We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appealing and Original”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Beautiful hotel in the centre of Lvov , probably the most sophisticated and most expensive . I recommend the standard room over the superior one: it costs less and looks almost the same , actually it has a wider window , although with no view. Fancy garden and dehors . Very easy parking . Bed comfy . Rooms sparkling clean. Bathroom is divided in two little rooms , quite unpractical . Very skimpy toiletry . Extremely attractive breakfast room but bar at night is austere and uninviting with too high ceilings.
The staff try to do their very best , but sometimes turn out to be clumsy . Ukraine is a young Country .
Recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anticorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
Your opinion is very important to us. We will take all of them into account and correct all our omissions. We will do everything possible so that next time you were satisfied.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 208 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here last Aug/Sept and fell in love with the place. We have just been back to Lviv but because we had family with us in their 70's we decided to stay in the centre of town (wish we'd stayed at the Citadel).
But on the Tuesday evening we booked a table for the 8 of us. All were impressed with the welcome we received when entering the hotel on a very wet evening. Firstly, we had drinks in the lobby bar and the service was great. We then all went up to the restaurant, only 3 of us had been there before so it was good to see the faces of the rest of our party as we climbed the circling staircase to the restauant (there is a lift if required) marvelling at this hotel.
The restauant is circular and some seats look over the old inner courtyard (now the lobby bar) and the rest overlook the city, which is where we sat with spectacular views.
The food was superb as was the service, all meals are brought out together and are covered with silver domed tops, these are set down in front of you and, in one movement, they are removed with a flurish to the oohs and ahhs of our party.
We shall be going back to Lviv in December and guess where we will be staying - the Citadel Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
We sincerely thank You for Your high opinion of our service. We hope that next time when You will be in Lviv, You stay in our hotel. We will do everything possible so that you will continue to remain the best idea for us.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I really enjoyed this luxury hotel. Excellent services at any step; excellent restaurant and beautiful rooms. Lovely sauna. If bathroom was a little bit larger (I had a shower room in fact), everything would be perfect. Next time I return to Lviv, I will return to this hotel. Sure.

Christian (French citizen working in Ukraine)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianMSlavutich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Chritian!
Thank You for Your review of Your stay in our hotel. Your satisfaction is the most important
remuneration of our work.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hotel is a conversion of an old Austrian citadel and has been beautifully restored. Excellent views out over the town. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jgb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
We are also proud of history of Citadel Inn’s building. We do our best to combine the old Austrian Luxury with modern European comfort.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We went to Lviv at the end of August/begining of September with our eldest son who was starting at the university in Lviv; he stayed in his student accommodation. We were there purely as backup to our son, for anything he needed in his 1st week at uni.
We stayed for 4 nights and what a unique hotel this is, as you will be aware it was a originally a fort and therefore only 22/24 rooms. The hotel is sitiated at the top of a hill and is only a short walk through wood land or some private steps into the town - all down hill and only £2.50 for a taxi.
The rooms are superb and well cleaned. Your door keycard is also a key card to a door letting you into your corridor so you are sure to feel secure. Reception staff and doorman are all eager to assist you and the girls on reception speak really good English. For breakfast they bring you out serving dishes with muessili, nuts, honey - all sorts and then you can still have a cooked breakfast if you want it. What I did miss was a cup of tea, there is fruit tea, green tea etc though. Again, staff in the restaurant and lobby bar were really good and did their best to ensure all was OK for us. We would go into town during the day, it rained 3 days out of 4 but the hotel were handing out brollies so no getting wet.
On an evening our son would join us for dinner either in the restaurant or the lobby bar and both were great and the prices were very good as were the prices for drinks, obviously drink prices were higher than in the town but still not as high as in England.
We didn't get chance to use the spa, so can't comment I'm afraid.
We did go into the city every day but didn't get to see much of it but what we did see we liked and next time we go will be doing the whole site seeing thing. Food and drink is extremly cheap in Lviv.
As our son is in Lviv for 5 years we will be visiting quite often and we would certainly use this as our base and take the grandparents there aswell.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
We are proud to read such warm words from You! Thank You for suh high opinion about our hotel and service. We will be glad to see You in our hotel.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Citadel Inn, and we really loved it. The hotel is located in an old Austrian fortress, so it is quite a special location. Everything is brand new, and they have done a great job turning the old building into a luxury hotel.

The hotel is located on a hill above the city, and you have a nice view over the old town from the terrace. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the city centre.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, which we didn´t experience in other hotels in the Ukraine.

Best about the Citadel Inn is, that it is a place, where you can perfectly relax after visiting the city. It has a nice little Spa with sauna and fitness room (which is NOT located in the basement like in so many other hotels). It is absolutely quiet, since it is not located right in the city centre. And they had a lovely summer lounge in a tent outside the hotel, where we relaxed, had drinks and even some food. And at night, we had some more drinks in the circular bar rigth in the middle of the fortress.

Not surprisingly, the restaurant is exqusist as well. Only for breakfast, we would have prefered a buffet, but it was nevertheless ok.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radgivare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
Thank You for Your review. Your opinion is very important to us. We want to propose You to visit our new Cigar Hall. It is worth being seen. Hope to see Your soon in our hotel.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We were there cause we found this new hotel surprisingly at the HRS-homepage.Its an old austrian fortress, located at a hill close to the old city and a footwalk takes only 10 minutes to the Ploschtad Rynok. This location has only 26 rooms, is exquisitely furnished and renovated and has a wonderful view to the complete old town. No noisy roads and absolutely quiet (which is rare in Lviv!). The staff was wonderful serviceorientated, tried to find out all of our wishes,advised us a wonderful cityguide and we got also a personal sightseeing tour through the fortress:-))! The wellness/sauna-area is for free one hour and its amazing to relax there after a hazardous footwalk in Lviv city during the day:-))!We will surely go again to this hotel cause its the best of the best which I have ever seen in ukraine (Didnt thought that its possible to get such a western service quality in this country:-)))!)!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BAYERNBANKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iryna K, Front Office Manager at Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir!
Thank You for such a high opinion of our work. We'll try to do our best as if our service were even higher next time.
"Citadel Inn" Hotel & Resort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lviv hotels
0.6 mi away
Leopolis Hotel
Leopolis Hotel
#4 of 64 in Lviv
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#1 of 64 in Lviv
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
Hotel Atlas Deluxe
#2 of 64 in Lviv
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#3 of 64 in Lviv
261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taurus Hotel & SPA
Taurus Hotel & SPA
#7 of 64 in Lviv
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#9 of 64 in Lviv
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort

Address: 11, Grabovskiy Str., Lviv 79000, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Lviv Oblast > Lviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lviv
#2 Spa Hotel in Lviv
#3 Family Hotel in Lviv
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lviv
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lviv
Price Range: $119 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an old fortress in central Lviv, Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort offers luxurious accommodation with free Wi-Fi. It offers an award-winning restaurant and a gym and sauna open 24 hours. On-site parking is free.All rooms and suites of Hotel & Resort Citadel Inn are equipped with a flat-screen cable TV, minibar and seating area. The private bathrooms include toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.Garmata Restaurant serves European and Ukrainian gourmet cuisine. The wine cellar features a wide selection of international wines.A meditation room and business centre are open 24 hours a day and a concierge service is provided. City tours and a shuttle to Lviv International Airport, the train station or bus station are available on request.Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort is just a 5-minute walk from the Lviv Art Gallery, and Ploshcha Rynok is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadel Inn Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Inn Hotel And Resort
Citadel Hotel Lviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing