We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Bay of Kotor
from $53.44
More Info
from $59.47
More Info
from $56.11
More Info
from $57.23
More Info
Reviews (2,867)
Filter reviews
2,867 results
Traveler rating
2,373
420
56
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,373
420
56
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town cruise ship waters edge stunning scenery natural beauty surrounded by mountains clear water herceg novi beautiful area day trip bay towns ships norway church lady backdrop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,867 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arriving by Cruise Ship in the early morning and leaving late afternoon we had ample opportunity to view the remarkable scenery. The Bay is Fjord like with mountains surrounding it. Along the bay pier there are a number of companies selling tickets to explore the bay in small boats; you can't miss them as some of them get right up in your face. We didn't do this as I don't like small boats, but our son, his wife, our two granddaughters (12 & 16), our daughter-in-laws sister and her 9 year old boy, did go on one of these tours - they all loved it, saying it was one of the highlights of our 11 day cruise.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Sherril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Dobrota for one week .the weather was 30c.
The people were really friendly and it was a 25 minute walk along the bay to the old town passing various restaurants and cafe bars
on the way.our apartment was about 3 metres from the waters edge.
It is a lovely place to unwind and relax, and then if you want to,walk into the old town of an evening, with it’s restaurants cafes and shops.
Two or three cruise liners visit the bay daily which is a lovely site to see.
I would love to go back again to lovely Montenegro

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank RitaSteOrmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is more about the country as a whole...

The only good thing about this entire place is the nature as well as the old town / monasteries etc.
The nature is truly one of a kind (Lovčen, Dormitor, Skadar), and is the only reason you should ever visit this country.

A tourist here is just like a cow to be milked totally dry. Sunbeds 15-20 EUR, parking in random locations on gravel 3 EUR, ridiculous prices in many restaurants, hidden cover charges and so on and so forth.

For that you get filthy beaches with glass and platic, country side full of trash everywhere, mostly totally bland food. Zero road infrastructure - especially around Kotor, prepare to spend at least an hour in traffic each day.
Don't try to swim in Kotor Bay, there is crap in the water floating everywhere, try to get a beach on the open Adriatic sea.

Not everywhere is as bad as I described, but there are much, much nicer and friendlier destinations to visit in the Mediterranean. The only reason to go here is the nature and if you are Russian and don't need a visa... That's it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DmD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There's no denying that the bay itself is beautiful. Unfortunately, we were staying near Kotor and the traffic was a nightmare. The road around the bay is very narrow and there was so much traffic it took ages trying to get anywhere. Go out of season

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very underrated destination. Great place for couples and families. Very good prices in general. Good bus links around the lake area, 20 mins from airport. One slight down is cruise ships use this for a stop over so can get busy in high season. A gem. Don't tell too many people.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews