We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro
Ranked #3 of 11 Kotor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent, quiet hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is in the old city. Used to be an army barracks, which explains the long corridor. From what I saw, all rooms look towards the square, over the cafes, which in the summer time would mean noise. The window shutters we closed when I arrived, they must have stayed closed even after the cleaning lady finished. The room was large and with expensive furniture - because of the closed window shutters it was on the dark side.. The satelite TV made aloud noise which meant the volume had to be kept low. The bathroom was OK, although the towel hangers were wobly... Hot water and clean enough.
There are oil paintings (replicas) of 18th century naval officers throughout the hotel, inlcuding the room and breakfast area. Breakfast was OK, nothing fancy. They charge for capuccino! The receptionists were always nice and friendly. Lobby area deserted almost all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
30
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a big room with an amazing bathroom! Best shower I've had in weeks! The service in this hotel was great, they want to help you with everything. Slept great, almost no streetnoise. (If you want to completely silent location, don't go within the city walls). Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Room 107 had a kingsize bed and enough room to walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

the position is amazing but a constant noise from the street is the price to pay for that (no double-glassed windows).
rooms are extremely small, to the point that moving around gets a little bit dangerous. breakfast is definitely poor. service is friendly and polite. in a nutshell: ok, although slightly over-priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When I walked down the long, long, and very narrow corridor at Hotel Cattaro, I kind of expected to see the twin girls from "The Shining". It was just like in the movie.... :-) But don't let that scare you! This is a good, not to expencive hotel, right inside the walls of old town. Actually, I tink this long corridor is build into the city wall. The main square is right outside the hotel, and it is close to the harbour. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke english very well. The hotels decoration was kind of odd, in a funny way. A lot of portraits of serious looking men with wigs and other painings of tall ships in battle. I liked the atmosphere at the hotel, and will highly recommend it. Can be a little bit noisy during the night since there are a lot of resturants on the main square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaTove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this hotel late and had never been to Montenegro so were unsure what to expect, we need not have worried, the hotel is "old world gorgeous", a very pleasant surprise. The hotel has charm, character and the rooms were beautiful, comfortable and large. Bathrooms were very high spec. The reception staff were helpful, and polite, needless to say, we will be returning to this gorgeous place as soon as funds allow!

Room Tip: We were a group of 5 adults, my husband and myself had a large double with lounge area, my 2 grown u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped at the Cafe Bar As that is part of this hotel whilst on a day trip into Kotor. The food is very good definitely recommend the calamari, a very good plateful. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TPetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

With open-air dining in the Old Town's main piazza, Cafe A's ought to be prohibitively over-priced. Chicken ravioli, beef pasta, tomato pasta and a Margarita pizza were all well-presented, generously portioned and tasty. With four drinks, the bill was Euros 37. Like the rest of costal Montenegro, the service was exceptional. May/June is not the high season in Montenegro, but still this seemed cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timdawsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#12 of 97 in Kotor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro

Property: Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro
Address: Stari grad 433, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing