We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In old town”
Review of Hostel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Old Town
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“In old town”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice hostel in old town.
Nice rooms,WiFi and air condition.
Kitchen could be a tad bigger and have some more things in it.
I tried the set menu that the hostel recommended for 5 euro-the worst food I had on this trip and the service was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    86
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
80
162
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked this hostel for two nights and ended up staying six... Alex the manager said, "I love my residents" - as in, the people who stay longer than just a few nights. It's easy to stay here a while and just take life as it comes.

This hostel has you covered for chilling out, partying, organised tours, and cool staff. I met some awesome people staying here.

Unfortunately the bathroom in the room I stayed for the first two nights is poorly ventilated and smells like mould/mildew unless it's JUST been cleaned. I was moved, after my initial booking of two nights, and the second room I stayed in was just lovely. There was a line with pegs outside the window so I could hang my clothes to dry!

I went on a really cool kayaking trip organized by the hostel on my birthday and when an ATM/cash machine ate my debit card on a Saturday the hostel staff offered to lend me money until Monday when I could get it back. I didn't need their money but it was a really kind gesture.

I think you should stay in this hostel if you can because of the brilliant staff and the relaxed atmosphere. It's nice to have it as a base and explore other areas from because it's very close to the Kotor bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for room number six!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in June. The Hostel has a very tranquil relaxed feel about it. Plenty of people around to meet and chat with. Being located in the old town is great. the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Huw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very recently opened hostel when I stayed. Staff were amazing and were more than happy to answer all questions. Great times to be had at Old Town and highly recommended. Great price also even during peak season. Book ahead!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TomCho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#12 of 101 in Kotor
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centrum Hostel
Centrum Hostel
#19 of 101 in Kotor
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 101 in Kotor
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Town

Property: Hostel Old Town
Address: Stari Grad 284, Kotor Municipality 32000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once owned by a local noble family Bisanti, now redecorated as Old Town Hostel Kotor, we offer a truly unique form of stay in Kotor. By careful restoration and design we have managed to offer the feeling of Kotor as it once was. Old Town Hostel Kotor has 9 rooms (with 2, 3, 6 or 10 beds), out of which is one exclusive female 6 bed dorm, 8 bathrooms with showers and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen in each room, plus one separate summer kitchen for cooking, and a lounge/cafe bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing