We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was awesome. There was noise out the window, but i didnt hear it for long. They have a solution for parking, and for me, all was good.
Wonderful front desk staff. I climbed the mountain, up to St. johns, and it was worth every step. I liked it so much, that an hour after i got back down, i climbed it again. The patio cafe this hotel has, was enjoyed by all in our group. Well Done Astoria!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    73
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
173
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved Kotor, and the trip was made all the better because of Hotel Astoria. We stayed in the IOTA room right up the top of the hotel which gave fantastic views of the Old Town and the harbour. And the room was huge! Facilities were clean and modern, service was outstanding (particularly the lovely ladies at the front desk), and location was perfect.

Ignore the other reviews from mid-August about the noise! We were pre-warned about the annual Kotor celebrations taking place at that time of year which involved all night music, so I don't think this happens every week. It was great to be part of celebrations in such a lovely town anyway.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I would give this hotel a 6 rating if they had the option. Really loved my stay here with my wife and daughter.

Pros:
- Great location inside the old town with views of the Kotor fortress. This used to be a palace of the Buca family (though I'm not really sure who they were :-))
- Very friendly, helpful and hospitable staff
- Excellent rooms
- Sumptuous breakfast out in the open
- Free parking outside the old town (no cars allowed inside) + assistance with luggage / pick-up/drop from parking area

Cons:
- Nothing really. The cost is a bit high but then it's totally worth the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor (penthouse?) with view of the docked cruise ships on one side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aharol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed both at this hotel and the Astoria in Budva, and found both hotels to be absolute gems.
Astoria Kotor is located just inside the city walls, so convenient for walking round the old town. the staff were incredibly friendly and seemed excited to show us to our room... with reason as it was beautifully furnished with an ultra modern bathroom.
The hotel booked us a table at the Galion table, a 10 minute walk around the harbour, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed four nights here at the end of a month long trip, and found it to be the best accommodation our our trip.

The service, from arrival and help with our bags, and the great advice given by the receptionists, to the restaurant/bar staff going the extra mile to help their customers, was fantastic. We felt truly welcome and thought the hotel was the perfect balance of comfort, style and attentive but not fawning service.

The location is great, in the old town, but it is true that the pizzeria opposite morphs into a bar/club until 1 a.m (and sometimes beyond) but this should not detract from the overall experience. The breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere in the world (just order what you like off the breakfast menu, until 1 p.m! We recommend the eggs florentine, eggs benedict and American pancakes, but the choice is varied. Also, the food menu is excellent, combining quality and variety at a price which is cheaper than many of the less well postioned, but more pretentious restaurants.

It is worth noting that the free parking, outside the town, with the hotel room, is a godsend and Kotor is superb for reaching the major sights-we much preferred this to Budva for example, which seemed a tourist ghetto for badly behaved Russians on package tours. There are no really good beaches nearby, but Jazz beach is a short drive away (and much better than any of the ones we found in Croatia!) Also, the prices are quite a lot cheaper than Croatia, despite using the euro.

Don't hesitate in booking this hotel!

Room Tip: All the 'Superior' rooms face the city square-the 'Junior Suites' have sea views-may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely rooms in historic building in Old Town Kotor which really did not seem like that happening a town when we walked around earlier in the evening. The pulsing disco beat that I had the restaurant turn down at lunch should have been a clue. The music did not stop until 1am! Sleep could only occur with ear plugs and Ambien! I will be checking out early and looking for accommodation on the road rather than endure another absurd night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked the Boutique Hotel Astoria, Kotor as a special secret surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend and myself (5-7 August 2012) after reading and researching reviews on TA, etc.
Very pleased with my choice!! The Hotel is a beautifully restored old (small)palace ~ interior decor is a very stylish, quirky, upmarket design. Our bedroom was ZITA 12 (amazing!) overlooking the small square below (hotel restaurant and 2 other cafe/restaurants). We stayed on B&B board (breakfast runs from 0700-1300hrs!. Very wide choice of menu, starterfs, main & desserts...all cooked and served to perfection! (Restaurant seems to be a popular choice for non residents too). Amazing bar/lounge area (on two floors) see website for further details...

The Astoria Staff were overwhelmingly helpful (both before and during our trip). I had emailed them quite a few times before arriving to enquire about various topics relating to Kotor/Montenegro (bus times, etc) and they were always very prompt to reply, friendly, helpful (and spoke perfect English!). They also arranged for a lovely birthday cake with a personalised note to celebrate partners birthday which was a lovely touch too!: )

So a very special "Thank You" to Anjellka, Anita and Kristina for making this special surprise stay such a welcoming,memorable and happy one.. we would love to return again one day!

All in all, extremely pleased with our stay at the Astoria..highly recommended!!!

Heather & Del :-)

Room Tip: Look on website.. each room is unique (12) so see which one you would prefer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Stari Grad 322, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing