We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and good old fashioned customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quality and good old fashioned customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although my friend and I just had a one night stay here, before flying home the following day, we wished that we could have stayed longer. Hotel Niko is a small, classy, family run hotel and, without doubt, it was the best hotel that we stayed in during our trip. Hotel Niko was quite easy to find, with signs for many of the hotels, including Hotel Niko, being posted alongside the main roads. Once at the hotel, there was sufficient parking and we were able to park in the hotel’s own car park, directly in front of the hotel. Check-in was straightforward and quick, although not nearly as quick as the man who whisked away the luggage to our room – no hanging around for tips here!

The rooms are so elegant and the bed was indescribably comfortable, with top quality bed linen. I would love to say that I had a brilliant night’s sleep but, unfortunately, this was not the case. Although I dropped off almost immediately, I was woken by brilliant light shining around the room. Through my sleepy haze, I established the culprit to be the television which somehow had managed to turn on without human assistance! The bathroom was of a good size with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. One point worth mentioning, too, is the luxurious quality of the toilet tissue which appeared to be very lightly perfumed and was of a thickness and softness not seen for years! Breakfast was a feast that was served at the table. Watching the trolleys, laden with freshly prepared food, being pushed around the restaurant was reminiscent of a bygone era especially as so many hotels now opt for the modern buffet-style breakfast. I would say that helpful staff and top quality customer service are the trademarks of this hotel and, from check-in to check-out, the staff were faultless. Perhaps the only slight disappointment was the lack of a tea and coffee making facility in the room although, again, staff were quick to assist and brought boiling water and complimentary milk into our room (we had our own supplies of tea and coffee).

As noted in other reviews, smoking is permitted in the dining room and this is quite off-putting. However, from my own observations during this trip, this does seem to be the case across Croatia generally. That aside, Hotel Niko is a truly wonderful establishment with a superb staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. All in all, I loved Hotel Niko and would definitely stay again, should I return to Zadar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    78
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
171
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I felt like part of the family! From the minute we booked the reservation the staff started working. We had an amazing time. We had an awesome sea side view and the entire hotel was very clean. It is only a 14 room hotel so that gives the staff a chance to be very attentive, they by all means were. I had the best time and would recommend this hotel and fabulous restaurant to anyone who visits Zadar.

Room Tip: I would recommend you pay the extra money to reserve a sea side view room. It is well worth it, bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNiko, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Laura,


We would like to thank you for your exellent review on Tripadvisor regarding your visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Looking for a quick short stay from Germany where the sun would be shining I chose Zadar. I was not disappointed. This hotel is a real gem. They arranged pick up at the airport at midnight which was a big help coming in so late and having someone meet us. By the time I paid the taxi and walked into sign in they already had the luggage to the room. What a surprise this was as most places make you carry it yourself even if it is on the first floor. The room was very spacious, clean and with a huge balcony(Room 108). Bed was so very comfortable with lovely linens. What a treat to have breakfast served at the table and not buffet. Believe me the table was filled with yummy choices plus you could order from the kitchen an omlete or crepes. If you didn't find something you like, shame on you. It is a quick cheap taxi($4) or bus ride to old Zadar. If you are in the mood, it is about a 45 minute walk along the water to the old city. The restaurant is top notch. If you don't see something you like, just ask. They will try to fix whatever you have the taste for. Also, read about the smoking in the restaurant but the server told us that this is changing in two weeks. You will no longer be able to smoke in the restaurant as the law goes into effect against it. Also enjoyed the singing in the restaurant by the owners group singing Croatian folk songs. Do not hesitate to stay in this hotel for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNiko, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Karen,

We would like to thank you for your exellent review on Tripadvisor regarding your visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a short stoppover at Hotel Niko in order to catch an early flight. Expecting to arrive at a sleepy hotel around 11:30pm, we were pleasantly surprised to find a buzzing restaurant, a group of friends (members of the local male choir) singing beautiful Croatian chants in the bar and the most friendly and accomodating staff we had encountered in a long time. Nothing was any trouble, including having breakfast at 4:15am. The young lady covering reception over night was more than helpful and had prepared us a special selection of sweet and savoury, allowing us to enjoy a quick breakfast before heading off. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we were conveniently able to park in front of the hotel. the only downside was the fat that people were smoking in the restaurant and bar and obviously, by the smell of smoke in the corridors, some rooms are also smoking rooms. The lingering smell of cigarettes was still present when we went to the restaurant in the morning. We will howeve, certainly stay here again if we are travelling through Zadar.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelleEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Niko for 1 night on our way from Zagreb to Dubrovnik, and since we had such a short stay in Zadar on our way down, we decided to come back towards the end of our trip. The staff is so very friendly, and it feels good to support a family-run establishment that focuses on good service. The rooms are nice and clean, though not fancy, and the balcony provides a lovely view of the sea and the old town.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haninge, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We truly enyoyed our stay. Fantastic atmosphere and the food is awesome. Warm friendly staff that makes you want to come back.
Location is right at tbe beach and it's a scenic walk along the water if you want to walk to the old city. Busstation is also very close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The staff is so warm that you just don't want to leave. Clean, spacious rooms. This hotel has everything that you need: proximity to a super market; a restaurant downstairs with fresh seafood; modern fixtures and tv set.

Two cons:

1) brown water came out of the shower for some time. It was a bit nerve-racking getting into the shower after seeing that.
2) They allow smoking in the restaurant and guests must smoke on the balcony. Smoke got into our room.

The best part of this hotel was definitely the people, the elegant atmosphere and the clean rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view of the ocean. It's spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Property: Hotel Niko
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing