We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel with a fine restaurant”
Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel with a fine restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Located about 2 miles from the old city of Zadar, this 50 year old hotel, across the street from the beach, is in excellent condition with the hotel being recently renovated. The rooms are spacious, with nice Italian furniture including a writing desk and small sitting area.The view from our room was nothing more than adjacent houses, but the balcony was nice for a breeze.

The restaurant takes up most of the main floor and is richly appointed with a large sea water acquarium, ancient artifacts, old musical instruments and various objets de art. An enormous breakfast that comes with the room features fresh fruit, cheese and meat plates, capressi salad, breads, croissants, and, they will make you an omelet or pancakes. Way too much food for me. Lunch and dinner are excellent, with fresh fish and other dishes skillfully prepared and presented with a bit of flair.The restaurant attracts many locals and features live music at times.

On the negative side, the heater in our bathroom would not shut off so it was like a sauna; we notified the management, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem. The bed was very hard for me so the sleep quality was not very good.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so try to get a room on the first floor (one flight up from the main floor) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank You for your review for our hotel!
We are very sorry we did not respond to Your request about the heater. This doesn't usually happen. Sorry once again!
We hope to see You again in our hotel!

Best regards
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    82
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
182
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this excellent hotel. Very comfortable room, wonderful breakfast brought to your table on a trolley. Such an array of food it's difficult to know where to start. We also had our evening meals in their restaurant, again excellent service and quality food.
Staff very helpful, pointed us in the direction of Supernova a shopping mall - see review. As an hotel we just couldn't wish for better - if you've stayed at The Lenox in Boston or The Leonard in London this is a similar hotel but on a smaller scale.
(Struggled to find it originally as it's actually located outside Zadar in Briko. Friendly taxi driver gave very concise directions.)
The hotel was featured along with its fish restaurant in an item by the Daily Telegraph back in 2010.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Sandy,

Thank You very much for excellent review for our hotel!

We hope to see You again!
Have a nice day,
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, comfy large room. Excellent breakfast with additional egg of your choice. They excell at breakfast filling your table with many dishes. With the sea in and a ripple you can listen to the waves rolling in at night. Very agreeable stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear LondonTell,

Thank You fot excellent review for our hotel!

We hope to see You again!
Best regards
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel late at night.
The hospitality is amazing, beautiful furnishings.
The dining is superb one of the best dining experiences in all of Croatia. Impeccable detail and attentiveness .
Decided to stay a second night.
Lynne
Houston texas

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whostler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Whostler1,

Thank You for excellent review for our hotel!

We hope to see You again!
Best regards
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had occasion to use Hotel Niko as a base of operations for an 8-night stay in late September - early October 2013. The hotel is not situated in the old town, but Zadar center is visible from the hotel and easily accessible by city bus or by car. My trip itinerary included a pretty rigorous schedule visiting historical sites and national parks from Split to Plitvice, so virtually every evening I returned to Hotel Niko simply to relax and have a good meal. It was perfect.

To begin with, the hotel is located in a quiet area. The ambiance is terrific, with the Adriatic literally across the street. The sea was clearly visible from my room balcony, which came in very handy one evening when I witnessed a spectacular lighting show illuminating the nearby islands.

The room was clean and spacious. All of the amenities were first rate and the room had all the conveniences I expected. The bathroom was quite large and the toiletrries very nice. The bed was comfortable. In short, highly recommended.

Breakfast was included and, if I had any reservation, it was that everything was pretty much the same every day. On the plus side, eggs were to order every morning, so I could get a bit of variety that way. The bread was good, but I missed the choices of breads and rolls I've come to expect in European hotels. Those reservations aside, the food was of good quality.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Although you certainly can get help with your bags, be aware that the hotel does not have a public elevator. That really wasn't an issue, as it is an easy climb from the lobby/restaurant area to the rooms.

Overall, I recommend Hotel Niko without any reservations for travelers that do not need to be located in the center of town.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with a balcony. They do not overlook the Adriatic (other balconies will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNiko, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear,

Thank You for excellent review regarding to Your stay at our hotel!

We hope to see You again!
Best regards
Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had several hotels booked for a short fly drive visit to the region but not our last night. Asked to see the room on offer which was a triple offered at the same price as their double and it was most acceptable. The hotel was clean comfortable and with a good location.

The dining experience in the hotel made all the difference. Our waiter suggested food not listed on the menu, also suggested wine to accompany the meal (a local wine) which was an excellent suggestion.

As hotels go this was worth the 4 star rating but the staff made it feel like 5 star's. If in Zadar again I will book this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPRBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNiko, General Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for a great review and compliments for
our staff. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest sometimes in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is one of the better small hotels I've visited. The kindness and forthcoming from the staff is outstanding, the restaurant is very, very good, - which is not a matter of course in Croatia.
Walking distance to Old-town somewhat long, but the environment at the shores are interesting, and the exercise gives you an appetite.
The beach in front of the hotel is not much to brag about, but it's ok for a short swim.
I would like to come back.

Room Tip: Ask with a smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canasta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 21 in Zadar
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#2 of 21 in Zadar
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Property: Hotel Niko
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing