We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience City Walls
from $23.00
More Info
from $55.20
More Info
from $59.80
More Info
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
581
283
55
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
283
55
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town flip flops amazing views worth the climb well worth the effort half way bring water selling water wear comfortable shoes bottle of water strenuous climb take your time walking shoes coming down early in the morning visiting kotor entry fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

The cruise ship stopping here was worth the whole cruise. While these cities in Europe all seem the same we were impressed with the little street and shops.

Thank GrandPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The views are amazing on the city walls. However beware if you buy your tickets at the gate they try to rip you off and do not give back the correct amount of change. Give them the exact amount and do not give them large bills. Even the people/gypsies in front of the main city entrance of Kotor try to deter you from the actual entrance of the city walls and try to misguide you down the road elsewhere maybe to rob you. Overall just be extra cautious and follow a map. The views of the city walls are worth the walk up. However the rocks do get slippery, especially if you get tired.

Thank jjj19456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The medieval town of Kotor is encircled by imposing walls built between the 9th and 14th centuries. The walls stretch for three miles, are up to 42 feet thick and 66 feet high.
Climb the over 1300 steps to St John’s fortress for an outstanding view of the bay and the old town.

Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We had a wonderful visit to Kotor. Several churches, mostly Catholic, and all are beautiful to see and wonder through. The Cathedral is beautiful and has a wonderful display of Relics on the upper floor. Very interesting!

Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

To walk in the ols city of Kotor and to see and to feel the old walls was so strong to me. You just need to close your eyes and hears and to imagine the life in such a place when all was different. To hear the horses and the sounds of pepole selling their goods and a cry of a small child ....

Thank hiliks2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to try this hike up the hill so we could check out the views. The views were spectacular, but the hike up was a tough one!! We had to take numerous "photo opportunities" to recover on the way up! We are in our 60's and in OK shape. We made it. It took us 1 1/2 hours to get up and about 45 minutes to get down.

The views were worth it!! But, if you aren't in good shape or have limited mobility, don't do it. The path way is unstable in places.

It was awesome!

Thank NRMEdgmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the reasons for returning to Kotor was the wall. This time we stayed longer so we could spend more time exploring the wall along with the city. If you have the chance go up as far as you are able. Great photos all the way up!

Thank andywoods321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kotor old town is an extreme fortified town with its immense defensive walls (the town is accessed via any of 3 gates, the main one being the sea gate). The walls surround the old town and stretch for more than 4 km, extending up the mountain to a height of nearly 1,000 feet. Access to the mountainside stretch of the walls is via a gate close to the west gate and entry is 8 Euros. The walk is fairly strenuous and will probably take you between 1 and 2 hours to fully navigate. The walls are in a faily dilapidated state in many parts and underfoot is often tricky |(do appropriate footwear is a must - I couldn't believe the number of posh high heels we saw en route). First target on the ascent is the church of Our Lady of Remedy (just below halfway). Thereafter it is upwards and onwards to the fortress of St.Ivan at the top with its flagpole and Montenegrin flag hoisted above. Great views of Kotor and the bay of Kotor in the distance from either of these spots. Very enjoyable, even exciting, walk among such formidable structures that have seen loads of history in the making. Pity that parts of the way are complete ramshackle and that humans have indiscriminately discarded all sorts of detritus and also that no-one is actively cleaning and generally making the walk more pleasant. They collect 8 Euros per head at the gate so it ought to go back into maintenance and regeneration.

Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Montenegro appears to be a very fortified city with lots of impressive walls. The walls facing the sea are the most formidable.

Thank NikoliGogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I got to celebrate Montenegro being my 100th country and we took helium balloons half way up the city walk to celebrate. It’s s hard walk all the way to the top and I suggest doing it early morning or later in the afternoon as it was hot!
The scenery is just mind blowing!!
It’s steep but worth every step.

Thank CasieMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews