We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked it”

The Lviv Historical Museum
Ranked #39 of 126 things to do in Lviv
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Among Ukraine's museums, the Lviv History Museum is one of the oldest and richest in historical artefacts and cultural relicts. Its displays help visitors visualise and trace the historical past of the town of Lviv and the lands of Galicia from olden times to modern days. The Museum's collections are housed in buildings Numbers 4, 6, 24 Rynok Square. These buildings house arhitectural monuments of the 16th, 17th, and 18th centures.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I really liked it”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What others have written about it is true. The main fault of this exhibit is that there is not any English here. But that is true for most of Ukraine. That said the English bits they do have are informative. There isn't an elevator either.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimboTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No English or any other foreign language”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited the museum in June 2013. Whilst it may perhaps be interesting to the Ukrainian population there is no explanation whatsoever in English or any other language. A lot of photo's of persons and documents in either Ukrainian or Russian. Spending a mere 10 UAH entrance fee can hardly be considered a waste, but I was no wiser when I left the museum than before I entered...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A wet day in the fog illuminated”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friendly staff who were helpful and social - keen to converse with you.
My father liked the parquet flooring, whilst my life partner loved the part about the Polish invasion - which explains the current day situation in L'viv. My son learned to walk up the stairs as well.
A lot of the information was bi-lingual, but it needs more of this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“breath taking architechture”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was here in 2001 with the military on a muti-national joint training operation. I had the opportunity to visit the L'viv. I found it amazing and a beautiful city. The architecture is incredible, everywhere you go. If you have the opportunity this is a place to see the sites. Beautiful museums and restaurants, great shopping too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'viv, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“L'viv History Museum”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It's all in Ukrainian. It would be nice if they had some English.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GilCarrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lviv Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Lviv Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing