We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the center!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Old Town
Ranked #1 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Kolasin, Montenegro
1 review
“Right in the center!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hostel is just a perfect place to be in. It is in the center of the old town, not too loud, big enough. Staff (Nikola and others) are very hospitable and warm welcoming which is very rare to find! I stayed here for 5 nights and they offered me every night with dinner - one day it was perfect musaka (potato with meat). Rooms are clean and cozy. You can use the kitchen and leave your things in the refrigerator. I would recommend this hostel to everyone. I really enjoyed my staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biljana220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    81
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
73
139
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had no idea about Kotor, but we got pleasantly surprised! Friendly staff, clean premises, nice rooms and a common kitchen and they have activities planned every night.and all this for that price - amazing! Kotor is definitely a secret pearl of the Balkans and this hostel helps to maintain that memory.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarinaJansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stay only one night in this hostel. But it was our best decision. This is the best place in Kotor - you are sleeping in deep of Kotor "history". Staff is very friendly and helpful. They give us free dinner, when we arrived. Room was very clean and pretty. It has air condition / yes, a little bit noisy, but good for cold days/, iron, reserve blankets... Bathroom is very good - comfortable, clean and big. On every floor has small, very pretty kitchen - you can make coffee, tea, hot food for breakfast. If you want something more too cook, they have big summer kitchen. They made very comfortable hostel. You can find everything, that you need. Its perfect location, if you want to stay in heart of old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

You will have more fun at Old Town Hostel in Kotor than at any other hostel on a trip through Europe. Nikola, Slavenko and Slavko are the best hosts you could ask for - you don't feel as though they're doing business with you, they're friends and they want to show off their country, teach you about Montenegro and make it a hell of a lot of fun. Fourth night free, free dinners every night, free car trips to Perast and Budva the first two days we were there, an abundance of rakija in the evenings, a great common room, comfy beds, and a brilliant day-long tour (the North Tour) that took us through a great portion of the spectacularly beautiful country of Montenegro...these few days were such an unexpected highlight of my trip through the Balkans and I was the saddest I've ever been to leave a hostel! If you hadn't considered putting Kotor on your itinerary, DO IT, and don't stay anywhere else. I'll be back, guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clr282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

it's one of the best hostels i've ever stayed at. excellent price, good loation, clean room, bathrooms in room, well-decorated common area, free "something" every night, etc. All but what the most important is the SUPER HELPFUL, KIND STAFF! The reception guy there really helped me big time when i got really pissed one night (the only night i stayed there) and saved me! I'm very grateful for him! I wish i couldve stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Old Town Hostel in Kotor totally made my trip to Montenegro. It is by far the best hostel I stayed at during this six-months-trip in the region. I ended up staying for over a week. It is absolutely great in every regard: clean, comfortable, a wonderful atmosphere and social life with other guests and staff, large bed- and common rooms furnished and decorated with much love, en-suite bathrooms and kitchenettes, a beautiful house, convenient location to explore most of the country, the most enthusiastic staff I have met on this trip who are 100% committed to making your stay unforgettable, free food and drinks, free nights for long-term guests and all this for a low price. In addition, the hostel draws a really special crowd of people and I have not had this much fun with other guests anywhere else.

Room Tip: I had the largest dorm, which was fine, smaller dorms have their own kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Europe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Old Town Hostel in Kotor is the epitome of any stay while traveling the Balkans. The ambiance, the extremely friendly Nikola (the saint) at the reception, the decor of even the dorms and its situation in the middle of the Old Town make it a uniquely charming place to stay. The free 4th night for every 3 nights stayed, good WiFi, laptops for guests and good Turkish coffee highlights this place to be a stopping point for a few days to take a break and plan the next part of any traveler's journey. Free delicious candlelit Balkan dinners made by Anita, evening cocktails and a trip after to the happening pubs/club with Nikola not only enables one to meet other fellow travelers but also enhances the experience of staying at this awesome place. Try to catch Slavenko (owner) for a chat to get a quick insight into Montenegro, get advice from Slavko to see the best places in the country and try to share a joke with Miko for a good laugh.
- Alan

Room Tip: Anywhere in this hostel is a good experience :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.1 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#2 of 10 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Town

Property: Hostel Old Town
Address: Stari Grad 284, Kotor Municipality 32000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once owned by a local noble family Bisanti, now redecorated as Old Town Hostel Kotor, we offer a truly unique form of stay in Kotor. By careful restoration and design we have managed to offer the feeling of Kotor as it once was. Old Town Hostel Kotor has 9 rooms (with 2, 3, 6 or 10 beds), out of which is one exclusive female 6 bed dorm, 8 bathrooms with showers and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen in each room, plus one separate summer kitchen for cooking, and a lounge/cafe bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing