We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it but do it in the morning!”
Review of City Walls

City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.85*
and up
Old Town of Kotor Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 97 things to do in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Port Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth it but do it in the morning!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great views obviously. The harder bit is before the church, after that the steps are better as are the views. There is really only one way up and down, you cannot, as far as we could tell, go all the way round. Go first thing, it opens at 8 am, to do it in shade. It takes about 40 mins up and 20 mins down. Wear sensible shoes and take water, tho when we went in summer there was a guy selling bottled drinks. Both times we went up you could go in the church, tho our guide book said it was never open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank crossitoffthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    292
    57
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Jewel of Boka”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Kotor and its old town are definitely the most beautiful place to see in Montenegrin coastline. It's a decent competition to its fellow neighbor Dubrovnik.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kotor as a brief visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Kotor is one of the new cruise ports, and has differing appeal depending upon who you are. If you are the "head for the nearest coffee shop" type, then there are a number of interesting eateries and coffee shops to while away your caffeine hours. If you are fit and healthy there is an amazing climb with fabulous views. If you are after an extensively interesting place to wander, then the options are more limited.

As a person who is neither young nor fit, I attempted the climb of the city walls which is extremely steep, rough going and not for the faint hearted. I made it half-way up (there is a 3 euro fee to start the climb) and reached the Church half-way up the hill above Kotor. That finished me for the day, but if you go the full distance the views are apparently even better. However, the views from the half-way point are pretty damned good! Just don't expect to get inside the church, which is really just a breathing stop.

You can also take the local ferry which travels the nearby circuit of the lake, and is a pleasant hour's ride if you have nothing better to do. It costs 10 euros per head return. A better option would be to search the net and find a boat tour which goes further and sees the charming little islands in the next passage of water (you sail past these on the way to Kotor). They have a more interesting church to visit and would be my choice rather than the ferry.

The views on the sail into Kotor are very nice indeed, and if you are new to fiords, then it's a great experience. If, like me, you've seen a number of fiords before, then it's just another pretty fiord. Make sure you get up early for the sail through, as it's probably the best way to see the general landscape.

Kotor is similar to various other nearby destinations, but does not have the immediate variety as, say, Dubrovnik - which is far more advanced down the tourist road. It's probably not as well heeled, and much of it is in worse condition, but it's a pleasant enough place to spend a few hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Fantastic walk"”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Kotor was our last stop and we absolutely loved it. We did the walk in the late afternoon as it was too hot during the day. There is an entrance fee of 3 Euros per person and I would definitely recommend to take some water with you and wear comfortable shoes. To get to the top of the walls takes 45 min, however we took our time as we were taking lots of pictures and admiring the beauty of Kotor. The view from the top is amazing and worth to climb up. It is steep, but even kids were walking up to the top.

Have fun climbing up :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Martie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great views over the city and fjord and around the mountains. Follow it all the way around. Looks like in some parts you shouldn't be going here as no OHS person has signed off on it but it's perfectly fine. Best of all it's free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Walls also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing