We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there - N'y allez pas”
Review of Admiral Restaurant

Admiral Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 89 Restaurants in Sibenik
Price range: $4 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, International, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Paris, France
1 review
“Do not go there - N'y allez pas”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The servers try to force you into taking some dishes rather than others (for reasons that turn out to be untrue). Further the salad was made with canned green beans not fresh ones and the overall quality was very poor when compared to similarly priced restaurants in the city.

I see some positive feedback - I hope that it is honest and not "purchased" as is so often the case these days.

Mauvaise qualité et un service déplorable - n'y mettez pas les pieds !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admiralsibenik, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear George ,

thank you for your comment about beans . Sometimes is hard to have all salad ingredients fresh, however it is not good excuse for you, so we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will consider removing some ingredients that we can not provide fresh , and avoid this kind of complaint in the future .

I am surprised with your comment about food quality , because we get a lot of good feed back from our guests not just here, but in the restaurant also, after the meal. I guess it is subjective opinion. We try our best to minimize mistakes and to provide good value.

At places where there is a large guest turnover such as here , there is always some cases where mistakes can happen and guest complaint sometimes for a reason and sometimes just because their expectations were too high.

Finally will seriously consider your critique and suggestions in order to make some changes to the salads.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    24
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On our first night in Croatia we went to a restuarant near to the tourist offfice along the front of Sibenik. We started with a very good fish soup, followed by mussels. On the menu it gave a weight of 1.5 kilos of mussels per portion - which sounded inviting. Our waitress then (cunningly) communicated to us via the cook that because 3 of us had ordered mussels we could have them served on 1 plate. We agreed! When they arrived ... it didn't seem to look like 4.5 kilos of mussels!! When we opened the mussels a third of them were empty!!! When we reported (complained about) the situation were made to feel inferior by an arrogant and rude waitress.

Watch out, as any where - despite the the genuine hospitality and genorostiy of many contries there are individuals who are out to take advantage of visiting people (tourists).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admiralsibenik, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello Ivan ,

We appreciate every review , especially those that help us improve. However concerning this one I must say eater it is one big misunderstanding, or you were at some other restaurant.

We have mussels in our menu but nowhere says there is 1.5 kilos in portion ( nor would this be normal portion in any restaurant ), If you had 3 portions there was 1.5 kilos in total ( 0.5 kg per portion ) . If one third was empty that means meat from shells fell out of the shell after cooking and it should have been under the shells on the bottom of your plate .
All shells are ( as you probably know) closed and full before cooking , but during that process they open up and some meat falls out but it is always served to the guests.

I hope this answer helped if this review was not here by mistake .
Best regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarska, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine friendly restaurant with delicious food”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After experiencing it for the first time, I can confidently say Admiral restaurant is top place to go with your friends and enjoy in tasty variety of salads (especially the "Excelsior") and local wine Babić known for its fresh acidity, robust structure full of aroma hints of dark cherry and black berries...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan P, Guest Relations Manager at Admiral Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Daniel,

we always try to have a fair selection of vines on our list. We are glad that you have noticed that. Hope to see you again for a glass of good wine :).

Best regards.

Ivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“A really bad experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just wanted some coffee and pancakes with ice-cream, and went into this restaurant. First of all, the coffee that my parents ordered was only foam. There was no actual coffee there. When they complained about this, the waiter simply said that coffee is different in different places...So they had to order another kind of coffee, and pay for both. We ended up waiting for our pancakes for at least 20 minutes (and there weren't a lot of people at the restaurant at that time), and when I went in to ask if they would be ready soon, the waiter behind the bar was just making fun of me, not giving me an actual answer, and I went back outside. Finally the pancakes came, WITH a lot of cream, which we had told the waiter that we did not want. It is safe to say that I will never go back to that restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admiralsibenik, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Camilla ,

First let me apologize on behalf of our staff for having such bad experience . I have sent you a private message , so if you could please be kind to reply with more details about your visit to Admiral. We want to prevent this kind of situation from happening again, since this kind of behavior is unacceptable and inappropriate , so I hope you will help us to resolve this.

Thank you for your critique , even though it was not a good one , it will help us to improve our service in the future.

Best regards ,

Admiral Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All in one place”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

All in one place. Friendly staff, delicious food, good prices - a great place in the heart of the city. I am not surprised it was very well attended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dasha516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan P, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Dasha,

thank you for such a good critiques.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Ivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Restaurant also viewed

Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 

Been to Admiral Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing