We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Squid Risotto is a Must to Try!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesarica

Cesarica
Ranked #5 of 93 Restaurants in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Black Squid Risotto is a Must to Try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came across this name through one of the TripAdvisor reviews and added it to our list of things to see and do when we were in Kotor in September 2012. It was a rainy day (the first after 100 days of drought) and we were wandering the streets of Kotor when we ran into this restaurant. It is not on the main street and may be harder to find, but it is so worth it.
The palce was full of tourists and we waitred for about 20 minutes.

It was lunch time and my husband and I had two glasses of wine, fish soup and black risotto (died with squid ink and had some tender squid parts). It was delicious and we agreed that it was the best meal in out entire three-week vacation in the Balkans and we still talk about that risotto!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    114
    36
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rather good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was in the mood for finding something unlike most restaurants and finally was by chance passing by Cesarica, and as the October evening was not too cold, I sat outside. The seafood was not bad, but I later found more tasty thing to eat in other places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Et tu Brute?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears. I come here today to praise Caesar not to bury him! This is a charming little restaurant in the Old Town just of the corner of Trg Sv Luke where the Orthodox Church is located. The fishing history of the proprietors’ family is clear to see on the walls. Very good fillet of Sea Bass, and top notch crispy deep fried calamari. Worth mentioning is the ripeness of the tomatoes in the mixed salad. Just amazing when subjected to the anaemic rubbish one buys in the supermarkets in the UK…

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenJohnBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Food ok but had eaten better elsewhere in Kotor. Potatoes were served cold & fish dish was slightly over cooked. No lighting on table so when the local shop closed couldn't see a thing!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DIX1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First place we dined in Kotor but we found better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We dined here as it was no2 on the Trip Advisor ratings. As with all restaurant reviews ratings can differ depending on what you order. We both had fish soup for entree and the Bastion's chowder is definitely nicer than Cesarica. Quite an average experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesarica also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Cesarica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing