We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kotor Old City
from $11.60
More Info
from $45.30
More Info
from $23.20
More Info
Reviews (4,953)
Filter reviews
2,739 results
Traveler rating
1,812
750
130
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,812
750
130
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city narrow streets souvenir shops day trip cruise ship walled town within the walls bars and restaurants every corner beautiful city couple of hours few hours walk around walk up maritime museum main gate ships
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,739 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

This was one of the highlights of our cruise. Our ship arrived at 7.00am but I made sure I was up on deck at 6.00 am to see the scenery as we sailed into the fjord. Mountains rising from the sea and scattered with little hamlets. The cruise in was made even more dramatic by the swirling mists which cleared as we approached Kotor. We sailed past the lovely little town of Perast and the islands of Our Lady of the Rock and St. Djordie.

We joined the hop on hop off bus at Kotor which ran along the coast to Risan and on the way back to Kotor we stopped at Perast for two hours to explore this little town. This was another highlight. Back in Kotor we explored this UNESCO cultural heritage medieval town on our own. In the afternoon we joined the guided tour included in our hop on hop off bus ticket. The tour lasted about 1.5 hours and the guide spoke excellent English and was very informative.

Thank david88forshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I’m glad I visited Kotor but I was quietly disappointed. Is it a MUST see? Erm, no. People were friendly enough. But unfortunately a small walled city like Kotor cannot cope with the volume of tourists; especially with two cruise ships on the day. Visit if you can but I won’t go again, unless I’m in the vicinity.

Thank Wall1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

The Old City of Kotor is a fortified town on Montenegro’s Adriatic coast in a secluded part of the Bay of Kotor near the limestone cliffs of Mt. Lovćen. Although fortification dates back to the early Middle Ages the predominance of what stands today surrounding the Old City of Kotor was built when Kotor was a Province of the Venetian Republic from 1420 to 1797. Four centuries of Venetian domination have given the city the typical Venetian architecture, that contributes to make Kotor a UNESCO world heritage site.

It is a medieval old town characterized by winding narrow cobblestone streets, stone houses, town squares and markets. There are several Romanesque churches, including St. Tryphon Cathedral and a number of well-maintained Orthodox and Catholic churches. It is also home to the Maritime Museum, which explores local seafaring history. It is a lovely town to walk around and imagine how the people that inhabited the area over the many centuries once lived.

Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The old city is easily accessible on foot and for the fit and ambitions there is a trail along most of the ancient city wall with amazing views at the higher elevations.
An abundance of great restaurants, historic sites and quaint shop makes it easy to loose track of time.

Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there during cruise, the old town is small yet gives you the medieval vibe. Climbing the city wall is recommended if you are in good health (8 euro fee), about 20 minutes to the mid way small church.

1  Thank Worldtraveller2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the old city, one can not only see the history along the narrow streets, but also on the hills. The old walls went from the old city all the way to the top of the mountain. Should you have the opportunity to be on top of the hills, the views are breathtaking.

Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful well-restored an preserved Old Medieval town. It is listed a UNESCO'S World Heritage site. All their streets are narrow and cobblestone, and many of the buildings are ages old. As you arrive by sea to Kotor, you can see it is nestled between mountains, like Fjords. There is a several miles long wall that surrounds the city, that goes way up the mountain. You can climb up to the top, if you have the stamina to tackle more than 1000 steps. My husband and I did not do it. Instead we enjoyed just wondering around the town and having lunch. If you want to visit the nearby cities, take a Hop-on-hop-off. Almost to the end of the hop-on loop there is a beautiful little city - Perast that sits right by the water, and you have a view of "Out Lady of the Rocks" island, which is home to the charming 'Gospa od Skrpjela' church. Perast is the best-preserved Baroque city in Montenegro.

Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Plenty of food and shopping as well as historical things to look at. everything closes down by midnight. great place to spend your time

1  Thank WTH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The main reason to visit Kotor is to wonder around the narrow streets and plazas of the old town. You can sense the history of this place as you explore. A medieval old town but still very much a real living city. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants to visit. Full of atmosphere, just wonder around and soak it up.

Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sailing into Kotor old city this summer was an exciting thrilling experience that I wish to return to ..
The black surrounding mysterious mountains of Kotor pull you towards the marina at the end of the valley facing the old fort of Kotor .
The city has many attractions ..but the walk up to the fort is arduous but rewarding ...we did it at 7.30 am (1hour 20 mins ) later renders a view that you will never forget.
I won't say any more .... go ..you will not be disappointed .

Thank spencercatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews