We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”
Review of Hostel Sova

Hostel Sova
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sova
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We called from Beograd in hopes of getting a bed in this lovely hostel. Instead we found ourselves in a beautiful apartment with a kitchen. It was very quiet but still situated in the middle of town. Sanja and Miki were the perfect hosts with a great amount of wisdom about Novi Sad and the Balkans. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancinFosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just found this lovely hostel by chance and it was the best experience ever. Old burgeois apartment is tastefully decorated with classic movie posters and bookshelf, filled with intriguing books. Place is run by the beautiful couple Miki and Sanja, who are very wordly and friendly. Do not miss an oportunity to chat with Miki (since Sanja will be usually too busy :)) about any subject or even any language you like, since Miki is the master of all. Sit back on the comfortable couches or on the balcony, listening to some Miles Davis or Macedonian folk dance and immerse yourself in the vas knowledge that the owners have to offer while enjoying a strong cup of coffee, which washes down the sweet aftertaste of one the local rakijas that can be found in the kitchen. This is not so much a hostel as it is a gathering place to enjoy the different people and cultures that mix in that charming flat. Oh, and you can also sleep there. It has a few bunk beds and a private room, all of which are very nice. It is located in dead centre of Novi Sad, but be sure to ask the owners what they recommend you should see or do in Novi Sad or Vojvodina or Serbia or wherever you are going.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a private double bed room if you want extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzQim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Like someone else said in a previous review, you are treated like a member of family rather than a guest. Nothing is too much trouble for Miki and Sanja, helping you with places to eat, phone calls, travel information...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick690_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We only stayed 1 night, but it was a pleasure to stay at this hostel. At first, we couldn't really find it, because the sign is not really visible from the street, but after couple of minutes we arrive to cozy family type hostel.
We paid only €10 for bed in shared room, which is probably the best price we found in Serbia at all.
There was no one else in the room with us, so we had entire 8 beds room for ourselves, which was nice. It is located RIGHT AT THE CITY CENTER, only few meters from the main pedestrian zone and only 2 - 5 minutes from the Danube river and Petrovaradin fortress.

Staff there is very nice and chatty, the kitchen is not awesomely equipped, but it's got everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludek87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerberg, Vorarlberg, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Its right in the center next to the pedesrian zone. Owner and staff are friendly and chatty.
We stayed in the privat room upstairs and enjoyed 3 chilly days. We defenetly can recommand this hostel. and have a chat with micky, his has a lot to say - interesting!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adbstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were only here for a night, but we enjoyed our stay at the hostel. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome, the atmosphere is cozy, and you CANNOT beat the location.


My only issue was the fact that at night I could smell cigarette smoke from the kitchen as our double room was right next to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skybertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Besides its perfect location and cleaness, sincerety and friendship of the owners (Miki and his wife) and their team were worth everything. If I go to Novi Sad, I will certainly stay in the same place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpozdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi Sad hotels
0.3 mi away
CitiHotel Veliki
CitiHotel Veliki
#2 of 28 in Novi Sad
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Leopold I
Hotel Leopold I
#1 of 1 in Petrovaradin
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama Garni
Hotel Panorama Garni
#8 of 28 in Novi Sad
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vigor
Hotel Vigor
#3 of 28 in Novi Sad
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 51 in Novi Sad
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel 021
Hostel 021
#24 of 51 in Novi Sad
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sova

Property: Hostel Sova
Address: Ilije Ognjanovica 26, Novi Sad 21101, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Vojvodina > Novi Sad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Novi Sad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing