We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise and very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fontana
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Novi Sad
Certificate of Excellence
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice surprise and very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Fontana for one night and it was very nice. Before we came we had to change booking and it was accepted without any problem. We got huge room - probably for four people and there was only two of us. Place is in the center of Novi Sad and it has own garage which saves trouble about parking. Room and bathroom was clean
Breakfast is also Ok. In case you are still houngry bakery is near by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erohrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went to Novi Sad with my better half and a group of friends. One of them had stayed at La Fontana before and recommended it, so we all decided to spend the night there.

It's a lovely place, especially the open courtyard with the fountain in the middle (hence the name, La Fontana). The tables are scattered all around the courtyard, so you have some privacy when eating there. The food is fantastic, we had lunch there when we arrived, it was really good and there was quite a lot of food. Good beer as well. Breakfast was also included in the price and it was also quite big, we chose omelettes, a hot drink (coffee in our case) and an orange juice, plus the usual bread and butter and jam.

The staff is nice and very helpful. You can pay for everything by credit card. The rooms are very spacious, the only drawback is that most of them don't have a balcony or a terrace. The view from our windows was towards the courtyard, so it wasn't noisy at all. There is a large closet, a large bed, a flat-screen TV, nightstands and lots of lamps. There was also a fridge in the closet. The bathroom is not very big, with the toilet, sink with showergel, soap and shampoo waiting for you, towels and a shower, no bathtub.

There is also a garage, which was great, because it's riscky to leave the car outside on the street, the streets are really narrow. It's locked, so when you need to get in or out someone from the hotel quickly comes to help you and to unlock the garage. It's a great thing that it's locked and not just anyone can get in. It's a bit steep though and a 90 degrees angle, so a bit difficult to get in or out of the garage, especially if you have a bigger car. You have to be really careful.

The location is fantastic, 2 minutes away from the centre of Novi Sad, so we left the cars in the garage and just walked around the city.

Something I do not particularly like is the fact that they take your passports at check-in and only return them to you when you check out, which is not the nicest thing to do, in case something happens, you have no passport on you. Otherwise, nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OviTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The service provided by Dragan (the manager) and his staff is some of the best I have ever experienced anywhere in Europe. My wife and I, along with 6 other friends, stayed here recently whilst in Novi Sad for the football. From the moment we arrived, Dragan couldn't do enough for us. Organisation of taxis, minibus to Belgrade, recommendations of bars etc. When we were leaving to carry on to Belgrade he even provided us with sandwiches and water, free of charge.

The hotel is clean and warm. A number of the rooms are slightly tired, but it appears that an upgrade is currently ongoing (friends in the lower numbered rooms were in much more modern rooms). Despite this, it was really comfortable.

The restaurant in the hotel was also fantastic, with a huge menu.

This hotel was a great find, and for the price is an absolute steal. If I ever return to Novi Sad, this is the only place I would consider staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is right in the centre, with extremely friendly staff, especially Dragan (manager), he helped us with baggage, garage, etc. Hotel is clean, free and well working WiFi. Breakfast is a la carte, but very good, since there is a lot of hot choices and everything is fresh. Excellent restaurant downstairs.
On a downside, there is no elevator in the hotel. Top floor rooms were a bit cold at night. Garage is not the easiest one, especially with large car, entrance is very steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Fontana whilst in Novi Sad for Serbia V Scotland football match. Hotel met all our needs, Dragan and all his staff went out their way to make sure we were made to feel at home and we did. Dragan also arranged a transfer to Belgrade for us and supplied a huge packed lunch. Would stay here again if ever back in Novi Sad, and very likely will return. Ate a few times in the restaurant and the food was top class and not pricey. Hotel is located within walking distance of the main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in Fontana while we were in Novi Sad for the Serbia vs Scotland football match.

Dragan and all his staff were very happy to help their guests and provide as much information as they could.

If we ever return to Novi Sad, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good clean large rooms. Exellent traditional food in the restaurant of the hotel. Within walking distance of the citadel and main square in the town. Staff were very friendly. I would definately stay in this hotel again. Spacious underground parking was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR4Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi Sad hotels
0.0 mi away
CitiHotel Veliki
CitiHotel Veliki
#1 of 28 in Novi Sad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centar
Hotel Centar
#2 of 28 in Novi Sad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leopold I
Hotel Leopold I
#1 of 1 in Petrovaradin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Planeta Inn
Hotel Planeta Inn
#6 of 28 in Novi Sad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prezident Hotel
Prezident Hotel
#5 of 28 in Novi Sad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vigor
Hotel Vigor
#4 of 28 in Novi Sad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana

Property: Fontana
Address: Nikole Pashica 27, Novi Sad 21101, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Vojvodina > Novi Sad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Novi Sad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Novi Sad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing