We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lviv
Review Highlights
Great walking tour in Lviv

Our guide Paulo has quite a lot of information about the city. We had a small group of four people... read more

Reviewed yesterday
AlecT115
Tour: Hidden secrets of Lviv

Easy and well organised, not too long, not too short (approx 2,5 hours). Our guide, Solomia, was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
M7580UZjans
,
Palamos, Spain
Read all 443 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lviv
from $56.35
More Info
from $16.48
More Info
from $56.80
More Info
from $38.45
More Info
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
430
6
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
430
6
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free walking tour great tour night tour hidden secrets tour cultural tour food tour highly recommend this tour street art interesting stories underground tour private tour answered all our questions coffee break great knowledge two hours an excellent guide deep knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 443 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2019

East West Street is a powerful book about two international lawyers and the grandfather of Phillipe Sands, himself and renowned international lawyer, who all were from Lviv and managed to escape to the UK and USA before the war. They wrote the lws of crimes against humanity and genocide which were first invoked in the Nuremburg trials.

I asked Peter Althaus if his company could organise a tour of Lviv on the theme of the book. We have just completed an excellent three day tour. Both Peter and his Ukrainian colleague ,Maria, are scholars in jewish history and their knowledge and ability to convey their knowledge exceeds anything you might expect of normal tour guides. We learnt so much about the background to the book as well as spending much time discussing modern Ukraine.

A memorable experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank miles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

Our tour was inspired by Phillipe Sands recent book called East West Street.

It is about his grandfather and also two students who studied law at the Faculty of Law in Lviv around the 1920s - Hersch Lauterpacht and Rafael Lemkin. They did not know each other. Both left Lviv and escaped the Holocaust but many from their families perished in the 1940s. Both pioneered developments in international law that were used in the Nuremberg Trials and subsequent developments of international law. Lemkin invented the term genocide, and said groups had rights to safety and security. Lauterpacht said international law should be based on the ultimate rights of the individual.

Our superb guides Peter and Maria showed us places from the story of East-West Street, and helped us understand the thriving and vibrant Jewish community of 110,000 people making up a third of the city of Lviv unto 1941. Then how it became a 'territory of terror', with fewer surviving as a percentage than the Warsaw Ghetto. Both Peter and Maria were very knowledgeable. Indeed, Maria has a PhD in the history of Jews in Lviv. On our tour we met accidentally Julia a researcher and film maker from Israel who Peter then invited to join our visit to Janowska slave labour/extermination camp just outside Lviv. She was amazed that neither we nor our guides were Jewish but interested in this story.

Our group valuing human rights, worried about the present rise of popularism, heard and visited places that sobered and also inspired us for the problems we face today in Europe and the USA. Peter and Maria went the second mile to help us, were flexible, and great at answering all our questions.

For me this was a human rights pilgrimage. We have so much to be grateful for in the contributions of Lauterpacht and Lemkin in the development of international law, students from same Lviv Law Faculty. Out of the darkness, destruction and terror of Lviv also came international law solutions that can prevent such evil occurring again. But we need to remember these stories and apply it vigorously in our times.

School and university students from all over Europe need this tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Slaidburn_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

We had the city essentials tour with Anna and the gourmet tour with Uliana. And they were both great!. I would recommend it for anyone visiting lviv in a short time. Very professional and friendly.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank reydayasat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

This was a great tour. Anna really knew her subject and took us to interesting sights we would never have found on our own. She also asked a great question at the beginning - what did we know and what did we want to find out about - which meant she tailored the tour beautifully to our interests. Thank you so much Anna.
Thanks also to the whole Lviv Buddy team for helping arrange our visit. Help with restaurant choices and booking much appreciated and always so responsive to our queries.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank CharlesFens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

The manner in which our guide Anna described the complex (and sometimes sad) history of Lviv made me wish I had a full week to explore this place. Her love and knowledge about Ukrainian and Ruthian and Polish histories shines through in her approach with the visitors. i could have walked another 2 hours in the rain listening. Bravo!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews