We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms in Historical Building in Perfect Location”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms in Historical Building in Perfect Location”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

What an incredible upside surprise was the George Hotel during my recent stay in L'viv, Ukraine. I'd seen pictures of the place and heard about its exterior beauty, but I couldn't have imagined how big the rooms would be and how perfect the central location.

Let's go to the stats/facts:

Location: right in the middle of L'viv. I walked to just about everywhere I wanted to go, whether it be Castle Hill or a local restaurant or statue, the hotel is so close. Strangely or luckily, my room faced the street on which the McDonalds resides and somehow it wasn't loud at all, though the hotel had two layers of hinged glass doors (so I could go on balcony -- kinda fun) keeping noise low.

Rooms: HUGE! Mine had a piano in it! That's right, a piano (I didn't play with it out of respect for neighbors). Bed was relatively firm and though the rooms were somewhat old, they were clean and I'm not that picky about having a newly constructed room given I live in luxury normally.

Value: The place is underpriced. I think I paid around US$60 and would have paid 2x that amount give the location and room size. Wi-Fi included worked flawlessly.

Service: I didn't need or ask for much, and the breakfast was actually quite good and expansive. That being said, this isnt' a 5-star setup so don't get too excited about that. But then again, one of the few hotels I can remember where there was a motivated doorman who conistently opened front door for guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilJeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2016
Dear Lil ! Thank you so much for your amazing and warm rewiev!!!
We are very glad that our perfect location, huge rooms and staff have satisfied all your needs and expectations!
We will be very happy to welcome you again!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    171
    65
    21
    8
See reviews for
53
120
75
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This must have been a grand old hotel in its prime, but could use a bit of a facelift now. Still, it was very good value and the location was excellent. The rooms were spacious and airy; high ceilings and windows that actually open to let in the breeze and the sounds of the city.
The buffet breakfast was very pleasant, though the instant coffee was a bit of a disappointment. The ladies in reception were outstanding ... very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I will probably stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for convenience and cost-savings.

Room Tip: Room 25 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2016
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your kind comment regarding your experience with us and we are very delighted with the feedback provided regarding our location and our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to George Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I missed a flight and I am glad I did. Helpful staff, good food, great location.

The hotel has wifi which was a huge bonus although it did seem a little temperamental in my particular room.

The only bad aspect about the room was a lack of air conditioning. However the public areas were cool and comfortable in what was an unusual and unseasonal heatwave.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wkdimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at George Hotel. We was happy to read that we met your expectations in most areas of the Hotel, especially with our interior.
Wish you a lot of trips and always waiting for you at George Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel is in a splendid location. Rooms renovated recently are OK, although they will soon need updatging again in a few years. The unrenovated rooms, are, well, a joke. They cost more and are old fashioned, cheap and nasty. Regulars won't stay in them.
We arrived early and were charged extra, contrary to other people's experience. Services in the hotel are rather non existant. The bar lacks customers and decent drinks. Breakfast was adequate. Service from staff was polite and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2016
Dear guest!
Thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience with us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again at George Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This hotel is located in a very good and ancient palace.
If it were refurnished it could have one or two stars more.
The location is perfect you cannot have a better location. The service is quite good and the people are friendly enough. The breakfast is so and so. You can choose one warm plate and the rest is a typical continental breakfast.
The price anyway is very good and there are several kind of rooms. You can have a cheap room or a romm with some comfort more with some extra money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2016
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us!
We do appreciate your warm feedback, especially with regards to our central location and service!
We will be very glad to welcoming you here again!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

spent the weekend here end of september to do a bit of ancestor tracing,
all staff went out of their way to help with hiring cars and translations
the hotel was full of character and the hotel lobby has been restored brilliantly

the bedroom was a junior suite so we had our own bathroom which was small but perfectly adequate and spotless.
the room was full of character with the antique beds and chandeliers etc - the only thing i'd update is the carpet which clashes a bit :)
hotel restaurant - great local food as good prices and agian the decor - chinese room circa 1910 with what appeared to be 100 year old light fittings amazing

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your valuable feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. George Hotel is an elegant architectural monument dating back to the times of the Austrian-Hungarian monarchy. At present George Hotel is one of the most exquisite and ancient hotels of Ukraine and Europe, which absorbed many-sided range of spirits, starting from the ancient traditions of the city up to extraordinarity of contemprorary Lviv.
We look forward to welcoming you back to George Hotel next time when you visit our beautiful city.
George Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We spent two nights in the George Hotel in one of the not-yet renovated rooms. The room had four beds yet they charged us a fee for "an additional bed" for a third person. The beds themselves were worn out and short. Worst of all, the beds in our room had a footboard that prevented anyone taller that six feet from sleeping normally.

The room itself was simple with an old Soviet Electron TV, a sink and a small balcony. The windows appeared to be drafty and let in a lot of road noise. The common toilet and shower were down the hall. The only personal amenities were towels and soap. The free wi-fi had a very poor signal that was only really useful out in the hallway.

On the positive side, the free buffet breakfast was excellent. They offered a wide variety of Ukrainian and Western breakfast fare. The employees at the check-in desk spoke fluent English and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msambors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesya S, Public Relations Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2016
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your personal time to leave this detailed review and give us a couple of good advices!
We are very happy that we were able to provide you with a friendly service, clean linens and the lunch boxes early at the morning!
However,
you had also faced with some inconveniences during your stay in our hotel!
We would very like to apologise for it.
We have a rooms with a different city views.
A part of it has a central square view, so, of course, it will be more noisy there.
But the other part - its a rooms with a little quiet street overlooking.
So if it's too noisy for you to stay in a room with a square overlooking - we will be glad to offer you another room with a view on a little quiet street.
We would very like to make some modern changes that you've been mentioning about, but, unfortunately, not everything depends directly from us: the hotel building is the architecture monument, so, at this moment, we have no right to set a plastic windows here…
We are very hoping that despite of this little inconvenience you will come back to us soon!
Until then the team of the George Hotel wishes you all the best!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#1 of 64 in Lviv
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Lviv Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
#3 of 64 in Lviv
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rius Hotel
Rius Hotel
#13 of 64 in Lviv
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopolis Hotel
Leopolis Hotel
#4 of 64 in Lviv
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taurus Hotel & SPA
Taurus Hotel & SPA
#7 of 64 in Lviv
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 1 Mickiewicz, Lviv 79000, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Lviv Oblast > Lviv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lviv
#4 Family Hotel in Lviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Lviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing