We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont come to Duomo Kotor”
Review of Villa Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Duomo
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dont come to Duomo Kotor”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Air-conditionair was so bad that I couldnt breath and if u open the window u cant sleep cos of very big noice from outside cos its in old town. Body milk they put in the bathroom smelt so terrible that i needed to take a shower again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
295381VillaD, Manager at Villa Duomo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ms Simic,

Thank You for taking time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us!
I am saddened that it was not the luxurious you were hoping for.
We inspected your rooms carefully and found them to be in excellent condition, until your arrival.
When you came at hotel, you made many problems, but as we are very professional, we will not express it in public.
Regarding the noise outside, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
It was cause of concert which happens every summer in Kotor, it is not our fault.
Indeed, we wish we could be the perfect hotel for every traveler but like all small hotels, instead of offering the typical cookie cutter experience for universal appeal, we offer a unique style that is wonderful for many but, we understand that every traveler has his own preferences.
Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Kotor.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    34
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuhan, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel - absolutely stunning.

We booked this hotel to spend our wedding night as early as February, since then the representatives of the hotel contacted us several times, refined decorative elements which we wanted to see.
But when we came into the room with the photographer and the videographer - we were just amazed. The room design was accurately transferred to the design of wedding decorations, and they decorated the room with fresh flowers and presented a bottle of local wine.

The hotel is located near the square surrounded by restaurants and souvenir shops.

The room itself is inscribed in the ancient walls, but is fully consistent with contemporary standards, technologies and trends. Safety deposit box is located behind the painting, an antique phone is working, there is a Jacuzzi in the bathroom together with fantastic system of contrast showers. Bathrobes and towels are luxurious and the set of amenities is good.

As for the bed - it was very very comfortable.
The view from the windows of the narrow streets that allow you to feel at that time, you can try to close the shutters to hide from the outside noise.

Breakfast is served on the terrace or inside the hotel and is a choice on the menu, all dishes are prepared in a matter of minutes, the portions are so big that you can share with walking nearby cats.

The entire hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, pleasant smell. Everywhere is very clean)

We would like to notice a mini-bar with the wide range of drinks and snacks. Also the hotel provides its own parking lot behind the walls of the old city, where we left our car (even forgot to remove DVR), and all was well. And also there is the possibility to leave luggage for a while.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly.

Overall - we chose this hotel for a very special day - and didn't miss)) Thank you)))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergey_and_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is magnificent! Everything is as it should be from booking service to hospitality.
The location is in the heart of Old Town but not pretentious.
Ambient and room is great. We have had gallery suit with great amenities, look at St Tryphoon's Cathedral and great bathroom. They have parking free of charge as well.
The overall staff is excellent. One morning we were more than late for breakfast (buffet) and we didn't expect anything (except coffee which we wanted to order and pay regardless of the breakfast). When trying to order coffee we were more than surprised i.e. the staff left prepared sweet and sour breakfast for us! Everything was made and done. It is something you do not expect but when happens you value it.
This hotel is highly recommended by us and we are planning to get back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyagepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days with wife and 2 years daughter. Good staff and good amenity. Breakfast is not so good but not so bad. I stayed in attic room. This was good choice because I can enjoyed very good view from the window, however, if you stay with small baby like us, it is not good choice because your child try to go up on stair and might be dengerous. Location is very center of old Kotor.
屋根裏部屋(2つのうち残念ながらバスタブがないほう)からの眺めは最高。スタッフは一生懸命、私たち家族を助けてくれた。値段は高いが、サービス、施設的には満足。
A frigde is full of the bottle. So no space to put your stuff. There is only chairs inside room, I wanted a sofa.
ソファーがないのはいたい。あまり部屋の中でごろごろするという感じではない。

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eivent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTEFRACT
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This charming small hotel is barely 2 minutes walk from the entrance to the old town. The rooms are equipped with genuine old furniture giving it a lovely feel. The old town is easily walked in a few minutes and you are in the heart of it here. We had a room overlooking the street but never heard much noise at all. Breakfast was a bit limited but overall a lovely old hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in August this year. Very nice, large and comfortable room with lots of character. Very clean. Perfectly located in heart of old town Kotor. Lovely terrace for breakfast. You do get a bit of noise from musicians playing on the street at night but i doubt you can escape that anywhere in Kotor, it is part of the atmosphere of the place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnawakening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for our one night in Montenegro during our honeymoon. After driving down to Sveti Stefan from Dubrovnik only to find that it's now closed to the public (oops), we were thoroughly ready to check into our hotel in Kotor and have a drink. We parked outside the old city and easily found the Hotel Villa Duomo on one of the tiny "roads" inside the city walls. As soon as we opened the door to our suite we knew we'd made the perfect choice - every detail was perfect! We loved the beautifully restored stone walls and exposed beams, the light tile floor, and the large windows that allowed in natural light despite the rainy weather we encountered. Though we were on the second floor (just one above the street) and faced the front of the hotel, we were never disturbed by noise. The tiny details in the room really made it stand out in our minds as one of the best we've stayed in. The ancient-looking phone really works, the safe behind the painting on the wall is just plain fun, and the period-piece furniture is exquisite. The bed was super comfortable, and we ordered breakfast to our room the next morning from the friendly staff (though if it weren't raining, we'd have eaten on the GORGEOUS outdoor patio they have set up). With outrageously affordable rates considering the luxury (we paid 135 euros for the night) this is definitely the place to stay in Kotor!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 101 in Kotor
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duomo

Property: Villa Duomo
Address: Stari grad 385, Kotor Municipality, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing