We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service, excellent food”

Valentino Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 538 Restaurants in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: European, Italian, Pizza, Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Italian restaurant Valentino welcomes its guests right in the down own of the city. Close to major local attractions, and a popular amenities. Ancient brick ceiling, combined with the magnificent Venetian chandeliers, comfortable sofas, soft carpets, ancient frescoes - all this creates an atmosphere of comfort, tranquillity and warmth. A pleasant addition to the above mentioned benefits will be secure parking and free wireless internet access Wi-fi. Guests may be invited to a small and cosy vip-room, and to someone may appeal the hall under a glass roof, in which one might feel like in the Garden of Eden, enjoying plenty of light and greenery, especially if Lviv rain is pattering on the roof. In the evening, "Valentino" charms its guests with a romantic mood, quiet pianist play and warm candles burning.The smallest ones were not left behind. There is a specially designed menu for them, along with the children's room.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This restaurant offers mainly an italian food, but make sure you turn all the pages down when looking through the menu. Traditional Ukrainian food is presented at the end, has almost missed it! But I havent, and it was great. Professional service, and such a warm welcome all the time.

Thank Rafal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissH0tel, Manager at Valentino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Rafal,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I highly appreciate your precious time you took to review the Valentino Restaurant this time).

As always, I will pass on your comments to my greatest team. I am absolutely sure your warmest words would stimulate them to their best and try even harder in the future.

We would be so happy to welcome you again!

Lots of love and all the best, Olga Balatsko, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ate at Valentino's on two evenings last week and enjoyed both meals. The restaurant is very elegant and cozy. They do a very nice job of presentation and service. There is a wide variety of menu choices, including borscht and Italian dishes. The wine and beer selection was also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissH0tel, Manager at Valentino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear DSF2,

Thank you for your kind words following your dinner at The Valentino Restaurant. I was so glad to read that we met your expectations and you found our service and the general ambience of the restaurant to your liking.

When you visit Lviv, please do come and visit us again soon.

My kindest regards, Olga Balatsko Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hello. I think Valentino is one of the nicest restaurants in Lviv. The atmosphere is amazing, the staff is really friendly. I have always liked italian food and i admit that is the only place i have eaten italian food that is close to the one in restaurants in Rome and Bari that i have visited. The customer service is on a really high level and i was pleased to be served by such a friendly , caring and beautiful waitresses. I liked their pasta especially..really good one, worth trying. If you ever visit Lviv the Valentino restaurant is a place you definitely need to visit, try it, a place worth visiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexanderPanaiotov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissH0tel, Manager at Valentino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear AlexanderPanaiotov ,

It is a pleasure to read your recent review about your gourmet experience at
the Valentino Restaurant, and to learn that we met your very high
expectations especially when it comes to comparing our restaurant with
restaurants located in Italy and Bari.

The team joins me to thank you again to share your positive impression about
our restaurant, and we do hope to be at your service again, in a not too
distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

One of the most vexing things about L'viv's dining scene is that while faux-Italian and crispy wafer-thin pizza joints abound,, there is a serious scarcity of authentic Italian eateries (one, Italian-owned restaurant, to be exact). The rest, including Valentino, pass off disappointing, not-quite-there approximations.

Despite Valentino's poshly appointed, spacious interior and put-on airs, the food and service are just not up to snuff. On our romantic dinner visit our "Sommelier," who also doubled as our waiter, was shockingly unprofessional. Our bottle was opened and wiped off, but not presented to us for confirmation nor poured for testing and approval. This may sound pedantic, but it is basic wine service etiquette, and for a place that claims to be "haute European" and prides itself on having professional sommelier service, this is unacceptable. Our sommelier/waiter also began to annoy us by speaking English after catching a bit of our table conversation, though we consistently spoke to him in Ukrainian.

The food was about as Italian as the Celentano franchise ubiquitous in these parts. An easy ruccola salad with a balsamic dressing was a good starter, but our pasta alla carbonara was served with a heavy cream sauce rather than the defining warmed egg sauce that makes the dish. There was no egg flavor detectable. Our veal dish was ok, but nothing really palate-dazzling in terms of spice or sauce. And despite the hefty bill for our meal there was no complimentary dessert from the chef.

Nothing very impressive here to justify the prices, beside the elegant, cosy atmosphere, but this is just pomp without substance when the food is so mediocre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jjoeriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissH0tel, Manager at Valentino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear jjoeriman,
At the outset, allow us to thank you for choosing Valentino for your
romantic dinner.

It goes without saying that the entire team was extremely disappointed and
saddened by the feedback you posted, and we do apologize unreservedly for
the undue inconvenience and dissatisfaction.

We regret that what was meant to be a truly memorable Lviv experience did
not live up to your expectations. The staff here on that day was only meant
to insure the respect of the very high standards of service that we are
known for and that we strive to maintain daily.

It is always a letdown to discover that discerning guests, such as your good
self, leave the restaurant with a sour memory of their time with us.

As such, we would very much like to be able to recover from this upsetting
experience, and therefore I would be grateful to be able to find a solution
to make you come back, and indulge the inherent quality of service that is
commended daily and that you should have rightfully experienced.

Olga Balatsko, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food was excellent, but it was the high level of service that made us fall in love with this restaurant.

Thank DarcySwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissH0tel, Manager at Valentino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear DarcySwanson,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent visit to Restaurant Valentino!

I was pleased to note that you appreciated our team and their training. I was also very happy to read that you liked found the food tasty

We look forward to ensuring you have another great visit.

With warmest regards,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino Restaurant also viewed

Lviv, Lviv Oblast
Lviv, Lviv Oblast
 

Been to Valentino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing