We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hostel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Old Town
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hostel is located in the Old Town of Kotor, close to everything.
The dorm rooms have their own kitchenette and private bathroom (at least the 6 person one I stayed in did). There is also a larger kitchen for big cooking, and great airconditioning.
Each bed had its own locker with a padlock.
The hostel is very, very clean.
The staff are the best. Friendly, helpful and great fun. They organised an outing every single night for everyone which was fantastic. One night we had free food and went to the pub, another night we drank free sangria and another we all went to a party in town. I've never been to a hostel where everyone is so much fun!

If you are a young person - do not even consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple and want to stay in a dorm, some of the 6 person dorms have a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller755953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    87
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
83
163
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The 6 bed dorm room I stayed in was huge, had it's own small kitchen and bathroom. The hostel is in a really nice old building that has been renovated well. The staff were really friendly and helpful and even did a free cocktail night while I was there.

This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in and still a really inexpensive place to stay!

Nathan, Australian

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lega88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Rooms are big and spacious, and the commonroom is quite nice. Bathrooms in dorms doesnt get cleaned every day, sadly. The "Summer kitchen" for heavy cooking is not clean at all. We didnt even dare to make breakfast there. Everything is dirty, and food is lying around everywhere. It doesnt look like is has been cleaned properly for month.
Staff is very friendly, but i really dont understand the "Around kotor" tour they offer. The guy responsible for the tour, doesnt seem to know anything at all! He will just drive you around in a minibus for 7 hours, so that you can do photos. When im travelling, i would like a story to connect to my photos. I will not recommend this place..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very lovely Hostel in the Old Town. Staff are helpful and they will try to make you enjoy your stay. Bring you visit Kotor by night, taste local dishes and drinks, chat with others travellers, answer to your questions and help you to plan your trip if you need. If you want to visit Kotor, it's the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for a week (it was meant to be two nights) in a private room in a brand new building that the hostel has renovated just around the corner. So new that we saw them take the plastic off our mattress.

The staff here are great, they run a free event every night (loved the free sangria!) and we had an awesome time on the Tara river rafting excursion.

Highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved Kotor. Great place to visit. A mini Dubrovnik without the crowds. Our stay at Hostel Old Town was in a newly renovated apartment that the owner has just recently started to rent, in addition to the regular hostel rentals. The apartment is about a 3-4 minute walk from the rest of the hostel. It looks like maybe 5 rooms in the apartment a couple downstairs with a bathroom and 3 upstairs with one bath for 2 rooms and a third room with queen bed and private bath. We had requested a room with 2 beds and private bath which was confirmed but recieved a room with 2 beds and shared bath. Not that big a deal just not what we had confirmed. Also we were kind of looking forward to being in the main hostel which has rooms that appeared much more authentic in the centuries old building. However the apartment was nice, very cleanand had good space and even a/c. And as a bonus we had a nice view out the front window of the small square in front of the building and out across the water to the hills on the far side. Also the steps up to the church start literally at the apartments doorstep so we saved the 3 euro fee for that. Overall a friendly owner and excellent town for exploring. Needless to say everything is within about a 5-10 walk of everything else in Kotor. So when booking just make sure which you prefer the hostel or the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hostel is perfectly located in the city walls and close to everything. The rooms are spacious and there is a cheap place next door that delivers meals to the hostel kitchen. The hostel was very clean, the staff were helpful and laundry was cheap. The only thing to note is that everyone smokes right next to the large window of the common room. This means that the common room smells of smoke constantly, so for a non-smoker like me this meant I didn't enjoy sitting in there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#11 of 104 in Kotor
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Cent
Hostel Cent
#23 of 104 in Kotor
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Town

Property: Hostel Old Town
Address: Stari Grad 284, Kotor Municipality 32000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once owned by a local noble family Bisanti, now redecorated as Old Town Hostel Kotor, we offer a truly unique form of stay in Kotor. By careful restoration and design we have managed to offer the feeling of Kotor as it once was. Old Town Hostel Kotor has 9 rooms (with 2, 3, 6 or 10 beds), out of which is one exclusive female 6 bed dorm, 8 bathrooms with showers and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen in each room, plus one separate summer kitchen for cooking, and a lounge/cafe bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing