We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Duomo
Ranked #2 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights on a little romantic trip to Montenegro. The room looked just like on the pictures on the website, absolutely gorgeous, and the bathrobes are incredibly thick and comfy. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Tina who helped us get a tour guide, recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner and called ahead to reserve a table for us, and she got us info on boat excursions. In the end, the boats did not go because of heavy rain and we had to cancel our walking tour as well due to bad weather. Breakfast is plentiful, you pick sweet or savoury menus accompanied by fruit, juice, coffee etc. you can sit on a lovely terrace or at one of a few tables inside, or even have breakfast in your room. Only things we didn't like were that the minibar fridge in the room was so loud we had to unplug it at night, and the bed, while very comfortable, was also quite squeaky. None of these impact our excellent rating. We would recommend staying in Apt 6 or higher as 1-5 are quite close to the breakfast area, the elevator and/or the terrace, so they might be a tad loud. We had Apt 6, which was quiet enough, even though it was right next to the room with the cleaning supplies. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank off2islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time. The room was clean, cool and comfortable. The staff were really helpful and help me to sort out a problem I had with my car. It is situated in the heart of the old city with great views up the mountains. We all enjoyed the breakfast served by the hardest working waitress in the world. If we ever visit kotor again this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: There is a best lift so no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location, slap bang in the middle of the old town of Kotor.
Kotor itself is fabulous, the narrow streets, lively bars and restaurants and the amazing scenery!!
The hotel staff made us very welcome on arrival and all through our stay, breakfast was a very nice experience served on the outdoor terrace with a good choice of food. The room that we picked was an attic room with the bed on a mezzanine up a short flight of stairs and a sitting area below. The problem we had was that the bedroom area was very cramped and it maybe would be better to move the bed downstairs and use the mezzanine as a sitting/ reading area. Apart from this small problem our stay in Villa Duomo was very enjoyable and we would stay there again, just choose a different room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good hotel, good room, good food, good location! Lots of history very close by. It is a very handy location for going out at night as you just have to walk out of your hotel to be in town. Beds were very comfy. Our spa bath was incredible!! Other than the unsafe parking place (our cars tires got let down and we had to pay €10 to fix damage) it was excellent. The wifi connection went off a lot of times which was unsatisfactory but not an emergency. I recommend staying here if visiting Kotor!

Room Tip: We had the top floor suite, it had a lovely view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We heard some negatives but this place far exceed what we were expecting. Had the studio in the attic which was an amazing loft space overlooking the square. Interior decor was a mix of old and new and hit it out of the park. Definitely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Air-conditionair was so bad that I couldnt breath and if u open the window u cant sleep cos of very big noice from outside cos its in old town. Body milk they put in the bathroom smelt so terrible that i needed to take a shower again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
295381VillaD, Manager at Villa Duomo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ms Simic,

Thank You for taking time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us!
I am saddened that it was not the luxurious you were hoping for.
We inspected your rooms carefully and found them to be in excellent condition, until your arrival.
When you came at hotel, you made many problems, but as we are very professional, we will not express it in public.
Regarding the noise outside, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
It was cause of concert which happens every summer in Kotor, it is not our fault.
Indeed, we wish we could be the perfect hotel for every traveler but like all small hotels, instead of offering the typical cookie cutter experience for universal appeal, we offer a unique style that is wonderful for many but, we understand that every traveler has his own preferences.
Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Kotor.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel - absolutely stunning.

We booked this hotel to spend our wedding night as early as February, since then the representatives of the hotel contacted us several times, refined decorative elements which we wanted to see.
But when we came into the room with the photographer and the videographer - we were just amazed. The room design was accurately transferred to the design of wedding decorations, and they decorated the room with fresh flowers and presented a bottle of local wine.

The hotel is located near the square surrounded by restaurants and souvenir shops.

The room itself is inscribed in the ancient walls, but is fully consistent with contemporary standards, technologies and trends. Safety deposit box is located behind the painting, an antique phone is working, there is a Jacuzzi in the bathroom together with fantastic system of contrast showers. Bathrobes and towels are luxurious and the set of amenities is good.

As for the bed - it was very very comfortable.
The view from the windows of the narrow streets that allow you to feel at that time, you can try to close the shutters to hide from the outside noise.

Breakfast is served on the terrace or inside the hotel and is a choice on the menu, all dishes are prepared in a matter of minutes, the portions are so big that you can share with walking nearby cats.

The entire hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, pleasant smell. Everywhere is very clean)

We would like to notice a mini-bar with the wide range of drinks and snacks. Also the hotel provides its own parking lot behind the walls of the old city, where we left our car (even forgot to remove DVR), and all was well. And also there is the possibility to leave luggage for a while.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly.

Overall - we chose this hotel for a very special day - and didn't miss)) Thank you)))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergey_and_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duomo

Property: Villa Duomo
Address: Stari grad 385, Kotor Municipality, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing