We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - but there's a couple of things you need to know!”
Review of Kotor Wine Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kotor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kotor Wine Rooms
Ranked #30 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay - but there's a couple of things you need to know!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ok, now, there is something I need to make clear right from the start - this is not a complaining review at all. On the contrary, its a big fat thumbs-up to the Kotor Wine Rooms. There are, however, a couple of things I'd like to warn you about before you go in order that nothing comes as a nasty surprise when you get there.

There has been enough said already about how stunningly beautiful Kotor Old Town is, so I don't need to add too much to that, and the good thing about the Kotor Wine Rooms is that you are right in amongst it. In the space of just a minute's walk you have some of the loveliest restaurants, bars, squares, architecture, culture and scenery you'll ever need. So that's nice.

Unfortunately though, the advantage of having all that activity close to hand when you need it also means that its close to hand when you don't. Like when you want to sleep. The medieval streets are narrow, and unfortunately right across the street from the Kotor Wine Rooms is a little bar frequented by locals that has to be the noisiest in town. Think I'm over-reacting? Try full-on pulsating hardcore eurodance music at 2 in the morning to make you feel refreshed the next day. Or maybe spontaneous group singing in the wee small hours? Or how about a blazing row spilling out into the street? We had them all. For the record, we were on the first floor in Room 11. This is not the fault of the Kotor Wine Rooms, I know - but it will have an impact on your stay and you need to be aware. Cars are banned in Kotor Old Town (its a World Heritage Site) but that doesn't stop them driving down the street in noisy smelly builder's tipper trucks at 5:30 in the morning instead. I love the Montenegrins, but they don't do 'quiet'! Once again, not the fault of the Kotor Wine Rooms but as you won't find this stuff out in the brochure then you need to be informed here instead.

This deserves a paragraph on its own - the staff at Kotor Wine Rooms are lovely. Especially the receptionist. They are brilliant.

I have never had to use the bathroom on the International Space Station, obviously, but I can bet it's bigger than the one in Room 11. You have to sit side-saddle on the khasi, and I'm not kidding. Seeing as I personally don't see the point of going on holiday and spending any more of my valuable time in bathrooms than I have to, it was no big issue to me. It tell you to diffuse the potential shock of finding this out the hard way. Room 11 is exactly that - a room. That's all. It's a clean room and nice and modern with loads of facilities. It has two shuttered windows - one opens out to look at someone else's window. The other opens out to look at the street (nice) - but you will be on public view not only by people walking past but also by local shop keepers who like to sit out on chairs, light up a cigarette and chatter. Loudly.

Because Room 11 wasn't a place we felt we could chill out in, I think on reflection a week's holiday was too long. A 3-day break would have been enough. By 7 days we were crawling up the walls. Next time I go to Montenegro I am going to hire a more spacious apartment with a balcony you can actually sit on in a quieter town like Perast or Prcanj along the side of the fjord from Kotor.

We hired a car through the lovely girl on reception and escaped to Skadar Lake (a 'must see') and also drove along the fjord sides to explore a bit. Well worth it.

Golden Tip : there is an open top tourist bus that takes you to Risan via Perast for 20 Euro per person, or there is the far more frequent and fun 'Blue Line' local bus that does the same thing for 1 Euro per person. Yes, you read that right - 1 Euro. Spend the 19 Euros you just saved on a nice lunch beside the sea in Perast.

To sum up, Kotor Wine Rooms are absolutely fine as long as you know what to expect. Words that describe rooms like 'twee', 'bijou', 'quaint', 'olde worlde charming', 'dinkie-doo' are never very far away from the dreaded 'pokey', 'cramped', 'tiny', 'compromise'. Kotor Wine Rooms somehow manages to stay on the charming side of life, but only just.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

On our last night in the Balkans (15 nights, 15 hotels) we found this little gem. If we had done earlier in the trip this would have been the place we would have stayed more than one night. Location, location, right in the middle of the old town, in a quiet enough street. The rooms (with kitchenette) seem quite new and are decorated in a very unique style. Room has everything you need. Receptionist and owner were really friendly and helpful. Very fast wifi. Great value for money. They have parking spaces outside the city walls.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more stairs to carry your bags, but the quieter it gets. Windows open into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyworldMimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This little hotel is more like serviced apartments as it has no restaurant but it is completely charming with a truly lovely receptionist who is extremely helpful and friendly.

It's in the most amazing location of the old town, we were on the top floor and while others have complained about views and noise I would say our studio room was quiet and had great views.

The receptionist helped us organise buses, taxi and boat trips and recommended restaurants and entertainment.

If I were returning to Kotor for a short break I'd definitely choose here for 3-4 days again.

Room Tip: top floor studio has more than enough room for two people with BIG suitcases and you get views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeMEastAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful short break at the Kotor Wine Rooms. Both the accommodation & the town itself are brimming with character. The town has great architecture and lots of bars & restaurants where the prices are pretty reasonable compared with somewhere like Dubrovnik. It is easy to enjoy a wonderful trip with everything just a stroll away from the Kotor Wine Rooms, which is tucked away in a small street but also right in the centre of town. There are however some great places to visit nearby. We had a trip into the mountains to visit some small villages and the views were quite spectacular. We also had a trip along the coast and another on a boat sailing along the Fjord to visit an historic monument on a small island. The scenery is quite wonderful, think the Italian Lakes but less pricey or over developed. I would definitely recommend a trip to Kotor and a stay at the Kotor Wine Rooms. Go now before the secret gets out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The beauty of the Wine Rooms is their location in the cente of the wonderful old town of Kotor. From this excellent accommodation you can explore the narrow streets of the Old Town. The rooms are well equipped and the beds extremely comfortable. In fact there is everything you require from this small and well positioned accommodation. Breakfast is taken on a terrace overlooking the Old Town and the staff without exception were helful and efficient. Eating out is extremely good value and we loved the fact that we could walk to lots of different restaurants and bars in the evening. Suggestion for a special meal would be the Galion Restaurant, positioned on the water front.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 487mikeh487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Try this hotel..it is fantastic and a real hidden gem. Kotor Bay in Montenegro is a Unesco Heritage site and nestled in the old town is a charming boutique hotel called the Kotor Wine Rooms. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Tivet airport which is a real plus as they fly from Gatwick. My room was stylishly decorated with crisp white linens and towels, large bed, plasma TV, internet, small kitchenette ( I like to buy water and wine to have in the room) and lovely views of the Old town. The staff were very helpful and on their recommendation I received the best pedicure from a local women right outside the old town. The breakfast area was served on a lovely terrace with views of the old town and had very good coffee which a pre requisite for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelButler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Odd numbered rooms face the street and a sometimes noisy bar but they have to stop music at 1.00 am by law. Even numbers face the back alley but have a better internal layout. Room 21 has a balcony. Room 32 is a split level 2 bed apartment. Room 31 has good views but you have to step over the toilet to get to the shower! There is a small electric hob & fridge but no pans. Kettle provided a/c, wi fi & safe included. HD Tv if you bring a compatible player. Only BBC world, Sky news & CNN in English. Ivana the receptionist is a gem. Breakfast is at the Monte Cristo hotel. If you want fresh bread or cooked eggs and tea instead of the black coffee just ask. They will oblige. Giordano round the corner best value food. Evergreen bar (no food) for laid back music and cheap local beer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIX1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Parteli
Casa Parteli
#9 of 101 in Kotor
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centrum Hostel
Centrum Hostel
#18 of 101 in Kotor
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rendez-Vous
Hotel Rendez-Vous
#7 of 12 in Kotor
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 101 in Kotor
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montenegro Hostel Kotor
Montenegro Hostel Kotor
#10 of 101 in Kotor
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studios Kono
Studios Kono
#13 of 101 in Kotor
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kotor Wine Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kotor Wine Rooms

Property: Kotor Wine Rooms
Address: Kotor Old Town, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitchen and other facilities:Each apartment has self-catering facilities including sink, a fridge, hot plate and storage.Bedrooms and bathrooms:Every room has a private bathroom comprised of an enclosed shower, toilet and sink. There is also a safe mounted into the wall in which to store valuables for peace of mind.OutsideLocated right in the heart of Kotor old town, guests at the Kotor Wine Rooms are well located to explore the town and surrounding villages. Within five minutes’ walk guests can be admiring the yachts moored in the harbor or experiencing one of the many cultural highlights the town has to offer.Amenities:Kotor is a part of UNESCO World Heritage List, a city surrounded by medieval walls, with examples of architecture and decoration belonging to every great Mediterranean stylistic period and plenty of amazing buzzing cafes and world class restaurants. Many summer festivals and cultural events are being held every summer in Kotor Airport:Tivat airport is the nearest to Kotor Wine Rooms, only 9km away from the property (10 mins drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing