We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sibenik
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice place for holidays”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a part of Solaris resort, this 3 stars hotel gives you a lot for your invested money. We are spending there summer holidays for a many years and every year they are better and better.
Rooms are not big but with everything you need. This hotel does not have rooms with balcony but you have very nice terrace and pool at the hotel. Food for breakfast and supper is good, fish is available every day, once a week is specific local program with singers and food. Staff is kind , all is very clean and whole resort has many possibilities for fun and sport. Hotel is on the beach which is very nice and very clean.
I recommend this hotel also to the families with children.

Room Tip: Better are these which does not have orientation to the kitchen. For us , the best is one oriented t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Djurdjica_Remenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Djurdjica,
thank you for your for your kind words. It is great to have such a nice feedback from our long-time guest. It would be our pleasure to have you here again.

Thank you and best regards,
Slavko Burazer,
Hotel Jakov Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    60
    22
    13
See reviews for
118
79
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piteå
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Me and my daughter stayed at hotel Jakov for three nights at the end of aug 2012. We liked our stay very much, and the weather was hot, almost too hot sometimes(35-37 centigrade). The resort has all you might need for a holiday but dont expect it to be genuine, (it isnt). Rooms are small but functional, no balconies though. Cleaning is good and breakfast is good too. Most of the staff are very helpful and made our stay nice. The resort is very big with 4-5 hotels, different campsites and a wide selection of bars, cafes, restaurants and so on. Positive: well kept, clean, lots to do. Negative: Far from city(sibenik), all hotels are very much the same.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This complex of three 4* and one 3* hotels is very well located on a huge property on a picturesque peninsula a little distance from Sebenik. A car is necessary to get there. We stayed one night in a 3* hotel Jakov at the beginning of October. The room was clean and comfortable and so was the bathroom. However, AC did not work and ventilation was not strong enough to sleep comfortably. We opened the windows but had to close them right away because of the mosquitoes. We were informed at the reception desk that in October the temperature was usually lower so AC was not necessary.
We had a pool view and up till 9:00PM had to listen to pre-dinner animation going on for a group of French tourists as this hotel receives groups.
Our package included half-pension plan. The food was really good, plentiful and diverse both at dinner and breakfast time.
What surprised us was the presence of many vacation cabins amongst the hotels. In fact, many of the cabins were located directly near the beach and had a better view that the 4* hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolanta_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in a family room for two nights in august prior to a week's sailing. The hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes drive from Marina Mandolina. Two nights at this hotel was plenty as you are not made to feel valued or special in any way. Although the resort has been upgraded in recent years it still feels very basic. Having said that, it has a number of attractions, especially well suited for children, and our boys - 3 and 5 - loved it. Water slides, crazy golf, playgrounds, trampolines, all of which you have to pay extra for (except the playground). I agree with a previous comment that the French tour operator should not have been allowed to dominate the hotel. It was pretty hideous at mealtimes especially. The food was below average, quantity over quality, although breakfast was mainly good. The waiters were not the most enthusiastic i've come across but then again we visited quite late in the season. A little more care in the service overall would have been appreciated. If you ask me or my husband we would only come back as an overnight stop before our next sailing trip, but if you ask our kids they would come back any time, for as long as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hello,

This summer I was on vacation at the Hotel Jacob, had a great staff and the service of the hotel was satisfactory level.They were all so kind to us.Receive any requested information to time by employees.
We hope that next year we will visit your hotel and will tell our friends from Macedonia to come visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceca701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zivinice
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel Jakov is one of 5 hotels of Solaris resort and is situated at the east side of resort. It is surrounded by nice gardens with plenty of palm-, olive-, pine- and rosetrees. The hotel has 2 pools: one for adults with max. depth of 110 cm (I know, pretty pigmaeic proportions), and the other for children with max.depth of 48 cm, both well-cleaned and maintained. Rooms are good and regularly cleaned. Food is varied, but quality is just OK: not so bad, not so good. Staff is nice and polite.
Beach that is just in front of hotel is not the place you want to spend your vacation, but just 2 minutes walk from there you have nice Family beach. There are lot of opportunities to have fun in resort, for children and adults.
Lacks of this hotels are:
1. Rooms don't have balconies
2. Complete animation program in hotel is for French tourists
That's the story of hotel Jakov. But I have to say a word about complete resort. After couple of days here in Solaris, you get an impression that they want to squeeze out every cent of you. For example,they charge you 2 Euros per day for parking that is reserved only for hotel guests, so you have to ask yourself: what's the point? Isn't hotel parking for hotel guests? Why pay something that naturally belongs to you?
That's the smallest problem. Prices of food and drinks in restaurants, hotel bars etc. are pretty high: about 30% higher than rest of Croatia. There are few beach shops, but their prices are high too. All beaches are covered with sunbeds and they are charged 6,5 Euros per day. You can see what majority of guests thinks about it when only 20-30% of sunbeds are filled, and the other tourist are lying on their own towels and chairs.
All in all, this is nice, clean, well maintained,full-of-action resort, but prepare your wallets to be devastated :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adnan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family of 4 was there for a week in August
ROOMS: clean, fairly new, good beds, enough space, no coffee maker, small fridge that we were able to empty out and use for our drinks, good service.
HOTEL ambiance: terrible. Completely taken over by french animation program Lookea for about 100 french guests arriving specifically to this hotel every week. As a result, there is no place to have a coffee or a drink or relax by the hotel pool, because the entertainment with loud speakers and french enthusiastic staff clapping, jumping and playing loud music from their own speakers. You are not allowed to use other hotel pools (like hotel Ivan, etc).
BEACH: it is a bay with shallow water, good for small chidren and good for swimming, because there is no boat traffic. It is at the end of the resort, so it is less bussy with people walking by and noise would be minimal, if there was not the french program
FOOD: Pretty bad. We had half board (breakfast and dinner). They cannot cook. Really. I almost concluded, that croatian kitchen is that bad. It is just that staff at this resort is unable to cook. What could be wrong with steamed broccoli ? Everything, if you totally overcook it. Or a cabbage salad? I do know how it tastes if you remove the rotten parts of cabbage and use the rest of it. Or a soup? It tasted like it was from a box. Still people were coming with full plates. You can always eat their good breads, butter, some veggies, fruits etc. The coffee at breakfast was from a machine that used a mix of instant coffee and dry 'milk'. Yuck. It was better to have just the coffee and add the hot milk from the container next to it. The only problem with that was that there was a sour milk in the collumn indicating the level of milk in the container. I pointed out to the staff that there might be a problem with that milk, but they mimed that it is fine. It is true that what went to my cup tasted fine. It just made me think of their cleaning routines.

I would say, that we would not recommend this place and would not come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jpcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibenik
0.6 mi away
Solaris Hotel Ivan
Solaris Hotel Ivan
#3 of 13 in Sibenik
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solaris Hotel Jure
Solaris Hotel Jure
#4 of 13 in Sibenik
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel Niko
Solaris Hotel Niko
#7 of 13 in Sibenik
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Solaris Kids Hotel Andrija
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Life Palace
6.5 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vodice
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov

Property: Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov
Address: Hoteli Solaris 86, Sibenik 22000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Sibenik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sibenik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris Beach hotel Jakov is situated in the family part of the Resort. Comfortable and simple interior, experienced and kind personnel will make your vacation unique. It is situated only a few steps from the sea and the spacious family beach. With the vicinity of the first Aqua park in Dalmatia, rich children's animation program, kids town, Wellness & Spa Mediterranean garden, sport facilities, restaurants and bars, it is an ideal place for relaxation, with the scent of pine trees and herbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing