We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, would stay again”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would stay again”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in mid june and loved it. The hotel is old and beautiful but the rooms are refurbished and modern. As we were traveling with a baby they supplied us with a cot and put is in a room facing the city walls instead of the square because it's much quieter which we appreciated. The room had everything we needed including a mini fridge and satellite tv. The showers are pretty nifty except one button on ours was broken so we couldn't try it's full functionality just a normal shower. The staff we extremely friendly and helpful which was great but the real treat was breakfast which is included in the room rate. Bar astoria next door provides breakfast and you can pick anything from the breakfast menu, the English breakfast is to die for, and when I asked to have mine with a side of hollandaise sauce there were no problems or extra charges. Breakfast also is served until 13:00 so we could easily sleep in but still enjoy a great start to the day. The location is fantastic right in the centre of the old town. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. When we come back to kotor we will be sure to stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    74
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
174
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great location in the old town and a short walk from the main bus station. Very friendly and helpful staff.Lovely bar/restaurant downstairs. Nice big room and shower! Perfect for sea activities around the Bay of Kotor and also exploring the old town.
One thing to note was there was a strange mural on the wall!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here one night while traveling through Kotor. Loved this place - very cozy. Had cute bar attached and provided free breakfast. Ideal location and friendly staff as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Well appointed hotel with a theme in the Old Town of Kotor. Staff at reception offered excellent service during our stay. The Thita room offered to us was perfect for our group of 3. The room had a balcony with a stunning water view. The room was spacious with seating area and nice bathroom. We stayed mid-week end of May which gave us space from the full tourist trade - a highly recommended time to visit. Fully connected Free wifi in our rooms. Included Breakfast, which had options that were suitable and generous. Coffee was excellent and highly recommend the pancakes along with any frappes. Kotor itself is well worth a visit and we are certain we will return to this charming town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A large swish bedroom with a super shower. A very stylish hotel.Our only criticism is that you eat breakfast in the bar and the sound system is blasting out loud music at 8 o'clock in the morning. Staff on reception very friendly and helpful . Bar staff not quite as endearing for hotel guests - marching around with ear pieces in their ears like night club bouncers. Would stay here again though

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJSLATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great room. Very comfortable with pleasant sitting area. Bathroom perfect. Bed comfy. Slept great. Restaurant needs work. You eat in the bar so have to struggle with others smoking. Poor breakfast options of low quality. Overall stay for the room and location. Eat elsewhere. Parking was free and just 7 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJF121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Overall, a nice, modern boutique hotel in the old town. If you park in the "Benovo Parking" lot just around the corner and across the canal from the main gate, it is free for hotel guests and appears somewhat secure. It is maybe a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

We had a room that faces the square. Be advised that the bell tower is very near, and the square could get noisy in the busy season. The double glazed windows and the shutters do a good job of keeping light and noise out, but, the you cant get fresh air, although there is air con. The rooms facing the other side may be better for noise.

Slightly disappointing were the multi nozzle high tech showers. The control knob was broken and only the overhead shower nozzle worked. Reception said most rooms were this way and they were waiting on parts from Italy.

Breakfast is at the bar and restaurant downstairs. Just use your ticket you receievd at check in. A nice selection of cooked and cold items.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Stari Grad 322, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing