We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Everything you expect from a great hotel and more
- Clean rooms and bathrooms. Spacious, Comfortable bed. design was abit oldfashioned but who cares
- Great sleep! No NOISE at all at night. AC working great. Dark rooms.

More:
- Great staff. Accommodating. Accepting cash and cards.
- amazing breakfast! so many different types of food! also you don't feel pressured to leave at 10 30 am...
- they have a great restaurant. Not super cheap but we ended up paying 50 euros for two for a great quality meal, which was a little more than the rest of the trip but the fish was great. Also when they learnt we were from the hotel they put us in front of the sea. Our waiter was so nice and funny. And he offered us some maraschino.

- Location: 30 min walk from Zadar city center (take a little boat once you reach the first half bridge). Otherwise we got a taxi for 50 kuna (less than 10 euros) or there is a bus right in front of the hotel.

- they have parking available for free and we always found some space.

- the price was higher than for the rest of our trip (130 euro) but it was worth it for a few nights . Also Zadar was quite expensive overall and this was a fair price compared with other options...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

Hotel Niko was a wonderful find when I decided to stop in Zadar during my travels. The staff were extremely cordial and helpful. The rooms were beautiful. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding - all personally served to your table--croissant, bread, ham, cheese, fruit salad, fresh cantaloupe, fresh strawberries and yogurt. I also ate dinner at the restaurant and had fresh fish which was excellent. The only drawback is finding it--directions were not helpful because of all the construction in and around Zadar.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peditox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel Niko in April 2011 with our two boys aged 8 and 14. We rented a car at the airport and had no trouble finding the hotel which is located about 4km from the old town of Zadar. It sits on a peninsula, right across the road from a pebble beach and marina with awesome views of the ocean, islands and old town of Zadar.

The staff and family of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They showed our youngest boy how to feed the fish in their huge fish tank. That alone kept him busy for about half an hour a day.

Our room was HUGE, probably the biggest European hotel room we've ever been in. We also had a balcony with an incredible view of the water and surrounding area. My wife and I spent several hours on that balcony drinking wine and watching the world go by.

We enjoyed great breakfasts served to your table instead of buffet style which was a nice touch and we also enjoyed one evening meal at their restaurant.

Overall we stayed for 5 nights and wished we would have booked in for longer. We'll be back because Croatia was beautiful and we loved all the hiking available at the nearby national parks.

Room Tip: Room 203 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

For a single night stay on the drive down the Croatian coast, Zadar & Hotel Niko was an unexpected gem. Great sized room, nice restaurant (although the young waiter shouldn't try so hard to up-sell everything!), and lovely views across the bay to the old town centre. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

The Hotel just needs some finishing touches (wiring waiting for lights to be fitted on the entry walk, etc.) to feel more homely. A very comfortable & clean hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirbanoTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We loved the Nico. The approach is not that promising (through suburban Zadar) but the location opposite a busy little local beach with great Adriatic views was excellent. It felt like a really special hotel. One of our two rooms was enormous and both very well appointed. Breakfast was a highlight in the restaurant with the massive sliding windows open to the car park/beach. Well done!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Niko for two nights while visiting Zadar with friends in July 2010. I had difficulty finding accommodations in Zadar when planning my trip to Croatia. From my online research, it appeared that all of the hotels were located terribly far away from the Zadar Old Town, and there were hardly any options within my price range that were closer than a 20-minute bus ride. I was confused, but ended up booking Hotel Niko thanks to positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel Niko is located in the Borik region, on the Puntamika Peninsula. We arrived in Zadar by bus, and caught the #8 (or you can take the #5) bus which dropped us at the top of a service road that leads down the Puntamika. After a five-minute walk, we were at Hotel Niko which is nestled among residences and harbor office buildings, and looks out onto a picturesque harbor and pebble beach crowded with swimmers and beach-goers.

The hotel has a grand feel to it, and upon checking in, we walked up a red-carpeted curling stairwell one flight to the first floor. Our room was large, with a huge, modern bathroom, an entrance foyer, and a bedroom with double sliding-glass doors that led out to our own personal (and HUGE!) balcony that overlooked the ocean. We could see the Old Town in the distance, across the water.

The restaurant at Hotel Niko is very nice, with one whole wall of windows opening up to the ocean. We did not eat dinner there, but did enjoy two complimentary breakfasts. For the breakfast, you sit at a table and a waitress serves you a large pre-set meal of tomatoes, bread, cold cuts, yogurts, sliced watermelon, fruit salad, and croissants. The restaurant is a big draw in its own right, and we saw it get crowded each night for dinner.

On our first day, we walked into Zadar Old Town, which was a 45-minute, very pleasant walk along the water and boat harbors. After exploring and eating dinner at an upscale seafood restaurant named Fosa, we took the #5 / #8 bus back to our hotel (the bus picks up near the entrance/exit to the Old Town, and is exceedingly easy to use). On our second day, we took a taxi from the hotel to the small village of Nin and enjoyed some beautiful beaches. All of this is to say that the location of Hotel Niko, though isolated, will not hold you back from experiencing everything that Zadar has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Niko is a small family hotel close to the centre of Zadar, Opposite there is a nice beach where you can go swimming in the morning. Breakfast is abundant and has lots of different choices. The restaurant in the hotel is very good- fresh sea food and great lobster dishes, decent wine list.
Hotel rooms are not very big, but clean and nice. Service excellent

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefretiti83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#3 of 22 in Zadar
329 reviews
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#4 of 22 in Zadar
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.2 mi away
Almayer Art & Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: $126 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing