We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but a bit overpriced for the area and time of year.”
Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but a bit overpriced for the area and time of year.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the only Hotel we hadn't booked in advance. We chose it based on The Lonely Planet review. We were traveling by car and needed parking. They offered us a Double Room with sea view for 140 Euros if we paid by Credit Card and 120 Euros ( about $160) if we paid cash. The room size was rather small for the price, but had a large balcony with table and chairs and a lovely view of the old town and the Adriatic. The bathroom is lovely and very clean, but only has a shower stall with telephone shower. All the other comparable Hotels we stayed at in Croatia, which were actually cheaper, had bathtubs. Also, the Staff would only leave one full roll of toilet tissue per day.
The Hotel is very nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. There is steep staircase even to the first floor. There is a small service elevator, but it is not availble to guests. Someone helped us with our bags when we arrived, but there was no one to help when we left. At this price there should be Room Service, but it was not available.Therefore, it would be nice if there was a way to make tea or coffee in the room. When we tried to call reception there was usually no one there. We had to go downstairs to ask questions, etc. The Owner's daughter was extremely helpful & nice when she was there.
Breakfast is individually served and extremely generous. However, it would be better if tea and coffee was availble for guests to serve themselves. The Hotel restaurant is supposed to be very good, but we did not eat there.
The Wi-Fi is terrible. The TV is flat screen, but smaller than most we had on our trip. In addition, there is no pool or exercise room, etc. A little hard to get to because of one way streets. In addition, some of the signs to it are incorrecct. (Possibly a prank by someone.) We went past it twice because the Hotel sign is set back from the street and was obscured by plants.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandsand45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    79
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
175
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our one of the best stay anyplace. Service and help by all staff - particularly three sisters and
Joseph in the dining room is tops. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Location not in old town but
not far and overlooking ADRIATIC. Breakfast is served in style - minicart - and personalized.
It is also plenty and many items including eggs made to order. Dinner was great including
desert and house liquor. We stayed two nights. Wish, had stayed more.
Dipak

Room Tip: For a little extra get sea view room. They were full when we went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 night's of our 1 week holiday in Croatia. I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and it certainly lived up to expectations.

The hotel seemed a little quiet (we stayed 19th-21st September so off-peak season) but we received a very warm welcome. The hotel staff went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay without being intrusive. We'd hired a car so pleased to arrive to find free onsite car parking. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant on our first night enjoying tte views across the harbour of Zadar. The following day we walked to Zadar for sight-seeing and back, a gentle 1-1.5 hour stroll each way. Our double room was beautiful with lavish decoration and had a real quality feel to it, very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was consisently sumptious with beautiful fresh food & fruits. Reception staff helped with restaurant bookings and taxis. We drove from here to the Plitvice National Park one day - an easy 1.5 hour drive each way. We also enjoyed some time sat on the beach just across the quiet road in front of the hotel, pebbly but free sun loungers and a gorgeous view. We were also blessed with lovely weather.

A really good base for starting our holiday. The service and quality of Hotel Niko really was top notch.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our second visit to Niko's and we'd thought it couldn't get any more perfect than our wonderful week's stay 4 years ago. This time we were greeted like family and totally spoiled at every turn. Great to see the newly extended hotel section is beautifully and lavishly furnished with top of the range carpets, beds and bedding, everything pristine and top quality. Balcony views across the little pebble beach overlooking the harbour were superb, incredible sunsets and idyllic peaceful location yet within 5 minutes car/bus ride of the old town. The food as ever was fantastic; restaurant famous for fish and seafood dishes but equally happy to serve delicious steaks, vegetarian or pasta platters at all hours of the day and night. The place is always full of locals which must be a great recommendation for any eatery. The huge breakfasts were out of this world, such a variety of fruits, breads, yoghurts, juices, eggs, pancakes - whatever you want they seem to provide! We had a wonderful day trip to Plitvice lakes organised by reception - always so eager to help with any info, taxis, answer every request with immediate solutions, every one of them went the extra mile to make our stay so enjoyable. It is genuinely one big happy family and it shows - Dad is a talented musician who often entertains in the evenings, Mum a professional chef who lends a hand in the kitchen and three amazingly friendly daughters who assist in the hotel and make everything run so smoothly. Last but not least we have to mention all the fantastic waiting staff who were just a delight to be around- the friendly waiters recommend what to eat, always remember your preferences and whiz around delivering happiness on a plate! Our personal waiter Josip is a very special guy who treated us like royalty and was so eager to show us what a marvellous country he lives in, is so proud to be Croatian. On our last day everyone came to say goodbye and we can honestly say we have never enjoyed such 6* treatment anywhere in the world. Just go see for yourself!

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for one of the balcony rooms is worthwhile - as it contacting the hotel direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennes Point
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at the delightful hotel while holidaying in Croatia. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very nice and just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneDennesPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After having a fabulous lunch at Niko's last year we decided to spend a night at the beginning and the end of our weeks boat charter this year.
We were bowled over by the level of service we received. The rooms were charming and spotlessly clean. Food in the restaurant was superb and breakfast to die for !
On our two nights stay we were lucky enough to be there when the Klapa singers were rehearsing> WHAT an experience. The hotel staff noticed that we enjoyed it so much and gave us a Niko CD ! When we left the hotel we felt as though we were leaving friends.
We will be back !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Niko in early September. The hotel was everything described and better. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The restaurant was superb and we ate there two nights. Joseph and the staff were very helpful and arranged an ocean front table for us. The owner catches the fresh fish served every evening. The included breakfasts were exceptional. The perfect place to stay in Zadar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#9 of 21 in Zadar
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Property: Hotel Niko
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zadar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing