We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've ever stayed at.”
Review of Hostel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Old Town
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I've ever stayed at.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the most picturesque hostel/ hotels I've ever stayed in, Right in the Old Town of Kotor. Sooo traditional and lovely! The inside is clean and you really feel like you're in something historical and old but with a modern feel and facilities.

The social life is great. And the people are very friendly. They do social events every evening so great for making new friends. Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a private room and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn-Containers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    87
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
83
163
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayer here and had a wonderful time. The guys there were super friendly and really helpful. The old town is so cute and even the beach was fun despite the weather. They have cats in the hostel which for me was amazing as one of them had just had kittens and they were adorable. The layout of the hostel is different as the rooms are not connected all together which is funny when its raining. But i had a nice stay even in a dorm room they have beds with curtains which was really nice! Thank you guys, have another shot for me :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a dorm at Old Town Hostel, and had a great time! The hostel is located within a stoned building, which is beautifully decorated and blissfully cool in the summer heat. There are small kitchen facilities in each room, as well as a larger common kitchen, making it easy to prepare meals- but group dinners are also offered for €3, which was very reasonable. The staff were always organising nights out and facilitating social events with wild enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeanchor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was my second stay at Old Town, and if I ever go back to Kotor, I know I'll stay there again!

+The staff was very helpful.

+The building and rooms are beautiful.

+Very reasonable price for a luxury hostel

+We did a tour of northern Montenegro through the hostel, and this was fantastic. We went to Durmitor National Park, Tara Canyon, and many off-the-beaten-path locations. Simply stunning!

+The hostel staff had a barbeque on the beach, but we were too tired to go :/

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grsteven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in late May just before the beginning of the season but the hostel was still packed with great people - some wanting a night out, others happy to chill. The hostel itself was great and very accommodating. The only negative to speak of was with a recommendation from the hostel on a hire car. The guy spoke to a friend to get a rate for us and we ended up paying a lore more than we should have for that time of year - so make sure to sense check anything before agreeing to it. Other than that, great place, great fun and great location. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjale2007, Owner at Hostel Old Town, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear sir
standard price of rent-a-car for small car in Kotor (most expensive town in Montenegro) is 35-45 eur, which is as far as we know what you have paid.
We just pass info of Kotor car renting angencies to our guests, not 1% of comission. Fact is in Podgorica it can be as low as 25, but you need to take 2,5 h bus to Podgorica.
Anyhow, If you find less then 35 eur price of car in Kotor, please let us know so we can improve service, and we will reimburse you with complete cost of your stay and tours and rent-a-car in such case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

A sleepless night in Kotor: The hostel is nice for its location in the old city of Kotor and it seems to be the perfect place for travelers avid to party late, but not for those hoping for a good night's sleep.
I stayed in the 12-bed dorm above the reception, facing the street: The owners/managers (?) were so kind to throw sangria rounds for the guests at the reception until, from what I clearly heard inside the dorm, was about 11 pm. Then they left for a pub crawl but came back with lots of noise again later. Those eventually coming back into the dorm were also pretty noisy. The reception also only opens at 9 am in the morning - which is probably fine for the party crowd, but not for those on a cycling trip like myself.
The hostel staff is very friendly, but I should have paid the additional 10 euros to get a private room somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBaetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjale2007, Owner at Hostel Old Town, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear sir,
normally we do not respond to travelers reviews as we believe personal taste preference is difficult to discuss - however, after more then 2000 reviews on different booking engines this one is so and by far most unjust and unfair we have ever received, that we felt obliged to discuss it as we feel it is completely misleading our guests.

- You have selected our cheapest dorm we have, 12 beds, while expecting no disturbance.
- You complain us making noise until 11 PM. Music can be played loud all over old town unti 01 AM, and just because we respect our guests right to rest, we move everybody, every single night, out of lobby and take them somewhere. Most of the hostels dont even have curfew.
- it is true that every single night we provide some gratis to our guests - whether its dinner, sangria, bbq in the beach etc etc - do you believe we should be penalized for that?
- we do not come back noisy, our guests ocasionally do - which is quite common in big cheap dorms in hostels which have number of guests.
- You even state in the end what the main issue was - you not taking private room. Do you believe we should receive such low rating from you because of it?

Dear...for third year in a row we work with 0 profit, reinvesting every single dime we earn in upgrading facilities, giving many gratises to guests, hiring and motivating high best possible staff there is in the market, but most of all, trying to convey the best of Kotor to everyone.

And even if we do not earn money, we have managed to become probably one of best hostels in Europe (e.g. check hostelworld reviews), and we love what we do.

Your rating of us is not only unjust and unfair, it is also damaging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed in the suite in May, which was lucky because it was pouring rain outside, so it was nice to have a place to relax and chill out. As it was quite cold we had to turn on the heating, which worked very well.
I really liked the interior of the hostel with the stone walls. It's nice that they try to preserve this old style. The suite was spacious with a couch, table, chairs, 3 beds, sink, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was also quite specious. There was some mold in the corner of the shower though. That would be my only thing to criticise, but then I tell myself it's a hostel. And I guess it's humid there a lot.
The guy running the hostel is very nice and welcomes any feedback. he's also very helpful and gives good advice. The location is great, right in the old town and about 10 min walk from the bus station. You have to walk through the city wall to get to it from the bus station.
The lobby area is also very nice. It's got a nice old style bohemian decor that is quite unique and just pretty, I think.
I definitely recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#11 of 104 in Kotor
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Cent
Hostel Cent
#23 of 104 in Kotor
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Town

Property: Hostel Old Town
Address: Stari Grad 284, Kotor Municipality 32000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once owned by a local noble family Bisanti, now redecorated as Old Town Hostel Kotor, we offer a truly unique form of stay in Kotor. By careful restoration and design we have managed to offer the feeling of Kotor as it once was. Old Town Hostel Kotor has 9 rooms (with 2, 3, 6 or 10 beds), out of which is one exclusive female 6 bed dorm, 8 bathrooms with showers and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen in each room, plus one separate summer kitchen for cooking, and a lounge/cafe bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing