We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service, but very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro
Ranked #3 of 12 Kotor B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“friendly service, but very small rooms”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

the position is amazing but a constant noise from the street is the price to pay for that (no double-glassed windows).
rooms are extremely small, to the point that moving around gets a little bit dangerous. breakfast is definitely poor. service is friendly and polite. in a nutshell: ok, although slightly over-priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
35
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When I walked down the long, long, and very narrow corridor at Hotel Cattaro, I kind of expected to see the twin girls from "The Shining". It was just like in the movie.... :-) But don't let that scare you! This is a good, not to expencive hotel, right inside the walls of old town. Actually, I tink this long corridor is build into the city wall. The main square is right outside the hotel, and it is close to the harbour. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke english very well. The hotels decoration was kind of odd, in a funny way. A lot of portraits of serious looking men with wigs and other painings of tall ships in battle. I liked the atmosphere at the hotel, and will highly recommend it. Can be a little bit noisy during the night since there are a lot of resturants on the main square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaTove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this hotel late and had never been to Montenegro so were unsure what to expect, we need not have worried, the hotel is "old world gorgeous", a very pleasant surprise. The hotel has charm, character and the rooms were beautiful, comfortable and large. Bathrooms were very high spec. The reception staff were helpful, and polite, needless to say, we will be returning to this gorgeous place as soon as funds allow!

Room Tip: We were a group of 5 adults, my husband and myself had a large double with lounge area, my 2 grown u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped at the Cafe Bar As that is part of this hotel whilst on a day trip into Kotor. The food is very good definitely recommend the calamari, a very good plateful. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TPetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

With open-air dining in the Old Town's main piazza, Cafe A's ought to be prohibitively over-priced. Chicken ravioli, beef pasta, tomato pasta and a Margarita pizza were all well-presented, generously portioned and tasty. With four drinks, the bill was Euros 37. Like the rest of costal Montenegro, the service was exceptional. May/June is not the high season in Montenegro, but still this seemed cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timdawsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is very nice and we do recommend it.
The location is great - the heart of the Old Town. The room we had was with the Old Town/square view. Yes it can be noisy but Kotor is lively town and has people (for town hotels anywhere in the world you cannot expect hotels without any noise i.e. that can be expected in resorts...). The room was cozy, spacious and clean! The bathroom a bit dark but that is desing and preferences so it is not disadvantage. Breakfast is not good - preference again. They have great first floor terrace/bar looking down the Old Town square. I recommend this hotel and we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyagepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel looks very good, has a posh feeling very clean and neat and the reception staff is friendly over all even if they have no ethics. The location is nice, right in the old town, just a few steps from the main gate and from the terraces bars and all the fun.
There is no free and legal parking in Kotor. You'll have to park in a nearby private parking outside the main gate where it costs 0.70€ per hour be it day or night.

What we were very annoyed about is that my girlfriend forgot her purse on the last night on their terrace (Open Bar Citadella) and the next morning the managers, the waiters the receptionist didn't know about it (no lost and found box?). However after we were long gone from Montenegro, they said they had found the purse, pickup and return is not available in Montenegro and they don't want to send it even thogh we offered to pay for it. I'm inclined to think that the waiter took it home hoping it would be full of Euros, but took it back after a few days because of the disappointment.

My advice is, watch carefully for your belongings, or you'll never see them again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wefwefwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro

Property: Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro
Address: Stari grad 433, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Boutique Hotel Cattaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing