our group inside but even took photographs of them together. A much more welcoming experience! I'm sure the cathedral is nice inside but on principle I wouldn't pay an entrance fee into a church.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baska Voda, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pay ?”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I really don not understand why travelers must pay visit of church. It is really wonerful and i wold give freewill a few conis but why MUST pay enther 2 eur ? Even in Dubrovnik visit of chuches is free of charge.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Goran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Tryphon Cathedral also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to St. Tryphon Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing