We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service, over priced food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bastion

Bastion
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Kotor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Next to the North Gate in Kotor Old Town, Montenegro
Calgary
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awful service, over priced food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The service here was awful. I was told that because it was the 'off season' the owner had already made his money and so was less interested in going above and beyond.

He gave us about 1 minute after passing us the menu before rudly pressuring us about our order. Not asking for drinks or anything.

The food was mediocre at best. The Octopus was cook wonderfully but felt cheated when it came with fries.

The worst part was that upon question regarding the extra 2 euro we were charged for "cover" - meaning bread and the bread sauce which we did NOT order, all of a sudden he couldn't speak english. His english was strangely fine before that.

I would never go back here. Not with the selection of other fine establishments in the immediate area.

Final thoughts: Terrible.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkyjive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    56
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better places to try seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a dinner on a 1st day in Kotor. Food is very very average and poor quality; fish doesn't taste fresh. Surprisingly, that place was recommended by a tourist info point. For what you pay there-you can defo find much better places in Kotor. And yeah,do not order mussels..they come not in shell.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Narmuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only for emergency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The breathtaking location in a square close to the ramparts of kotor. We took two risottos one with just musells and the other with seafood: identical and the price .. one twice the other. Friendly service. Stop only if you do not find another.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giugliacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge steak!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was the first meal of our holiday and it was a good job we were hungry. Bastion 1 is just outside the old town walls but the ambiance under the grape vines was good. Locals were eating there - always a good sign. I have a good appetite but could not finish what was a great T-bone (took it away for a salad next day). My wife had a very tasty goolash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drmike115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An awful food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I usually get very good advice at tripadvisor, but in this case i do not understand how such an awful restaurant can get reviews as good as these. I know seafood and i know how unfrozen seafood looks like and this was certaily the case here. By ordering scampi alla busara i did not expect to get a few unfrozen peeled scampi in a peppers sauce, neither did we expect to get unfrozen tasteless fish ordering their fish plate. Even worse than the food was the service, very careless and even rude waiters. I thoroughly unrecommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastion also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing