We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel has a great location for getting around central Lviv. We (knowingly) stayed in the older section of the hotel with shared bathrooms. The sharing wasn't an issue as we were here during low season, and during the protests, so other tourists were pretty sparse. Although I cannot imagine if it was packed how the 1! mens room could accomodate an entire floor, as the other restroom was labeled as a ladies room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Kevin!
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation here at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will sharing it with our team. Thank you for mentioning the things you love and also some remarks, we have taken it into our consideration and have changed the labels.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come.

With warmest Olesya,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    163
    63
    20
    8
See reviews for
50
111
73
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was 2 nights at the end of May 2013. We booked a spacious and clean room wih big windows. Bulding is remarkable, location is pure center of town, service (staff) was wonderful, as was breakfast. Price were very modest for this type of accommodation.
We will return to this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domagoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Domagoj, your review was beautifully written and so heartfelt! Thank you for your kind words especially regarding the kind attention you received from our staff. It is our greatest pleasure to pamper our guests and I think we succeeded in your case! With the widespread layout of the property, even when all of our rooms and suites are filled, there is plenty of space for everyone, including the turtles who come to bask in the sun on our beaches.

We hope you will return to our hotel many other times in the months and years to come.

With warm wishes from Lviv, Olesya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is from another era, namely from when Lemberg was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Big doors, big windows, big stairs, all slightly shabby but worth a visit. Centrally located very near to the central square, with some parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Jake, thank you sincerely for sharing your experience and for chosing George Hotel!



It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to George and hopefully make our hotel a more regular stop for you.

With warm wishes from sunny Lviv, Olesya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff at the hotel are some of the best I have ever encountered. They were able to arrange for a friend and myself to attend a dentist with an interpreter. We were also given a packed breakfast on our departure as we were leaving very early. This is a place where artists of all type meet and there is a real buzz around the cafe as writers, painters and poets pour over their exploits over a cigarette and a cup of coffee. Our room contained a piano which was playable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpBirr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you had such a memorable vacation!

As you discovered, we are fortunate to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to help you . We are happy to hear that we were able to provide an upgraded accommodation for you and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive. We will hold you to your promise to return to our hotel when we will do our best to build another happy memory for you.

Warm wishes from Lviv, Olesya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked this hotel via hotels.com after reading a variety of reviews on mid-range priced hotels. What can I say? It is indeed located in a gorgeous old building but was a bit dated on the inside--even though it had been updated a few years ago.My Ukrainian friend joked that all Americans seem to love this hotel because we love historical buildings that we can't find at home! Regardless, my mom and I enjoyed staying here. The location is amazing and the customer service is excellent! We got a room with an en suite bathroom and two twin beds. The size of the room was spacious as was the bathroom. It took awhile for the water to heat up but it did eventually. The heating didn't work when we first got there but they immediately sent up a space heater and the next day it was fixed. The only thing we didn't love was the quality of the breakfast. It was certainly great that it was included in the price but it was the same thing every day and not all that tasty. But for ~$90/night for 2 people, it was hard to expect a ton more. The breakfast filled our bellies, even if we would have liked some variety. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others visiting Lviv who want good value and location for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are so happy to read these wonderful words about our hotel!
Thank you for all praise and remarks! We'll take it in consideration, by all means!) We are delighted to hear that our guests help other tourists to select George Hotel!
You are definitely right that Lviv is popular by its architecture. And the City of Lion never stops to amaze!
We are always waiting for you in Lviv and at Hotel “George”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked on line and made arrangements to be picked up at 6am from the railway station. Emails were promptly answered and on arrival their driver was waiting. Lovely receptionist on duty and very fluent in English.
The hotel has a long and interesting history and the location is excellent, the main sights of Lviv are within walking distance. The rooms were large and we booked one with an attached bathroom which was larger than some hotel rooms we met elsewhere in Europe. While the room overlooked the square and had a minute balcony but the doors to it were painted over with many layers. However the room was quiet.
The fittings were old to match the hotel but not worn, modern furniture would clash with the decor.The lift is from the Soviet era, small but it works, Reasonable range for breakfast and we had dinner there on a couple of occasions, the menu was limited but the food was quite good.
WiFi ok except when there was a large group in one evening.
No problem with the service and checkout was quick.
Would not recommend the hotel if you want chrome and all the other attractions such as a gym etc go to the overpriced new hotels but for character and comfort use the George. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeorgeLviv, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you sincerely for your review!
It is always a great pleasure to hear such comments about hotel “George”. Your remarks are absolutely useful for us! We appreciate your mind!
We are always pleased to meet you in Lviv and at hotel " George"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is an impressive building from the outside, apparently one of the oldest hotels in Ukraine. I think they have different styles for the rooms, some of them look quite Soviet style. These are very affordable you need to share the toilet though. Rooms are huge, huge windows and plenty of space almost to play a football match!
I think some other parts of the hostel have got more modern ad lavish rooms with bathrooms inside. It is a big building and very old so I imagine they are restoring it in batches so it was interesting to experience that room. Overall is highly recommend it. It has a perfect location too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Our dear guest!
Thank you very much for your review!
Hotel "George" - is a historical building and one of the oldest hotels in Ukraine. It's history begins in 1793. We propose different rooms for our guests: budget Tourist Class rooms, vintage Standards, modern Superiors and luxury Suites.
Just want to clarify that "George" - not a hostel but hotel! Hotel with history, with professional staff, with nice rooms and with Lviv hospitality!
"George' hotel is always eager to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Lviv Center
0.1 mi away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#1 of 61 in Lviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
#3 of 61 in Lviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dnister Hotel
Dnister Hotel
#13 of 61 in Lviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taurus Hotel & SPA
Taurus Hotel & SPA
#9 of 61 in Lviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cisar
Hotel Cisar
#28 of 61 in Lviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 1 Mickiewicz, Lviv 79000, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Lviv Oblast > Lviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lviv
#4 Family Hotel in Lviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Lviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing